The “Baseball Bat” Method

The term “baseball bat method” was originally coined by my mother when describing how she attempted to convert my father to Christianity.

I know that opening sentence is somewhat colorful, but I might maybe possibly sort of explain that whole expedition later on.

Regardless, the baseball bat method is basically a type of witnessing done by naturally passionate and somewhat outspoken people, typically women (though I must make a disclaimer; I have only ever seen this method used by women, but I am sure that it is used by men on more than one occasion :)). To some, the message of the gospel and the beauty and wonderfully applicable little details that surround that message are crystal clear: ‘this makes perfect sense but no sense at all, which is why everyone should believe in it and take it as one-hundred-percent truth.’ While I agree with this statement, not everyone else thinks the same way I do…imagine what a boringly chaotic life it would be if that were so. Most people think differently, grow differently, see differently, and experience differently.

Where am I going with this? The baseball bat method comes in when the naturally passionate and outspoken person (we’ll call her Sally) really cares for the person who thinks, grows, sees, and experiences differently (we’ll call him Joe). Sally has been a Christian for quite some time and her relationship with the Lord is blossoming, but Joe has not come to accept Christ as his Lord and Savior….Sally becomes frustrated because she cannot understand why Joe won’t just stop being a pain in the butt and just get saved already!

Sally continuously pelts Joe with scripture, brings up Christ in conversation (though not because it was smooth or fitting at the time), asks Joe to pray all the time, and she very often asks him what’s wrong with him or what’s in the way of him getting into a relationship with the Lord.

Quite frankly, Sally…

It’s you.

Sally is much like me. When there is someone I love very dearly whom I have known for some time who is unsaved, I too often panic and think ‘I must jump into a random bathroom and emerge as: Super-Christian-Woman! Capable of saving any individual with scripture, dazzling intellect, witty remarks, and, of course, bacon!’ I feel as if I automatically have more control over the situation when I adopt this guise. This mind set, however, emanating from fear of my loved ones never getting saved, makes me focus more on what I can do to save them, rather than what God can do through me.

The baseball bat method is basically a way of letting God know that you’ve got it all under control; you can handle this one; He can stay home for the day, sitting in the hot tub eating chocolate.This is where things get messy, because we know, as Christians, that God is the only One who is capable of efficiently and perfectly saving anyone…we are far from having that capability. John 14:6 (ESV) says, “And Jesus said to him (Thomas, his disciple),”I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father (God) except through me.”” I understand this verse has been used and used again, but it epitomizes the simple truth that we cannot save our loved ones, but God can save them through us. The problem grows when we forget to work with Him.

Moral of the story: Shoving the gospel down a loved one’s throat or trying to hit them hard over the head with it, hoping that some splinter sticks in their brain, does not work. God often leads people to Him through example, through experience, and through time.

So be patient, really love the one you want to save, and let go so you can let God 🙂

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “Baseball Bat” Method

  1. Beth says:

    “God often leads people to Him through example, through experience, and through time.”
    ^ Very true. And He leads each person differently. So if He showed you something in a certain way, He’s unlikely to show someone else the exact same thing in the same way.
    “So be patient,” Mhm. Even when, like you said, you don’t understand how they could possibly not get it.
    “really love the one you want to save,” Yes, that is very important!
    “and let go so you can let God.” I love this. And your whole point about God being the one who saves, not us. So even though He uses us, we don’t need to be desperate to get the point across because it is not up to us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

