Relief

Having school on Columbus Day is weird. It’s as if having school on a national holiday is furtherance of Pratt’s theme of self-expression. “We don’t have to adhere to any conventions. Therefore, we will have school on Columbus Day…but then, we won’t have school on the day after Columbus Day…because that makes perfect sense.”

….

Anyway, I only ended up having one class at 11:00am today. My alarm went off at 8:00am, and I, being a respectable, average teenager, shut it off and continued to sleep. The next time I woke up, my clock explained to me (not in the gentlest of terms, I might add) that it was 10:21am and I needed to get my butt out of bed. Releasing my inner ninja, I burst into action, jumping off of my bed, getting dressed, brushing my hair, and packing my bag in a record time of ten minutes. Before I did anything else, I sat down and talked to God. The importance of my morning devotions is quickly increasing and showing its fruitfulness in my life as the year goes on. I try to do my devotions before I do anything else (especially before I check my email or Facebook), because I want to give my brain to God before I think about anything else. I want to think about Him first thing in the morning and before I go to sleep. God’s working on it with me 🙂

After my first class, I walked to Fort Greene Park, a place I’ve walked by countless times but at which I’ve never stopped. I walked through the park for a little while before stopping and sitting underneath a tree. The smell of dead grass and the sound of crunching leaves sent me back home in my mind. I stayed there and read The Best Question Ever by Andy Stanley, a book I have been trying to finish since the beginning of school. I spent time explaining to God what was on my heart; I poured out my frustrations, my fears, my thoughts, and my desires. Talking to God helps me see things about myself that I can’t see without His eyes. Sometimes I miss things that only God can catch. This is why talking to God and staying connected with Him is so important: He knows you best, so He can fix the problems you have with yourself.

Tomorrow I will be tackling Chinatown. I’m really hoping that people speak English there, but if they don’t, then I guess I’ll have to come up with a plan on the spot. I’m excited about it 🙂 Thursday is Bible Study at Sam and Maria’s house. I’m heading over early to help Maria make spaghetti. She also asked me to bake…wait for it….PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!!! The best part (other than the obviously awesome fact that I get to BAKE which I feel like I haven’t done in FOREVER) is that I get to use my own recipe, which I got from someone who’s dear to me, and it’s a fabulously delicious recipe that everyone loves. The OTHER best part is that I get to eat HOMEMADE FOOD!!! (Sorry, I’m really excited about this so I’m going a little caps lock crazy; bear with me, I’m very tired of cafeteria food).

Sunday is Missions Sunday, an occasion where five missionary families come and visit the church. Another part of this day is the time gap between the morning service and the afternoon service in which members of the congregation bring homemade dishes from their country of heritage. From what I’ve been told, nearly 80 dishes are set out on tables on the church lawn, each dish unique and delicious. An afternoon packed with food, culture, and friends…yeah, it’s going to be a good day 🙂

I’m so grateful that God has given me things to look forward to (Missions Sunday, Bible Study, Chinatown, Thanksgiving, etc). It’s just another way that He’s easing my mind and making my worries evaporate. These events are a lot like checkpoints in a video game; with each one that passes by, the stronger and more clear-minded I become. Speaking of becoming clear-minded, there are no words that can effectively describe the relief that comes with God bringing me back to where I’m supposed to be. I was so distressed last week, absolutely hopeless, ready to give up in more than one way. Now, because God showed me what I was doing wrong, proved to me that I’m supposed to be here, and comforted me even though I didn’t ask Him to, I’m back where I’m supposed to be, feeling closer to Him than when I first came here.

It’s going to be okay 🙂

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:11-13, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

