Back To You

Today was a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

It was just one of those really productive, feel good, perfect weather, lovely days.

First of all, college is definitely not the place to exercise good sleeping habits. I realize this is kind of a given, but seriously, not the place. For the past couple of nights I’ve been procrastinating, working, studying, writing, and reading, until the early hours of the morning, not even realizing how much time had passed! It’s like time is moving on without me!

Okay, not so much, but you get the gist.

Ah yes, the hour of three in the morning has become my undesired companion, but with finals and term papers and all sorts of other academic nonsense, I can hardly avoid it. Thankfully, tomorrow is Saturday, so I don’t have to worry about getting up early for class.

This morning I didn’t have to worry about it either, because I don’t have classes on Fridays!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I can just picture medical students and people who are pursuing “real” careers rolling their eyes and saying, “lucky.” Not lucky, just blessed ๐Ÿ™‚

ANYWAY, this morning was really…well, interesting. I was doing my devotions and talking to God when I realized how complicated my relationship with Him had become. Let me clarify. So many people here (or at least those in my major) are all about knowledge, about knowing what’s the newest most current information, whether it be of pop culture, philosophy, science, or art. Without even realizing it, I’d let myself become swept up into this trend, feeling like, in order to sort of “keep up” with my classmates and professors, I have to study and learn until I reach the point when my brain just falls out of my ear. I, however, have been studying articles and books and videos concerning God and the Gospel. While this is all well and good, I forgot what’s actually important: God and His word.

Take away all of the controversial topics, the political debates, the theological interpretations, and philosophical discussions; wash away all of the issues, the cynicism, the skepticism, all those annoying soup-can-label-isms and what do you have left?ย 

You…

and God.

That’s what it all comes down to. Things don’t have to be complicated, not if you focus on the simple Truth. This is the simplicity I’ve padded with all of this “knowledge”:

1. God loves me.

2. God has a plan for me.

3. God is the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

4. God leads, I follow.

5. God’s word is true.

And there ya have it. Another thing I’ve been doing is I’ve been seeing the things that members of my church family do and I’ve been thinking, “well, if they do it, that means I should/can do it too.” Not so much. Don’t get me wrong, I love my church family. But everyone’s relationship with God is unique, and just because something is good for one person doesn’t mean it’s good for me. My relationship with God is between me and God only. I should seek advice when advice is needed; I should challenge my brain and increase my knowledge. But at the end of the day, I am still a corpse that was brought back to life; I am still God’s favorite girl ๐Ÿ™‚

After my devotions, I read for about an hour or so (because that’s my homework….to read chapter books…MY HOMEWORK IS TO READ BOOKS ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ :D), and I’m actually sort of enjoying this book. Donald Antrim has a weird mind. It’s twisted in some twisty ways that have twists in their twists all jumbled up into one big cyclone of twistiness. Yeah. I’m currently reading (as an assignment) Elect Mr. Robinson for a Better World….okay, it’s not the best book…in fact, a lot of it’s kind of strange (hence the in-depth description of the mind of the author), but the storyline is fascinating. The Verificationist is also one I’m reading by him. The storyline of that book is all about this meeting of psychologists at a pancake house…the whole book takes place at a pancake house…every time I read it I want pancakes…I want pancakes just thinking about it.

Anyway I eventually became stir crazy, packed up my backpack, and traveled to the faraway palace that is the library. As I walked in, the smell of booksย  filled my nostrils and fine architecture soothed my eyes. Oh the nerdiness! I set myself up on the second floor and began working on my World Literature term paper.

Okay, here’s the problem.

My professor is requesting that I make some sort of argument concerning the evolution (don’t freak out, not scientific evolution) of the characters that women play in pre-classical, classical, and renaissance literature. But as I was working out my argument and beginning to see it all come together, I realized that it had a strong theme of feminism.

Ugh! Feminism! I hate isms. They frustrate me. Feminism, I’ve learned basically since my first day on this eventful planet called Pratt Institute, is “a doctrine advocating social, political, and all other rights equal to those of men.” I’m not gonna lie; I am really not entirely sure where I stand on this whole thing. I think that women certainly play an important role of society, and without that role men would be incomplete. I also think, however, that their role is that of the supporter. Yup. I said it. Women were made to support, to follow, to respect. After the Fall, God knew the task of following would be insanely difficult for us as women. I mean, I hate feeling inadequate or pushed around or like a footstool. But that’s not what God was saying when He said, “Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands.” (Ephesians 5:22-24, ESV) Controversial? Yes. Far-fetched? Maybe. Impossible? Absolutely not.

Feminism, I think, is a way for women to feel like their important, to feel like they’re worth something to this world, to feel strong, proud, and not as feeble and incapable as they think men see them. But the thing is, feminism is man-made (no pun intended). It’s one way for women to feel important, but it’s not theย way. Women shouldn’t have to find their identity in how they compare with men…that’s just ridiculous. How can you compare people who are 100% different? It’s just like me comparing myself to Leonardo DiCaprio. Other than the fact that we’re both white and enjoy drawing, we don’t have much in common. Why should women want to be like men? Why don’t women want to be like women?

Think of how important support and help are, just for a second. Don’t think of it as a hindrance or a demotion…think of it as foundational. So let’s say tons of young men go off to war. The women feel like they’re being disrespected or becoming the victims of sexism, so they decide to go to war too. So tons of young men and women are all at war….but who’s back home to support all of the men and women while they’re away? Children? College kids? The government????

When God called Eve a “suitable helper,” I believe He meant it. Without women being supportive and being helpful and filling that “conventional” role, men aren’t able to fill their role as the protector, leader, and provider. Men need to be men and women need to be women. This world is all about being unconventional, about going against the norm. Well, now that the norm has become being unconventional, I think it’s about time being conventional became unconventional.

If you really want to be unique, don’t be like everyone else. Be simple. Be politically unaffiliated, politically incorrect. Be optimistic. Be on God’s side. Everything God wants goes against the grain of the entire world system…now that’s unconventional.

Right. Term paper. So I’m going to try and yank that theme out of my paper…I’m not quite sure how just yet but I’m sure my brain will come up with something…or at least, I hope it will. I eventually stopped working on my term paper and began working on my final project for Critical Thinking & Writing. As I’ve told you before, my final project for this class is to conduct an investigation of the self using one primary source and two secondary sources. My primary source? The Bible. My secondary sources? Well, I’ve only found one, and that happens to be a peer-reviewed excerpt from a book written about the supremacy of the Bible (The Supremacy of the Bible by Joseph Fort Newton). This amazes me because I found it in the Pratt database…for some reason I just didn’t expect to find something doctrinally-sound, pithy, and compelling concerning the Bible in the Pratt database. But I did! Thank You, Jesus!

The source basically said, because of the supremacy of the Bible, it needed to be neither defended nor assailed. Because of how it moves, just as literature, and because of historical and archeological proof (examples are given) it can be accepted as a empirical and solid reference. Yes! Booyah! Super secondary source…with a cape and everything!

So, that was the entirety of my day, aside from some more dilly-dallying in my homework, looking up very random YouTube videos for comic relief, and thinking about everything ridiculously amazing God has done in just the past week. It really is ridiculously amazing though…how God can be so incredibly simple yet so deeply mysterious at the same time. God is just so cool ๐Ÿ™‚

“Got to trust in the simple Truth

Got to trust all I really need is You

I’m coming back to You

The only thing I know worth living for

Will You take this heart and make it more like You?

I give it all to You

It’s obvious no one could love me more

I’m Yours

And I’m coming back.”

You by Britt Nicole

ย 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

