Potential

“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!”

Okay, not really, but I hope it begins to snow soon 😀 Back in the sticks all of my people have already had their first snow. It’s freezing here in the city, but we have not been blessed with snow just yet.

This morning I woke up with two very sore shoulders and sore legs. I appreciated this soreness though, because it reminded me of how much fun I had last night. Speaking of last night, I didn’t actually get to bed until about four in the morning because I needed to finish some homework…okay not some, a lot. But the crazy thing is that I hadn’t really procrastinated at all; things were just added to my “To Do” list every day and I didn’t have enough hours to complete it all! It’s crazy how valuable time is these days. But I did finish everything, and I was very happy about that 🙂 I even got a full six hours of sleep. Oh yeah!

In my devotions I was brought to the book of Ephesians. This book is one of my favorites. I don’t know exactly why: maybe it’s because this book talks about unity among Christians in the Body of Christ. I like any verse that talks about the connection that exists between Christians. One specific passage that caught my eye this morning was Ephesians 4:26, 27. It says, “Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the Devil.” First of all, I don’t know about you, but I find it extremely difficult to be angry and not sin at the same time. The best example of this I can recall to my brain is when Jesus tossed the temple tables in Matthew 21:12. Basically, the merchants and traders and street vendors had set up shop like a giant garage sale in and around God’s temple. And Jesus was like, “no.”

So righteous anger is a biggy for me. I guess it boils down to a concept similar to “pick your battles.” There are certain things worth getting angry over, while other little things, like getting cut off on the freeway or having someone eat the other half of your sandwich without your knowing, aren’t worthy of that kind of emotion. It’s all good.

The next part is about going to sleep angry. Anger, like most of our emotions, is totally whack: when it’s tapped into, it elevates very quickly and we often forget what we’re angry about and just think about the rush of being angry. But any uncontrolled feeling is a dangerous one. This is why it’s a bad idea to let your anger fester, because Satan is waiting for an opportunity to convince you to either think or do something that you wouldn’t normally, and it’s during times of deep or uncontrolled emotion that we’re most vulnerable and impressionable. So, before you get angry about something, really think and pray about whether or not it’s even worth your emotion.

I was running a little behind today, but I made it to World Literature, regardless. My professor was discussing Niccolo Machiavelli’s The Prince. He was explaining how smart and intelligent Machiavelli was, how he had believed there was far too much evil for good to compete with. Apparently, both Adolf Hitler and Benito Mussolini used the guidelines of Machiavelli. When my professor began the lecture, all I could think about was this one scene from The Princess Diaries 2. So, Nicholas and his uncle are trying to sabotage Mia as she tries to become the queen of Genovia. Nicholas’s uncle, Viscount Mabrey, is explaining to Nicholas his reasoning behind sabotaging Mia. He then proceeds to tell him (Nicholas) that he is named after Niccolo Machiavelli. “Power, my boy, means never having to say you’re sorry.” While he is correct in saying this while referring to Machiavelli, he, along with leaders like Hitler and Mussolini, seems to have forgotten one other principle. It’s the principle that drives stories like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and Narnia, where heroes reign supreme and the end scenes reveal victory to the audience.

                     “Brave men rejoice in adversity, just as brave soldiers triumph in war.” —Lucius Annaeus Seneca

Basically, good will always rise up against evil. I feel like I’ve been talking about this a lot lately, so I won’t spend too much space discussing it. But I mean, look at our history: Hitler was defeated. Mussolini was vanquished. Viscount Mabrey ended up becoming a laughing stock, Mia became queen, and she and Nicholas ended up together in the end. And do I need to talk about what’s going to happen at the end of time?

Just a thought.

After World Literature I went and bought lunch and was headed into the cafeteria to eat when my one guy friend, Guss, caught me. I asked him what he was doing and he said he was going to get food and that I was going with him. He then proceeded to spin me around and pull me in the opposite direction of where I had intended to go.

Well okay then.

So he and I began walking along Myrtle until we came to a Chinese place (I would try to spell the name but that would just be a disaster). He ordered his lunch to go and we sat at one of the tables while it was being prepared. It felt weird to be sitting in a restaurant with a guy…but I knew I was over complicating things. I talked to God in my head while Guss and I chatted, and I was reminded that Guss was just a friend; I didn’t have to feel weird. However, I think I’m going to avoid that from now on.

Cool thing about God: He is the expert on dating advice. I know that sounds really odd and kind of off-topic, but He is. Think about it: God knows your entire future. He knows who you’re going to meet, who fits your emotional/romantic mold, everything. This means He’s totally capable of pointing you in the right direction when it comes to liking people of the opposite gender. If you like someone, tell God about it. You’ll be glad you did 🙂

Before Critical Thinking & Writing I headed to Health and Counseling to search for a job opportunity. Last night I sent out two applications: both jobs were clerical, so no glamor there. But I wanted to follow up my application by actually going to the place(s) where I might be working. I was able to speak with the head lady and I explained to her my situation, skills, and schedule. She seemed pretty optimistic about hiring me, but nevertheless told me she would look over my application and let me know soon. I left and tried to be more hopeful than I felt. I was trying, and I knew that was important.

Critical Thinking & Writing was sort of enjoyable today, which is weird because that’s the class I find to be the most frustrating. Our final essays are due on Wednesday, and I’m hoping that I wrote mine correctly. In my conclusion, like my professor permitted me to do, I stated a brief insight about the gospel. I hope she doesn’t take off points for it, but if she does I have to believe God is going to present some kind of opportunity with it. So I’m ready for it.

When I left, I knew I had lots of homework to do and things to prepare, but I really needed to run. Today was the first day of wrestling season back home, and I was sad that I couldn’t be there. So I worked out to feel better 🙂 I needed it though: I ran two miles in under twenty-two minutes, which, for not running in almost two weeks, I was satisfied with. I did most of the calisthenics I would be doing if I were at wrestling practice, though I was limited in some due to the lack of a mat. I did what I could and every part of my body burned. Walking back to my dorm was probably a funny sight: my legs kept buckling and my center of gravity tilted. I looked like a penguin.

To bring this post full circle, after I had finished most of my homework, I was looking at a Gertrude Hawk catalog online. If you have never tried Gertrude Hawk chocolate, I am so sorry. You are missing out on so much goodness it almost makes me want to cry. I usually only buy this chocolate around Christmas, and looking at all of the Santa Clause smidgens and the white chocolate-covered pretzels reminded me that we’re in November, and December will be upon us before we can finish the turkey salad leftover from Thanksgiving.

This year, because I’ll be in the city, I really want to make it to the Christmas tree lighting at Rockefeller Center. It’s on December 4th, a Wednesday. Or, if I can’t get to the lighting, I at least want to see the tree and Manhattan dressed in Christmas lights. I can’t even imagine how beautiful it will be 😀

 

“Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.”  —Psalm 55:22, ESV

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Potential

  1. Pingback: Potential

Leave a Reply

