Raining on My Own Parade When God is Offering Me His Umbrella

It amazes how fickle my emotions are, or even how fickle emotions are in general. I mean, I had a pretty good day yesterday; I was focused on the good though there was plenty of difficulty and bad to consider, and then today I felt as if the whole world was falling down around me. What in the world?

So, I had kind of a rough day, at least emotionally and mentally. Nothing bad really happened; I just felt totally overwhelmed, which, upon reflection, was totally immature. Oh well. Nobody came to Bible Study tonight. That was a little discouraging; I just feel like there aren’t enough of us who have time to do anything other than homework and breathing.

Also, I have been walking so much through the city and around campus that two pairs of my shoes have completely fallen apart; soles detached and everything. My ‘To Do’ list and my shopping list is slowly growing. I’ve tried to get a job at multiple places on campus and even online as a ghost writer…but doors are shutting and opportunities are waving goodbye.

“God, I’m just trying to be a responsible adult and earn money so I can pay my way by myself. Could You please just work with me on this? Is it so wrong to want to earn money? God, I have books, food, and other necessities to buy.”

“Why are you worrying?”

I hate it when He does that.

But He’s right. As I sat doing homework in my dorm, thinking and worrying about money and about Bible Study and about church and about homesickness and about the future and the past, the Holy Spirit nudged me with a small revelation: “You’re worrying.”

I face palmed myself and just felt like a doofus. While I realize being an adult includes having a job and earning money and being stressed about everything, I should know by now, after everything that I’ve been through, that God will ALWAYS provide.

“Wow, Hunter, can you really say, with 100% certainty and no grey areas, that God will ALWAYS provide?”

Yes, I can.

In Exodus, after the Israelites had been delivered out of Egypt and were wandering through the wilderness, God made manna rain down from the sky. HE MADE FOOD FALL FROM THE SKY. He also had quail appear out of nowhere so that they could have protein, a necessity for bodily functions and the maintenance of homeostasis. He had water spout from a rock. FROM A ROCK (Exodus 16, 17). In 2 Corinthians Paul talks about God being able to “make all grace abound to you.” He is able to provide abundantly. Matthew 6 is probably my favorite passage concerning worry. If you are placing God and His desires for you and your life above everything else, God is going to give you everything you need, like food, water, and clothing. It’s just like, ‘duh.’

Sometimes, even though we may hear this all the time, we need to be reminded of God’s promises. God not only always provides, but He also always keeps His promises. My heart is so comforted by that, because even when people let me down, God will ALWAYS be there, He will ALWAYS be true and faithful, and ALWAYS keep His promises. God is the only being with which the proper definition of the word ‘always’ can be associated.

So if you’re worrying , like I have been, here’s a little advice: don’t. God has got it covered. And if you don’t believe in this God of mine and you’re worrying, well, I’m not going to try and shove it down your throat, but, man, you’re missing out. A constant companion, a greater purpose in life, a beautiful perspective of the future and of the world, a completeness that can’t come from money, food, or people—this is everything I have because of God. You can have it too.

*Sigh* “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” —Matthew 7:34

“I’m running back to Your promises one more time

Lord, that’s all I can hold onto.

I must admit this has taken me by surprise,

But nothing surprises You.

Before a heartache can ever touch my life

It has to go through Your hands.

Whatever I might be feeling,

God, You are my hope and You are my strength.”

No Matter What, Kerri Roberts

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

