Be Free

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8,9

 

I hate to be told that I have a problem. I absolutely despise when I am confronted by the fact that I am wrong and that something needs to be fixed. It is even more repulsive, this sort of confrontation, when it is me having to confront myself.

Many people lie to themselves on a daily basis, whether or not they realize what they are doing. One lie I have been believing is that worrying about the future makes me more in control of what I cannot see. If I worry, then that means I am responsible, careful, and intelligent…

Just the opposite.

This is where my lesson becomes a little difficult to swallow. Worry is a sin. Yup; every time I worry I am saying that God is incapable of coming through for me, or that He’s just not paying attention to me right now, or anything that says He is less than He says He is. By worrying, I am calling God a liar. Ouch.

Isaiah 55:8,9 shows that God has neither the same plans nor thoughts as we do, which is kind of scary if you think about it. That means that whatever extensive planning you’ve done, whatever brilliant scenarios you’ve thought up in your head, whatever measures you’ve taken to ensure this plan goes off without a hitch; none of these things are identical to what God wants to happen. So, realistically, you don’t know what’s going to happen. This is what I’m worried about.

I’m worried about God not having the same plans I do. I’m worried that His definition of success is vastly different than my definition of success. I’m sure some people think, “Big deal. So what if His plans are different?” Well, considering the fact that I care about what God thinks about me, about my life, about what I do and how I do it and what I think and all of the little itty-bitty details that exist in the middle, God’s plans matter very much to me. But I don’t know what those plans are.

This is where that lovely little-big thing called trust comes in. God requires that we, as believers, trust Him on a day-to-day basis. He requires that, despite His plans and thoughts being different than ours, we let Him lead us through the unknown, one step at a time.

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”—yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” James 4:13-15 (ESV)

There’s nothing wrong with planning. A certain level of planning is natural and mature. However, God explains to us through James that nobody but He who knows everything knows what will happen in the next day, the next hour, the next minute. Therefore, we haven’t the slightest idea what will happen  a week from now, a month, or a year.

Like I have learned; a certain level of planning is natural and mature, but when you become consumed by the perfect execution of your plans, that’s when you begin to worry, and that’s when you begin to trust your own illusion of control rather than putting faith in God’s mighty hand, which governs all things on and off of this planet.

As an end note, worrying isn’t worth it. You do not add a day or an hour to your life by worrying. Destroying the worry in your heart, I’ve discovered, means that you just have to deal with the fact that you don’t know what’s going to happen, but you do know that God will be there no matter what.

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

