A Glimpse into the Life of a Saturday Dorm Hermit

It’s amazing what drinking water and working out will do for a stressed body 🙂

I woke up around noon and began my day (the middle of the day for most people) with talking to God. I had a lot of reading in my Bible to do today…well, I didn’t have to do it, but I wanted to 🙂 many of the things I read I’ve come across before, but everything I read seemed new. I read Genesis 9 and caught the detail of Ham being the father of Canaan, the citizens of which were to be the inhabitants of the Promised Land mentioned in both Genesis and Exodus. Moses was a descendant of Levi, who was a descendant of Shem, Noah’s son. When Ham had dishonored his father, he was cursed to be the servant of Shem. Well, Moses leads the people out of Egypt and towards the Promised Land, where the Canaanites lived. The Canaanites end up becoming the servants of the descendants of Shem.

In Malachi 3, I came across a verse that I’d heard people quote but never actually saw it in the Bible. I love moments like that 🙂 “Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house. And thereby put Me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.” (Malachi 3:10, ESV) Wow! God is basically saying, “Money is the one area I challenge you to challenge Me. Go ahead and put yourself out there financially; go ahead and tithe even if it’s all you have; see what happens.” That’s crazy. God is asking us to test Him….cool 🙂

John 3 offered a great reminder to me this morning. John the Baptist, when Jesus comes and is baptizing people, is questioned by his disciples. John answers: “I am not the Christ, but I have been sent before him.’ The one who has the bride is the bridegroom. The friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly at the bridegroom’s voice. Therefore this joy of mine is now complete. He must increase, but I must decrease.” (John 3:28-30, ESV). The bride being the church and the bridegroom being Jesus, John is explaining to his disciples that in order for the world to be saved, he has to step down and let the One he’s been waiting for do what He came to do: be the bridegroom, save the world, wear the cape.

I feel like Jesus somehow set the standard character sketch for every superhero ever created. Think about it: a savior come to deliver the world from terror, despised by those he saves. The only major difference is that Jesus came to save the world from justice while superheroes come to save the world from injustice. Jesus intercedes for us in the face of God’s justice (which is that all of us would go to hell for our sin against Him). Jesus is the superhero that delivers us from the worst kind of evil: ourselves, our sin.

Oh I love it when this happens! I love the fact that I can read passages that I’ve known since I was a child and find them saying something totally different. It’s just crazy. God was really clever with the whole Bible thing 🙂

After reading, I sat and wrote to God. Yesterday, while I was trying to fall asleep, God reminded me of my worry and of how ridiculous it was; He reminded me that I could just give Him everything. So I did. I gave Him my worry about money, my worry about getting a job, my worries about the future, my worries about success, and everything else. It’s just too much for me to worry about; I can’t trust God if I’m constantly trying to tell Him what to do and how I want things to go. I just need to sit back and remember that it’s all on Him. He has promised me a future filled with hope (Jeremiah 29:11) and has told me not to worry because He knows all about my needs (Matthew 6:25-34); it’s up to Him to fulfill His promise, and He’s the ultimate promise-fulfiller. But at the same time, God asks me to be a good steward of what I’ve been given. Just because He’s going to take care of everything doesn’t mean I go be a doofus and spend all of my money for the heck of it.

I spent the entire rest of the day (after devotions and talking to God for a little while) working on a Botany paper. I tell ya, I really do love Botany, but I just can’t get over how much the homework feels never-ending. Actually, college homework is never-ending, but I guess it’s a good kind of never-ending…no it’s not, it’s terrible, but totally worth it 🙂 I do like the fact that I get to write and research all the time, which is practically what I want to do as a career: research and write books and learn and fry my own brain with all of the knowledge I can possibly absorb. Yep. That’s the dream 🙂 But I never know what God is going to do, and I realize that sounds cliche, but it’s totally true. My plan is never God’s plan, it seems, but His plan is always better.

Finally, after being cooped up in my dorm all day and stressing over stupid things and being tempted to procrastinate, I “suited up” and went to work out. Three miles and calisthenics have never felt so good and so freeing. I thanked God for my legs and for sweat and for water because without all of those things, I would be one sad possibly dying creature. Speaking of water, I’ve been trying to eliminate avenues for panic in my body, so I’ve been living on water lately. Water is good for you…yep, I’ve known that for how long? The problem is there are so many sugar-packed, caffeine-blasted, sodium-enriched drinks in the cafeteria that it’s difficult to just buy water with such a variety at your fingertips. But now that I’m sticking to just water, my skin is clearing up, I have fewer headaches, working out is more productive, and I just feel cleaner in my brain and body 🙂 Thank You, Jesus, for water!

Once I had worked out, I came back to my dorm, refreshed and ready to work again. I purchased my bus ticket today to go home for Thanksgiving in a couple of weeks 😀 I can’t wait to be with my family. Homesickness has been hitting me really hard lately, and skyping does only so much. There’s nothing like being hugged by real arms and being in the presence of the ones you love. Plus, Thanksgiving! Food! FOOD!!!!!!! One tradition to which my family and I hold true is having the Macy’s Day Parade broadcast playing throughout the duration of Thanksgiving Day. It’s going to be weird to watch the parade, knowing that I’ve walked down that street, I’ve been living in that world for the past two and a half months.

Thinking about Thanksgiving makes me think about Christmas…another thing that makes me think about Christmas is listening to Christmas music! Yes, I am one of those annoying people who start listening to Christmas music in the middle of October. I’m just so excited about all of it! I love holidays; they’re opportunities to see just how blessed you are, to eat good food, share big laughs, fall in love, and be transported to a time where things are beautiful and hopeful, regardless of the troubles that weigh down your heart. 🙂

 

“I the Lord have spoken it; it shall come to pass and I will do it; I will not go back…” Ezekiel 24:14

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

