It’s A Good Thing I’m Not God

I have this issue where I make things appear way bigger and way more important than they actually are. I become so overwhelmed by everything all at once that I don’t at all realize how worked up I’m getting or that I’m getting worked up over nothing.

This is a stronghold of mine and reminds me very often that I am human and that God is working on me every day.

Yesterday, I was miserable. God put me here for a reason, but that reason is not at all to be miserable. I totally missed the point of this whole thing, this whole adventure, this whole journey. I am making things out to be much bigger than they actually are, especially in comparison with my God and His greatness.

The people here at Pratt are not as frightening or terrible as I’m making them out to be; lots of them are actually really friendly, accepting, kind, and considerate. God loves them all, just like He loves me. My problem is that I get caught up in the analyzing of what’s wrong with them or what they say or what they wear or how they act that I forget that they’re human, just like me.

I’m supposed to be loving others and being myself and loving God and showing how much I love Him by the way I act. Lately, I feel like I’ve been doing a lot more of loving myself than anything else. I’m focusing so much on why I’M here and what I’M going to do and how I feel that I’ve fallen flat on my face because I have spiritually put both feet in my mouth.

Today was much different from yesterday, mostly because I just let myself enjoy it rather than analyze it. I was able to really appreciate everything my professors were telling me because I just let them be my professors and I let myself be me. Sure, I didn’t agree with everything they said, but that’s okay. I need to stop taking everything so personally.

The fact that God even cares enough to put people in my life who will tell me to calm down, to not take things to heart so deeply and so often, to sleep, to just be quiet and stop freaking out, is absolutely amazing. I can honestly say that if I were God, I would’ve smite me by now.

Man, it’s a good thing I am not God.

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

