The Right Decision

Today passed rather slowly.

I ran errands, cleaned up my side of the room, drank tea, did homework, worked on a few projects, read…ya know, the mundane, the usual, the daily. It was tonight that was interesting.

I walked out of my room to see some of my friends hanging out in the hallway. I asked how they were doing, what was going on, etc. Apparently they were getting ready to go to a party. I stood there, listening to their conversations, adding in commentary where I could, just laughing and having a good, but short, hangout time in the hallway.

Then I realized what I was doing. While I wasn’t going to the party with them, I wasn’t exactly discouraging them from going. Basically, by standing there silently, listening to them talk about drinking and meeting guys and such, I was condoning their going out to this party.

Well, gee, they’re young adults; they can make their own decisions. It’s not my job to tell them what to do like I’m their mother.

But then again, what kind of Christian would I be if I just sat back and watched?

Three of the girls in the hallway I normally hang out with (when I hang out with people on campus, which doesn’t happen often), and one of them, Karly, is really sick. I told her she should stay home and rest. But she said she would regret not going. Then I said no, she wouldn’t; drinking and being sick at the same time is not a good idea.

Her swollen eyes seemed to gleam a little with thoughtfulness, as if she was considering it. I could tell she already felt exhausted.

I tried saying (because they were suddenly having doubts about going) they could just wait for the next one. Then they said if they didn’t go there probably wouldn’t be a next one. I asked who invited them.

They knew it was a guy in my class and I had already told them to stay away from him after they had expressed interest in him (he’s really full of himself and thinks every influential writer is a god). I asked them how much they really knew about him. They didn’t answer.

They began saying how it might actually be awkward if they went and they entertained the idea of just staying home. Then they decided they would just go and if it didn’t seem like a good idea they would just come back. I left them saying that they should just stay here, but if they did go, be safe and be smart.

Despite my best efforts they still went, but told me they would tell me about it. I was hoping that when they get there they’ll turn right around and come back.

Now, I’m so pro hanging out with people and getting to know new people, but I don’t think going to a party with alcohol with a guy you hardly know just because you feel you lack in the area of social status is a good idea.

About twenty minutes later, I walk out of my room again to go to the bathroom and one of the girls who was supposed to be at the party is standing there. She tells me they started to go but then it started down pouring and they had to come right back inside; some of them were frustrated that they had wasted their whole night getting ready for this party and they didn’t even go to it. I was absolutely speechless.

“That was a God thing.” I said out loud with a huge smile on my face. I was hoping they didn’t take it as an “I told you so,” because that’s not what it was. It was just amazing that God reassured me that I had done the right thing.

Tomorrow I get to go to church, which I’m very excited about :). I need the refreshment. I’m hoping to go to the Brooklyn Book Festival, but it all depends on what’s going on at church. Tomorrow is the Soulwinning and Harvest Days kickoff πŸ˜€

So I hope that your Saturday was productive; I hope that you helped someone in some way today, whether it was encouragement to make the right decision or just encouragement for the sake of encouragement. I hope that your Sunday is even better, that you decide to go to church even if you’re tired or if you don’t want to, that you feel refreshed and full of joy πŸ™‚

β€œIf the world seems cold to you, kindle fires to warm it.”

Lucy Larcom (1824-1893)

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

