I Don’t Have to do Anything Except be Me

On Thursday (this is the second week of classes, mind you), I was sitting in class…well, I was sitting in an empty classroom because I’m a nerd and always arrive to class early. This kid in my class, (we’ll call him Albert) walked in whistling. The first thing he said to me was, “Hey, you’re a Christian, right?”

After a few more questions from him, he asked if he could go to church with me on Sunday….cool, right? So come this morning, we were walking to the subway, exchanging questions (for neither of us really knew the other) and I proposed the question of why he was going to church. He answered with he had been brought up in a Christian home, always going to church on Sunday and that, considering the general culture shock of New York City, he felt it was the only real thing that was familiar to him. I then asked him when he was saved. To my great surprise, he knew exactly what I meant when I used the word “saved.” He said that since he had indeed been brought up in a Christian home, attended a Christian school, he guessed he’d been saved since he was born. He clarified and said that he was probably saved in the third or fourth grade, but he had always believed.

I was very tempted to preach to him; the words were almost rolling off my tongue. I didn’t want him to have a false perception of what it meant to be in a relationship with Jesus Christ. But then I felt that I needed to be quiet….to just listen. Then (and I don’t know why I was surprised by this) in morning service, the pastor preached Romans…he spelled out the gospel for everyone in the sanctuary. He explained that you cannot be saved by works or by being a good person, but by faith in what Jesus Christ had already done and by accepting the gift of salvation. These were exactly the subjects that I wanted to reveal to Albert, yet I didn’t have to do anything. I just had to let go and let God…go figure.

I just feel so silly sometimes, thinking that I know what God is going to do in someone’s life. Pssh, I don’t even know what He’s going to do in my own life. But I do know what He’s already done; He’s healed my family. He’s healed my church. He’s healed my heart. He’s healed my life.

Now, I’m not saying that everything is sunshine, rainbows, and butterflies made of chocolate and laughter; there are times (like the first day of college classes) when I feel absolutely overwhelmed, inundated by difficulty and challenge. But it’s in those times when God reminds me of all that He’s already done for me and all of the greatness to which He’s called me.

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever, amen.”

-Ephesians 3:20, 21 (ESV)

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Have to do Anything Except be Me

  1. Shelly says:

    I love that verse from Ephesians, it brings such hope! What a blessing you were listening to the leading of the Holy Spirit and knew you were supposed to just listen. I think we often think we have to “do” or “say” something for God when al He asks us to do is follow the leading of His Holy Spirit. Your obedience certainly blessed the person you were with and God had the same plan you did, just someone else to deliver the message. Be blessed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

