Hurry Up and Wait

As a believer, it is common knowledge that God knows best and that one should follow Him as well as he can in his present state. It’s the second part of this statement ( the execution and the application of this “common knowledge”) that proves to be the most difficult part of any believer’s relationship with our amazingly, wonderful, perfectly tender Savior.

Waiting.

That ugly, frustrating, annoying, little-big, word that begins with a ‘w.’ I have been struggling with waiting. One of my friends and I had a dispute about a guy…go figure. We’ve been through a lot together and the argument was not so much an argument as it was a misunderstanding. She had been dating this guy for some time and had stopped dating him about five months before. I knew very well that she still cared about him, but he had begun to appear to take interest in me. Seeing this and talking to him more, I felt guilty about not telling her about me and his progressing relationship. Therefore, I told her one day that he and I were growing closer and if anything did happen between us I wanted her permission. I was reaching for her and trying to show her respect…she did not see it that way at all.

She became upset and did not talk to me for a very long time; she treated me poorly and actively chose to speak to other people about me. Meanwhile, one of my guy friends had grown jealous and felt hurt by my growing relationship with another guy. This friend treated me poorly and ignored me also. All I could think was, “I so desperately want to just run to both of them and apologize and explain myself and fix everything because I feel absolutely horrible.”

But God was asking me to…to…to wait!

Me: God? Pssh, do You not know my situation? I love both of my friends and they are both hurting because of me! I have to fix this now!

God: Hunter, why don’t you just sit back and wait. Both of your friends need time and space to think and to grow in Me and in themselves. The boy you are growing close to is just that; a boy. He is neither ready nor right for you. You will treat your guy friend just like you have always treated him; as a friend. You will wait for Me to give you an opportunity to clear the clouds of misunderstanding between you and your other friend. You must wait.

Me: Okay…I guess…

A few weeks later, my guy friend came around and we went back to joking and paling around and hanging out. He ended up actually apologizing to me…and our friendship is so much stronger now, just because I did what God asked and I waited.

Around the same time, God provided a completely unexpected opportunity for me to clear things up with my other friend. After searching and searching for just the right opportunity, after attempting and failing to create the perfect moment, God totally proved me incompetent. Our friendship is stronger now also.

In the end, everything worked out…not only because God knew exactly what I needed to do, but because I actually listened to Him. God is capable of clearing up any misunderstandings. I am still trying to learn to trust Him in every situation, even the ones that seem unimportant like the one I just told you about. Why would God care about high school drama? Because He loves me; because He loves my friends; because I’m His girl.

God cares just the same for you. He loves everyone the most all the time all over the world. How does that work? I don’t know, but I’m sure glad it does.

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

