Corn is a Fruit

My botany professor told me today that corn is a fruit….

Everything I know is a lie.

Just kidding 😛

The weather today was perfect. Back home in the sticks I would have been attending a football game, drinking hot chocolate from a Styrofoam cup and laughing with my mom about some crazy hat my sister was wearing. I would be cheering on my father and all of the boys that I had known since kindergarten. My mother would then lay her head on my shoulder and smile at me, showing all of her teeth. I would ask her what she wanted and she would beg me to go to the concession stand to buy her a cup of chili and some peanut M&M’s. Because I love my mother and I’m the best daughter in the world, I would go, exposing myself to the wind that sped through the bleachers like a train through a tunnel. I would cheer and jump up and down like a maniac as I walked, clapping my gloved hands together and obnoxiously spitting my hair out of my mouth.

I’m a little homesick tonight….

Alas, I shall prevail!! I had yogurt covered almonds today and they were really yummy 😀 I also had a giant chocolate chip cookie today…I really think the cafeteria/pizza shop people are trying to make us all fat, because they put a tray of freshly-baked, still-warm chocolate chip cookies right by the cash register so we see them as we walk out. It’s like, “You only have a few seconds to make this decision before you never see them again.” How can we possibly make rational, healthy decisions that quickly?? It’s a conspiracy I tell you.

Tonight for my Critical Thinking and Writing homework I had to listen and review a lecture delivered at Yale. The lecture was a “struggle” through St. Augustine’s Confessions. It’s all about the book and it’s main storyline, which is Augustine’s conversion from paganism to Christianity. Granted, his view is slightly warped but the doctrine fits, save an odd perspective on baptism which is incorrect in biblical terms: salvation does not come through baptism. Baptism is a public symbol of your transformation and acceptance of salvation through Jesus Christ; it’s a way for you to say to the world, “Look! I’ve given my life to Jesus Christ! I am a new creature!”

The reason why I tell you this is because the majority of my class sees Christianity as a joke. Also I’m kind of nervous that I won’t be able to defend my faith accurately, or that I’ll get flustered or emotional. But I realize these are only my emotions messing with me; I understand that fear is not of God and that “with God nothing is impossible.” I have to believe that God will give me the words, if I only let Him. After all, He’s taken care of everything so far, right? Why should He not do so in this instance as well?

I know that it’s only September and that December is still a few months away, but I really can’t wait to see New York City decorated with Christmas lights. I would imagine that walking through Times Square on a December night would be much like walking through the Milky Way. Icicles hanging from apartment window sills, illuminated by the glow of the lights; O Holy Night playing from a street corner; snow drifting gracefully down from the gray sky to the earth below, landing on the tongues of small children and in the dark hair of adults on their way to work—this is what I expect, though I’m not sure if it’s what is real. Nevertheless, I am very much looking forward to seeing it all…and ice-skating 🙂 I’ve never been ice-skating before, at least not that I can remember, but I’ve been roller-blading before; maybe they’ll be similar and I’ll be a total pro at ice-skating…

Well, I can dream can’t I?

“I said, “Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver, declares the Lord.” -Jeremiah 1:6-8 (ESV)

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

