Welcome to the Next Step of Your Life

For the first day of my new adventure, I can honestly say I feel pretty good. I believe I’m going to be just fine…not saying I won’t have quite a few sub-adventures on the way, but I will make it to the end.

My roommate is from China. Her name is Chloe. Though we are both different in origin and different in culture, we are much alike in tastes and appreciate many of the same things. She is not a Christian, but that won’t stop me from having her as a good friend. 🙂 I very much enjoy helping her find the right English words for what she’s trying to say; I enjoy even more so learning about her language and her country as well. Today, she learned what a wardrobe and New York Style Cheesecake is, and I learned about the interworkings of the Chinese government along with the fact that I am much more inexperienced in my own culture than I thought.

While I am organized, neat, nerdy, and particular (as my writing major suggests) she is nonchalant, shy, cluttered, and unique (as her fashion design major suggests). I have learned that though some Chinese people do indeed see cats as a great delicacy, Chloe does not. She has noticed (unfortunately) that Americans are much larger in body than people in her country…I’ve begun to notice it too…bummer.

ANYWAY! Moving in was a challenge; figuring out where to put things and how to set things and how things should be placed for the greatest level of efficiency. Surprisingly, I have a lot of space! I really didn’t expect a dorm room to be as spacious as mine is…God was really watching out for me, as He always does.

He blessed me with a kind roommate from a different country so I could learn something new on top of everything else I’ll be learning. He blessed me with plenty of things with which to fill my dorm. He blessed me with a spacious dorm room in which I feel quite at my leisure. He blessed me with a great Pastor and a great church (though I have not yet met most of them, I have a feeling). He blessed me with tons of support through family, friends, and church members.

How was I ever worried that He wouldn’t take care of me? How did I ever underestimate the love my Savior has for me? I guess it’s a matter of deciding that God is who He says He is, and depending on that for all the days to come. 🙂

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

