Forget the Seat, Just Take a Laugh

House sitting, I think, is one of the most rewarding and entertaining jobs a person could have. I really enjoy house sitting, mostly because I am not yet “out on my own” and it’s always fun to pretend that the house I am looking after is actually my own. I mean, come on! You get paid to live at someone’s house, take care of their animals, eat their food, and sleep in their bed…okay, the sleeping in their bed part is a little odd but you get used to it.

I happened to be house sitting for my aunt. She has two wonderful dogs, three really weird and schizophrenic cats, some chickens, and a rabbit. Granted, it’s an odd combination of animals, but when you’re a writer, it’s like you’re a kid in a candy store; so many ridiculously hilarious and inspiring things can happen!

Last night I was getting ready for bed and as I walked into the room I was greeted by an odd sight; the two dogs (one is a Rottweiler and the other a chocolate Labrador) had each chosen to stretch out horizontally at the foot and the head of the bed. The only space that had been left for me was a small space in the middle of them.

When in Rome, right?

I then proceeded to grab a blanket (since I couldn’t crank the comforter out from underneath their weight) and a pillow and lie sideways on the bed between the dogs. Very soon I fell into a blissful sleep…which lasted about five minutes.

The Rottweiler was restless. She got up, jumped off the bed, paced around the room, whined, jumped back up onto the bed, jumped back off, etc. The Lab, unsure of how to react to this, practically sat on my lap in an exaggerated fit of anxiety, licking my face and crushing my stomach. 

Somehow during the night I ended up lying vertically on the bed with the Lab lying its entire upper body on my stomach and the Rottweiler lying on the floor. The moment my eyes fluttered open this morning, the Lab smothered me in adoration and affection and “oh-my-gosh-you-were-asleep-for-like-four-seconds-I-was-so-lost-without-you!”

Regardless of how exhausted I was when I trudged into work this morning, I couldn’t help but find something good out of the frustrating scenario.

How many times do we tell stories like this one with a sour attitude? How many times do we feel so annoyed and so exasperated with things like losing sleep that we sort of miss out on how funny our circumstances really are?

Challenge of the Day:

When greeted by difficult or frustrating circumstances, try to find SOMETHING to laugh about within their stressful boundaries. If your ice cream falls off the cone, laugh at how God watches out for you when you might be indulging in something you really shouldn’t. “I really didn’t need those extra calories anyway!” If you fall down the stairs, think of how much longer it would have taken you to walk them. “Wow! I got down those stairs fast!” If you’re house sitting and the homeowner’s dogs aren’t letting you sleep, think about how funny their actions are and imagine what it would look like if a human were acting that way. “Hunter, we’re sleeping sideways on the bed tonight. Now can you scratch behind my ear?” 🙂

Quote of the Day: “Don’t take life too seriously; nobody makes it out alive anyway.” 🙂

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

