The Change

I think my favorite thing about New York City is the diversity; everybody looks different, talks differently with different accents, comes from different cultures, countries and communities, sees the world in different colors and different shades and hues. Everyone is beautiful in their own way.

I’m slowly letting my perception of normal morph into some odd brand of acceptance and tolerance. Granted, this does not mean I forget the standard by which God has called me to live by, but I understand now that not everyone dresses the same way, thinks the same thoughts, and sees the same sights as I do. While God is true and sovereign and He reassures me of this fact every moment I am here, I’m beginning to release hold on my mind so that He can show me how He can love everyone and desire salvation for them. I don’t necessarily agree with everything everyone does or offer to condone any of it, but I do see the difference between everyone yet the similarity we have in the eyes of God…It’s pretty humbling.

On a completely less mature, more shallow note, the campus library is heavenly. I realize that I sound like a total nerd when I say this, but I don’t care; the historic architecture of the building and the rich words that decorate every page within each novel is a sight and a sense that I can’t fully describe as to give it all proper justice.

Today, I joined a group of Pratt freshmen who were going to Target on the other side of Brooklyn…or at least, for the time and distance we walked, it seemed like the other side. My body isn’t used to walking so much! It’s so odd; I love running and working out and anything that has to do with exercise, but when it comes to walking through Brooklyn or even back and forth across the campus, I get so exhausted! It might be the fact that I’m not used to walking so much and that the rush of Orientation Week is catching up to me. ANYWAY! The target was three stories tall, no kidding. I realize that this is really no big deal, but I become very easily amused by things like this.

Not only was the Target three stories tall, but on the second story (for the first story was the entrance, a cart station, and very spacious elevators upon which you carted your carts up to the second floor) there was an escalator for people and then right along side it was an escalator for carts…AN ESCALATOR FOR CARTS. Just let that sink in….

Yeah.

The Target adventure was wonderful, though incredibly exhausting and very hot. Once I came back, I put away my purchases in my dorm and fell asleep for about two hours. Tomorrow I will have to venture out onto the subway system…by myself…

Well, God is protecting me and He’s given me enough common sense to know not to accept anything from strangers (except help when I become, and I will become hopelessly lost), not to go out at night by myself, and just to mind my own business when the rubber meets the road. God’s got me covered.


Paulo Coelho

β€œWhen we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not yet ready. The challenge will not wait. Life does not look back. A week is more than enough time for us to decide whether or not to accept our destiny.”
― Paulo Coelho, The Devil and Miss Prym
About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Change

  1. Sabrina (AKA "Sierra's Mom", AKA "Mom". says:

    Hunter, your blog is amazingly beautiful, simple, and wonderful. Much like the author! Love you, miss you, and can’t wait to see you again so that I can hear first-hand about all of the amazing things that you are doing with your life. And I promise chocolate chip cookies and bacon if you promise to stop by for a visit! πŸ˜‰
    Love you!

    Like

    • Well then I will certainly make a trip to Sherburne once I get back home πŸ˜› I was actually planning on visiting you when I came home for Christmas or Thanksgiving πŸ™‚ and thank you! Love you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

