Back to the Sticks

So this is the blog post where I tell you all the cheesy, fuzzy, warm feelings that come with being home after a month at college.

Yep. Home is awesome.

It’s odd though; I feel more like a visitor who knows where everything is and how the household runs. When I walked into my room I had the weirdest feeling, like I was replacing someone who used to be here. While everything is familiar, it all feels different.

Maybe I feel this way just because I’m very attuned to change, mostly because I can’t stand change. But I realize that without change, we would all still be right where we started; salvation would never happen; the population would never grow; the world would stay in one spot. Basically, without change, we would all die.

ANYWAY. I’m so glad to be home.

I have never ridden on the train before and I have also never been to Penn Station. I arrived about an hour early for my train’s departure. Walking around, I observed the large variety of shops and restaurants that the station offered. There was a Nathan’s, which I have never seen before. There was also….wait for it…..a Krispy Kreme. I didn’t get a donut; I was just excited that I had found a Krispy Kreme πŸ˜€

The train itself was comfortable. The cars had air conditioning, outlets for chargers, great attendants and service people, and cleanliness. The seats were soft and the windows were numerous. While riding the train is more expensive than riding the Megabus, the ride is so worth the money.

I was watching Pride and Prejudice when we came to Albany. This was where I first started seeing cornfields again. I never thought I would smile at the sight of a cornfield or trees, or a clear sky for that matter. The sun was so much brighter (probably because it wasn’t hiding behind skyscrapers). It was refreshing.

When I stepped off the train and saw my mom and my brother Stephen, I almost started crying because of how happy I was to see them. Mom hugged me but my giant backpack full o’ stuff made it difficult for her to give me a real hug. I didn’t care though; I hadn’t been really hugged in a month.

We went to Panera for dinner and then stopped at Dollar General on the way home. I forget that I don’t have to be paranoid about being mugged at night while I’m here. As we were walking up the driveway to my house I caught myself looking over my shoulder more than twice in a minute. I forgot that I could relax.

Dad and Gracie had soccer games tonight, so they didn’t get home until later. Me, mom, Stephen, and my other little brother Jimmy all just hung out together, vegging. Then Gracie and Dad came home and we talked about the game. I tried not to think about how much I missed all of my high school friends, and I hoped that maybe during Christmas I would be able to see all of them again.

Even though it’s only been a little over a month, coming home has made me realize some truth: I am an adult. I realize that I’m technically a ‘college student’ and a teenager, but my responsibility for myself has increased over a month time-span just like Frodo’s mind was twisted over the same time-span (though I don’t have Gollum trying to kill me and an awesome friend like Samwise trying to kill Gollum). A month is much longer than I thought I was, even if it doesn’t feel as if it’s been that long.

Right! My actual reason for coming home! My youth pastor is getting married to his girlfriend of eight years. I know, I know, all of you are probably like, “Well it’s about time!” But I’m glad that they took their time. I mean, when you marry someone you’re going to be spending THE REST OF YOUR LIFE with them. Why wouldn’t you want to be sure they’re the right person for you? I think that’s what the problem is with marriages today. Everyone is so caught up in trying to get what they want faster and easier they forget why it’s important to take your time. But of course, I’m not married, engaged, or even in that sort of relationship….pssh, what would I know.

“Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:21

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Sticks

  1. starwarsfreak117 says:

    I know the feeling πŸ™‚ Seeing my family in the airport with M&Ms and Combos was almost too much for me to handle πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

