A Stubborn Branch

A good night’s sleep and cookies-and-cream Pop-tarts for breakfast with English tea can really change things 🙂

I nearly pulled an all-nighter, slaving away at my spiritual allegory that I’m writing for Writer’s Studio. I have no idea what to do with the ending, but the storyline as a short fiction piece, I think, is finally solid. Five in the morning was when I finally ended up falling asleep. Ah, the glories of college life.

I very boringly spent the entire day doing homework. Yes, I spent a whole Saturday doing homework. Go ahead, shake your head at me, a failure of my generation. I will continue to read books and eat Cheez-Its.

It’s a big problem when you go into something difficult, knowing that you can’t do it but that God can, and then depend on yourself to get yourself through. Then you sit back in ruins, wondering why this is so much harder than you thought it would be. You forget that you’re not supposed to be trying to deliver yourself; God is supposed to be delivering you.

In the book of John chapter 15, verses 4 and 5, Jesus says, “Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

You may think “well, Hunter, I can totally brush my teeth and walk the dog without God.” This is true, but look at the definition of nothing used in this biblical context. Nothing is referring to not doing anything of eternal value or not producing any spiritual fruit. Things of eternal value include but are not limited to growing in your relationship with God and evangelizing and witnessing to others. Without being connected with God, without abiding in God, you can’t grow in your relationship with Him. Your heart and mind become all outta whack and your battle suddenly becomes ten times harder than when you started.

So OF COURSE I was having problems this week. I was trying to do this (going through an extremely secular college) by myself. I don’t know about you, but too often I just don’t want anyone’s help. I can do this without aid. I am perfectly capable of doing this on my own. Sometimes I don’t think I even realize I’m saying these things to myself. Humans are naturally rebellious, especially when it comes to depending on God.

Everything God wants to happen and everything He approves of goes against the grain of the world. Being faithful to God isn’t easy; it takes hard work and spiritual sweat. Just like any relationship, you have to work at it every day and can’t slack. Slacking is what caused me to be so distressed. When I tripped up in one of my friendships, I felt disconnected from God and stayed away from Him for a little while. It was in that time that doubt, fear, and lies crept into my thoughts and fed on my own insecurities. I know this sounds a little too poetic for religion, but this isn’t just religion. Honey, it be a relationship.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

