Reality Check

I had a cheeseburger and waffle fries today. It was an amazing experience. A humble beef patty covered in melted American cheese, tomato ketchup, and yellow mustard, all harmoniously “sandwiched” between two halves of a crunchy-on-the-outside-soft-on-the-inside bun. This wonderful construction adopts a partner of crunchy, seasoned potatoes that have been fried and cut to look like a familiar breakfast food. Thank you, immigration, for bestowing upon the melting pot of America the simple magnificence that is the cheeseburger, and the skillfully fried delicacies that are waffle fries. Thank You, God, for the tons of different varieties of food spread across the globe, for creating us in Your image so that we might create magnificent things not only in the culinary world, but also in every other field…but especially culinary. πŸ˜€

Okay I’m done praising the cheeseburger and its salty sidekicks. God did something really cool today. He woke me up πŸ™‚ Waking up, I forget, is a gift, just like breathing, or being able to cry. This is so cliche, but that doesn’t mean its meaning is any less important: pay attention to the little things, like eating a cheeseburger, or making tea in a tea kettle, or laughing at the crunching noise a dry leaf makes when you step on it. Paying attention to the little things is one way to practice looking for God when He seems far away.

In 1 Kings 19, after Elijah has fled from Jezebel and it now lodging in a cave, God tells him to go out on the mountain ledge just outside the cave. “And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but The Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper.” (1 Kings 19:11,12, ESV). I think it’s amazing that the wind God sent actually tore the mountains, like paper. And fire just appears out of nowhere! God is essentially showing off it seems, kind of showing Elijah all of these spectacular elements before finally revealing Himself in the quietest of ways. Look out for the whisper, but pay attention to the fire too.

Today was smooth in a weird way. My World Literature professor referred to Paul this morning, talking about how unbelievers will reject the gospel because they don’t understand it. He was using it to propose a different reading perspective of Don Quixote. I found it kind of sad that my professor appears to have an expansive knowledge of literature and a relatively solid knowledge of the Bible, but he doesn’t accept it. This perplexes me: how does someone read the Bible without seeing it as truth? I understand some think it’s just a story book, or a literary masterpiece. While it is a literary masterpiece, it is far from being a fairy tale. Of course I’ll say it’s true because I’m a Christian; that’s what I do. But what about the archaeological evidence of the fulfillment of biblical prophecies and occurrences? What about the historical figures that played key roles in the life and death of Jesus Christ? What about His undiscovered remains?

My favorite example of archaeological proof is the wall of Jericho. If you don’t know what happened, here’s the gist: after Joshua succeeded Moses, being guided by the Lord he brought the Israelites to Jericho, a city protected by a ginormous wall. The city itself, however, was actually rather small. This is an important detail to notice because before God handed Jericho over to the Israelites, He instructed them to march around the city wall for seven days: six days they walked around it once and then on the seventh day they walked seven times, blowing trumpets. On the seventh day, in combination with the trumpets, all of the Israelites shouted. They yelled…and the walls fell down flat (Joshua 6). Why is this important? Well, modern-day Professor John Garstang, a British archaeologist and authority on Hittite civilization, discovered that the walls fell outward. Walls normally fall inward, but in this case, where God’s hand was involved, the wall fell outward, from the inside. The Bible is filled with connections like this, with physical proof. πŸ™‚

After World Literature, God, in His own way, showed me that waiting on Him is a good idea, that perseverance in my relationship with Him and my testimony before everyone around me is worth it, it’s important. He did this at the perfect time, of course, because He’s amazing like that. I was wondering if I was going anywhere, if anything was going to come of my fighting against things that go against His word…yes, I am, and yes, it is. πŸ™‚

Charlene and I grabbed lunch and laughed about life and school and talked about God. I just can’t believe how perfectly He’s worked everything out. He gave me a good Christian friend, a strong, loving church, a hope, a strength that I wouldn’t have without Him. He’s given me a family who supports me and friends who miss me. I am truly blessed.

It’s nice, when things don’t seem to be working (laptop, classes, stress, homework, spiritual warfare), to have a pivot point, something that never moves. God is the perfect constant; He will never change and never move away from me. If ever I feel disconnected, it’s because I moved, not Him. Because of the hope He’s given me, the identity He’s gifted me with, the completeness, I don’t have to be afraid. I don’t have to worry. Anxiety can’t grip me. Fear can’t chain me down. Transience can’t trip me up. God has me covered from all these things. The only time these fiends ever infiltrate my life is because I let them in, not God.

God is just….hm….He’s indescribable….really, He is. If I ever feel that I can accurately explain God and what He’s done for me, that will be a sad day. How can you explain Someone who is infinitely unexplainable? How can you destroy Someone who is eternally indestructible? How do you block out the love of Someone who is love incarnate? How do you hide from Someone who is everywhere?

You don’t. You stand speechless. You back down. You surrender, give in. You step out of the dark so your Heavenly Father can finally love you the way He’s wanted to love you forever. You see that God is real, more real than any material thing you’ve ever touched, more electrifying than any emotion you’ve ever felt, and more solid than any hope or dream you’ve ever entertained.

God is unstoppable, indestructible, unexplainable, real.
He. Is. Real.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

