Troubles, Tissues, and Temptation

Guess what? Medicine makes you better!

Now, I’m not a hippie, or a naturalist, or Wonder Woman, but I just don’t like taking medicine. I hate thinking about a capsule of chemicals breaking open inside my stomach and sending the chemicals all throughout my body…I’m probably just being stubborn and paranoid. Last night, Karly and I were hanging out in her dorm, talking about God, awkward situations we had been in in the past, and about how frustrating but how fun our classes were. She told me I shouldn’t go to school the next day. I explained to her that I was in the real world now; I couldn’t just stay “home” because I was sick. She gave me a motherly look and I consented to seeing how I felt in the morning.

Then she produced some Aleve decongestant that claimed to be able to relieve me of all of my present symptoms. I contemplated taking it for only a moment or two before giving in to taking some. I really was sick and it would have been really ridiculous of me not to take care of myself like I was claiming to do. Needless to say I slept really well last night, waking up two hours after my alarm, an hour before class, and feeling totally refreshed. I threw on clothes, wore socks with my flats, and ate a fig bar and water for breakfast because my stomach didn’t feel so hot (my face wasn’t hot either, but that was great! :D)

I sat down at my desk and talked to God. The whole Bible Study situation was still racking my brain. I knew I couldn’t depend on my feelings for this one, even if I did think they were right. I just didn’t know how to handle the situation and I thought I was over complicating things. I basically had to give it up to God because He was sure to know what to do.

I’ve been given a few assignments lately that are really pushing the boundaries of what is okay for me to read/write and what’s not. This is crunch time; these are the defining moments of college, of life; these are the decisions that show exactly who you are. I know, I know, “Hunter, they’re just assignments, not the Apocalypse.” But you know how I was talking about not being able to read that romantic anthology for Writer’s Studio because it was full of sex and impurity? Well, this is the same thing. 1 Corinthians 10:13 says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and He will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation He will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.” (ESV) Part of the escape mentioned is a choice. Sometimes God will physically give us an open door through which we can escape from a situation. Sometimes He’ll give us a person who will be frank and honest with to wake us up and help us focus. But the one way to escape temptation that is always available to us is the ability to choose. I can choose to read the content that my teachers ask me to despite how it will damage my relationship with God along with my thought life, or I can choose to not read the content and trust that God will take care of the rest. It’s important to do the work you’re given; it’s equally important to be able to apply the things you learn in school. However, there comes a point where you have to be able to choose whether or not you want to be able to apply certain things to your life. What is the wise thing to do?

Tonight was the first time I worked out in a week and a half. Karly, Emily (one of our friends), and I went to Total Body Workout and then attended the Hip-Hop/Jazz class after that. Thinking that I was well on my way to being healthy once more, I ignorantly thought that my current state of sickness wouldn’t effect my body if I worked out. I’m an idiot.

I was doing totally fine until we had to jump up and down and do push-ups and stretch our necks. My head spun and I felt nauseated. During push-ups I just planked so I wouldn’t get sick, thinking about how stupid I had been putting my body through this when I was so sick. Lesson learned.

For Hip-Hop/Jazz I was kinda nervous…I believe I have confessed my being gravitationally challenged and lacking all forms of grace. But I was also excited about it, mostly because I just wanted a chance to be a goofball and try something new. Besides, Karly and Emily were with me and they were thinking the same thing, grateful that they didn’t have to go through the humiliation of being uncoordinated alone πŸ™‚ Surprisingly, I was a fantastic hip-hopper. Mmmmmmmhm, yes I was. Of course, this is only because of the countless hours spent doing Just Dance on the Wii with Gracie.

Before I went to work out, my mom called me. She was watching Jimmy’s soccer game so it was really windy on her end, but I was still glad to hear her voice despite the difficult of hearing. I talked to her about the whole Bible Study thing, about how I wasn’t sure how to feel or what to think. I don’t want to compete; that’s not the point. At the same time, my church has a Bible Study on the nights that this girl’s bible study is going down, so I can’t go to hers anyway. But I don’t want her to get the impression that I’m not coming to hers because I’m holding a grudge. This is where my mother’s awesomeness comes in.

“Honey, don’t stop your bible study, but make sure you tell her why you’re not coming to hers. Just pray for her bible study and keep doing yours and God will take care of the rest. If she asks you about it, be honest with her, but make sure you don’t do over Facebook or texting; make sure it’s face to face.”

So yeah, this was God’s way of answering my prayers and giving me instruction. Isn’t it cool how He does that? Though He doesn’t answer audibly, He uses the things around us (the things that we are much more comfortable with than Him speaking to us audibly because, honestly, how freaky would it be if we suddenly one day heard God’s voice after never hearing it before? I don’t think I would be able to handle that) to reveal His plan for us. He used my mom because He knew I would listen to her, that I would trust that she has wisdom and experience enough to tell me what to do through God’s leading of her words. God is just so clever. πŸ™‚

This upcoming Sunday is the first Sunday of the International Baptist Church harvest days. I’m so excited for this day because back in the sticks (people think it’s funny when I say that, but it’s the only way I can accurately describe where I’m from) we had lots of days like this one: hay rides, fall food, games, fellowship with people you know and love, and lots of laughs πŸ˜€ It’s just warm and comfortable and familiar.

God does that. He gives us things that are comfortable and familiar to get us focused on what He needs us to do. He understands that we’re human and that we need certain things, not just the bare necessities but also friends and social interaction. After all, He created us in His image (Gen. 1:26, 27), and God is a relational being, the first and last relational being, so it would make sense that we’re relational as well. In 1 Kings 19, Elijah is running for his life and he’s freaking out and stressed and totally exhausted. What does God have him do? He has Elijah go to sleep, wake and up and eat, go back to sleep, wake up and eat, so on and so forth until Elijah’s body is no longer out of whack and he can actually focus. THEN God tells him what he needs to hear. So I’m really excited to be able to go into such a comfortable environment, especially being so far away from what is truly familiar to me.

Even though I’m out of my element and out of my comfort zone, God has once again provided for my emotional needs.

Cool πŸ™‚

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

