Free Cupcakes

This week in Bible Study we’re talking about defining moments, meaning those moments in your life when you have to make a choice between following God and following the world. Tonight I was offered one of those defining moments…let’s just say, I had a bit of an adventure.

This morning was great: I slept in until about eleven since my first and only class of the day was at two in the afternoon. I was able to rest and build my body back up again. By the way, if you have never tried Honey Bunches of Oats Raspberry Granola, then you should totally try it; it really does make you smile 😀 I made up a to-do list, cleaned up my dorm (which included kicking sick air out of the window and sweeping up from the floor all of my dirty tissues used during the night), and spent some time with God. I really especially felt uplifted this morning; I don’t know why…maybe it’s because I was reminded that I have the truest form of joy that there is to be had? I think so 🙂

In my one class of the day, we discussed the story that I had chosen not to read. Listening to the discussion and the synopsis of the story given, I was so glad that I hadn’t read it. Thankfully we don’t have to write a critical response to these short stories as we would to a regular novel. I spent the time used on the discussion of this book to notice that there was no pattern to the placement of the floor tiles and to mentally place them in a pattern that could satisfy my borderline O.C.D. After class, some of my classmates and fellow writers went to dinner together. Ya know, Pratt supplies its students with pretty good cafeteria food and food selection. I decided to try a veggie burrito and canned lemonade. The veggie burrito was quite tasty but I hadn’t realized that the lemonade was sparkling, so I was hit full force in the congested sinuses with the burn of carbonation.

Now here comes the defining moment.

Part of last week and all week this week it has been advertised that there would be an Open Mic Night on campus tonight. Also advertised was a Free Cupcake Night put on by the hall counsel of one of the dorms. The group of writers I’d had dinner with asked if I wanted to go to both with their group. All I thought was “A talent show plus free cupcakes….sounds like a good night to me!” But then the Holy Spirit tugged me back a little.

“Hunter, maybe you should just stay in tonight.”

“Yeah, but I do that EVERY night. How harmful can an Open Mic Night and free cupcakes be?”

Watch as the defining moment passes by.

So I meet up with my people and we go to Open Mic Night. First of all, I love talent shows. I used to get up on stage and do a comedy act or two with Gracie, and I would sing every once in a while. I really admire all of the people who put themselves out there and give their performance all they’ve got, and tonight was no exception.

The first couple of acts were a little rocky, but then this one girl came up on stage and asked the audience to use their imagination to see her as a thirty-year-old man from New Zealand, at a party, trying to figure out what to say to a woman he’s interested. The song she performed was basically all of the things he said to her. I thought the idea was unique and rather comical.

Now, I may be a writing major, but I just don’t get spoken word (a form of poetry; performance poetry). Some of the people who performed spoken word were monotonous and fast. Others were just all sass and all about making a statement that contradicted itself and was doubly contradicted by their attitude. Do you remember the girl I spoke of starting her own bible study? We’re going to call her Zappora, just because that’s a cool name. Well, she got up on stage. She very bravely recited an original gospel poem. She is so talented in this area; she never missed a step and never exchanged a beat. Every line was pure and powerful, full of the true gospel and love of Jesus Christ. It was really cool to see God work through her, especially in such a secular and intimidating setting. I was amazed. Then a guy came on and started rapping and I was totally lost because the only rap I can somewhat keep up with and decipher is that of TobyMac…other than that, you might as well be speaking Latin.

During the intermission I made my way over to Zappora to praise her on her performance. Of course Satan was a total doofus and tried to keep me from praising her.

“Hunter, aren’t you forgetting something? The whole bible study thing? Aren’t you still wounded about that? Why should you go talk to her? I mean, really?”

I ignored his prodding and walked over to her anyways, because I knew that building her up was what God would want me to do and it was what I wanted to do anyway. She was so happy to receive my praise and I was amazed once again at how nervous she must have been preparing for this and then having the courage to get up in front of this audience and practically witness to everyone. It feels almost as if she’s been brought up to be in ministry and I can’t wait to see what God is going to do through her.

The time for free cupcakes was rolling around, so the four of us scooted on out of Open Mic Night and made our way over to Free Cupcake Night. When we entered the room, I saw the table full of cupcakes and toppings and was instantly excited, but then I noticed that I had never seen most of these people before. Well, Hunter, that’s kind of typical at college; you don’t exactly meet everyone and know everyone like you do in high school. Yeah I got that, but something was off. I sat down in a corner chair and observed everyone, wondering what was different about all of them.

Then one guy came up to the front of the room and got everyone to quiet down.

“Hi everyone! Welcome to Queer Pratt!”

I am pretty sure my eyes nearly fell out of my head and suddenly became very uncomfortable.

I was attending a meeting for the homosexual group on campus. The leader talked about how they were having a “coming out” day next week and how they were going to have people write about their “coming out” testimonies and then they were going to stick them to balloons and “release them into the sky.” The moment he had finished speaking, I told my friends that I needed to leave. Yes, without a cupcake.

I understand that this particular area of American culture is rather touchy for most people, especially Christians, but I’m going to go for it anyway. Homosexuals are sinners, just like everyone else. God still loves them just like He loves you and me. Just because they live the way they do does not mean He refuses to save them. But, just like lying or being jealous or gossiping, homosexuality is part of man’s sinful nature. Though I do still love homosexuals because God loves them, I don’t agree with what they’re embracing, just like He doesn’t.

With that being said, I understood why the Holy Spirit had tried to warn me against going for free cupcakes. I re-learned why it’s important for me to follow the Holy Spirit’s leading and to trust that God can see the future and therefore knows what He’s doing. I just felt like a stooge for being allured by the sweetness of a frosted muffin.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

