Someone Searching

The perfect weather of the New York autumn and hot chocolate in the cafeteria were not the only wonderful things about today.

During lunch today I was able to introduce Karly to Charlene, simultaneously introducing her to today’s chapter of my life. The three of us sat on a blanket and ate lunch together, talking about the Bible, studies we’ve done, and how funny some of our classes are. It was so refreshing to just be a Christian and talk about the One you love without feeling like people think you’re crazy. As I sat and observed the dynamics of our trio, I felt as if it were the beginning of a great story, much like my coming to New York City. That moment in the first few chapters of a story, when the characters are introduced or are brought together—this is the moment to which I’m referring. Maybe I only think this way because I’m a writer.

The water that soaked the grass seeped through the blanket and made our rear-ends like wet sponges and our feet and shoes cold and soggy, but we didn’t care; we were just glad to have found each other and felt the connection that we share as sisters in Christ. 🙂

There’s nothing like it, finding other legitimate Christians. What I mean by legitimate is those who are passionately pursuing Christ, who are desperate to know His will for them, and who love Him and are confident in the fact that He loves them too. And the feeling I speak of is when you meet a Christian and the Holy Spirit’s power seems to radiate from your chest, from the place in your heart where it dwells because you have accepted the greatest gift that has ever been so freely given. You recognize that the person you are speaking to shares in the eternal glory of which you are a part. This is your sister, brother, father, or mother in Christ, and they love the same God you love, follow the same God you follow, fight the same battles you fight, and attract the same enemy that you attract. You realize that they are part of the army of God; they are part of the spiritual war against Satan.

I realize this may sound melodramatic or theatrical, but don’t be deceived into thinking that spiritual warfare is something to be taken lightly. “So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind.” Philippians 2:1,2 (ESV).

We are meant to fellowship with other Christians. When we fellowship with other Christians, we are learning to lean on each other and trust God’s work in others just like us. We can be encouraged by the testimonies of others just as we can encourage others with testimonies of our own. God did not make us to be on our own; He wired us as social beings.

So if you’re thinking, “Oh if I just don’t have any friends then I’ll grow more as a Christian,” or “If I just don’t talk to anybody, then I’ll be good,” don’t do that. Go out, realize that Christians (just like everyone else) are not perfect, trust that God wants you to surround yourself with people who love Him, and find your adopted brothers and sisters in Christ.

Wherever you may be, they are more than likely searching for you too.

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someone Searching

  1. Beth says:

    I LOVE this. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

