Human

Guys I wrote the poem! 😀 I mastered the iambic pentameter!….well, sort of.

I don’t have classes on Fridays, so today was just kind of a be-a-dorm-hermit-and-do-homework day for me. I worked on my Critical Thinking & Writing essay, completed my Botany homework, and I joined this addictive challenge that goes by the name of National Novel Writing Month. Basically, the challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. It’s nothing too crazy…at least, it’s not crazy unless you’re a writer. Over 230,000 novelists are currently partaking in this challenge, which will end at 11:59pm on November 30th. I’ve never done this before, so I’m kind of nervous but insanely excited at the same time 😀

It’s so funny. This morning I was reading through Colossians 2, and at the end of the chapter I read, “If with Christ you died to the elemental spirits of the world, why, as if you were still alive in the world, do you submit to regulations—‘Do not handle, Do not taste, Do not touch’ (referring to things that all perish as they are used)—according to human precepts and teachings? These have indeed an appearance of wisdom in promoting self-made religion and asceticism and severity to the body, but they are of no value in stopping the indulgence of the flesh.” (Colossians 2:20-23, ESV). When I read this, I automatically thought of what I had been thinking about yesterday, about it being okay to be human. Here in this context, the reference of “Do not handle, Do not taste, Do not touch,” is talking about kinds of regulations that false philosophers were trying to convince the Colossians were part of obtaining salvation. These actions may have appeared to be wise or responsible in a way, but they actually did nothing except build self-confidence rather than build confidence in God.

One time, when I was at home and I was really frustrated with a certain situation, I felt like I shouldn’t talk to anyone about it because, I mean, I was becoming an adult; adults don’t cry out their problems to people. I tell you, my mother is so awesome. She asked me what was wrong and I finally just let it out. She reassured me that, even though I was growing up, it was okay to be a mess sometimes; just because I grow up doesn’t mean I become master of everything.

I think this can apply to our relationships with Christ. Just because we grow in Him or grow closer to Him, doesn’t mean we have to be happy all the time or be perfect or be totally isolated from everything that has to do with the world. We’re still human, even if we do have the Holy Spirit inside of us. If we suddenly became not-human once we were saved, then what would be the point of going on a journey with God? What would be the point of growing in our relationship with Him? I’m glad I get to be a mess! I’m so glad that, even though my God is huge and powerful, I can still be needy and broken and ridiculous.

But yeah, God is cool 🙂 beyond words, He’s cool.

Tomorrow I have to go to the Whitney Museum in Manhattan. I say have to because my Critical Thinking & Writing professor told my classmates and I to go to the performance exhibition going on there this weekend. Then, when I return from the exhibition, I have to draw a picture of my essay….no, I typed that correctly. I have to draw a picture representing my essay. Maybe I’ll sketch myself lying on my dorm room floor, saying “why me?” Do you think she’ll take that? 😀

Me neither.

But Sunday! Oh Sunday! Sunday after church I get to go to Rebounderz with all of my totally awesome church friends! If you don’t remember what I’m talking about, I will gladly remind you. Rebounderz, located in Edison, New Jersey, is this place where you play dodge ball in a room with a floor made of trampolines. TRAMPOLINES!!!! I’m going to get to feel like John Carter! 😀 I’m so psyched. I think on the way back we’re stopping for Korean food, which I’ve never had before, so that should be interesting. Maybe I’ll just have one of my people order for me.

We’ll see 🙂

These next few weeks are going to be crunch time: term paper deadlines coming up, final essays due, assignments to be done, meetings to attend, novels to write, and classes to register for. 

Bring it on 🙂

“For it is You who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness. For by You I can run against a troop, and by my God I can leap over a wall. This God—His way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true; He is a shield for all those who take refuge in Him.”    —-Psalm 18:28-30, ESV

 

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

