Just Another Day In Paradise

This morning, at 2:15, Charlene texted me, raving about how there was a sushi and ramen restaurant on Myrtle Ave. that she wanted to try and she was wondering if I wanted to join her.

Well, gee, food….yes!

So we walk into the restaurant for lunch and we’re seated. I’ve never been to a genuine Japanese restaurant before so I’m making all of these ridiculous observations in my head. On the wall to my right there’s a tall bench that reaches the length of the wall. We’re showed to a table and Charlene sat in a chair while I sat on the bench across from her. First of all, there’s this petite red pillow that serves as a seat padding…this just throws me off for some reason. Anyway, I set down my backpack and sit on this fabulous little pillow and readjust myself five gajillion times before I just put the pillow next to me and begin to look at my menu. Charlene is already laughing at me.

As I look through the menu, all I can think is “I wish my mother was here so she could order for me.” When it comes to Asian food, I’m a hopeless case. It’s not that I’m totally incapable of ordering for myself; I just have no idea what most of the things are on the menu so I just have someone randomly pick something for me and I eat it. It’s a fun game 🙂 You should try it sometime.

I end up picking this cold ramen dish thin-a-ma-jig. When I got it, I realized that I had very much underestimated the size of this meal. A huge thing of ramen soaked in salty soy sauce and covered in shredded cucumber, crab meat, pork loin, and egg. It all looked delicious. I went to grab my fork and couldn’t find it. That when my hand touched a long white envelope; I picked up the envelope and out came a pair of metal (METAL) chopsticks.

“Do you know how to use those?” Charlene asked as she ate her raw salmon. I smiled at her.

“Yes, Charlene. I know I’m not Asian, but I am perfectly capable of using chopsticks.” She laughed.

Throughout our meal, I tried raw fish, sticky rice, and sushi. I also mistook a bamboo shoot for a bean sprout…terrible. I ALSO dunked my raw fish into wasabi sauce and had my mouth soaked with liter fluid and set on fire. Then Charlene told me that the restaurant was Japanese but the people running it were Chinese…why would they do that? Then I feel bad if I say that the food is Chinese when it’s supposed to be Japanese and then I call the people Japanese when they’re actually Chinese….maybe, when I travel the world someday, the differences will become clearer…okay, I’ll stop ranting now. Nevertheless, it was a great lunch :).

This whole week I have been attending a Total Body Workout. It involves many squats and lots of sweating, but compared to wrestling practice, it’s very much like sitting down in front of a whole cheesecake and eating it all. But it was a good work out 😀 Tonight I tried zumba, which I’ve done before but wanted to try it on campus. It was a lot of fun 🙂 Zumba is a lot like dancing, which I really enjoy. I don’t take dance classes though….I mean, it’s not that I don’t have the endurance, or stamina, or strength….I just kind of look like a horse galloping across the dance floor, or a flamingo walking with a crooked wing and weird twitch in its neck.

ANYWAY!!! Zumba is a great work out and my legs feel like lead blocks.

 

May your hair be big and your troubles be small! 😀

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Another Day In Paradise

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

