Crave

All I can think about is Roman mythology vs. Greek mythology and how Greek women and goddesses play into history when compared to their Renaissance sisters, St. Monica and Laura DeNoves. This term paper is almost ten pages and I haven’t even finished the body yet. Everybody’s all like, “Oh, I’ll do mine this weekend,” or “Mine’s only about four pages, what about yours?”

Four pages??? This weekend??? It’s a term paper! It’s like a humongous percentage of your grade! It’s like the difference between passing and failing! It’s like Aragorn leading an army to the black gates of Mordor to distract Sauran from Sam and Frodo so they could destroy the Ring; if the son of Arathorn had not done this effectively, then the halflings would have died and failed and it would’ve been a huge inconvenience for the rest of Middle-Earth and the Shire would’ve been destroyed…

Okay, so maybe it’s not THAT big of a deal, but come on, it IS a term paper. But then again, I AM a nerd…but it IS a term paper….

 

Oh well.

This morning was really weird. My dreams have gotten dark lately. The words of Albus Dumbledore keep running through my head. “It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” But these were scary. Not Harry Potter scary, but certainly nightmarish.

When I woke up I talked to God about them. I was reminded of how unreal, how impossible, how harmless they were. I was reminded of how much God loves me, especially since He was listening to me talk about my crazy dreams like the crazy person I am. It’s in moments like these, when I’m talking to God, that I get frustrated about how loosely people use terms like “spirituality” and “Christianity” and “God.” They make these things sound like just another controversial topic rather than a life-changing, supernatural, totally real Truth. I just don’t understand.

Before I had gotten out of bed but while I was still awake, Lin suddenly jumped out of her bed, sprinted around the room speaking Chinese, ran out of the room and down the hall to the bathroom, ran back in about thirty seconds, sprinted around the room again, and finally exited one last time, sprinting down the hallway in the opposite direction of the bathroom. She’s never done this before, so I almost wondered if I was still dreaming.

World Literature was strange today. We’re learning about Hinduism, which I’m happy about because it’s important for me to know the doctrine of other religions before I approach them with the Gospel. While I’ve done a little bit of research on Hinduism and Buddhism, I haven’t done enough to really get a hold on how their belief system works. I learned all of the ins and outs and levels of Karma, Yoga, and reincarnation. That’s when I wondered how many people believe that God is in everything (as in, the conscience, nature, etc.). While it’s totally true that God created all of the earth and its inhabitants and He reigns supreme as far as inspiration for further creation is concerned, He is not in everything around us.

Explanation: there’s a difference between being the Creator and then being the creation. A potter wouldn’t say that he is his pottery. He may say he made his pottery and put a lot of effort and love and a lot of himself into the pottery, but this does not mean he is the pottery. One of the ideas of Hinduism is that humans are all pieces of a big puzzle of sorts that makes up a god (this is a really basic explanation, not at all scholarly), and the journey we take through life is our way of understanding our roles as pieces. While I respect those who practice Hinduism, this doctrine is false. This idea and reincarnation, which I’ve discussed in previous posts, is not biblical, and neither is polytheism, another prominent factor of Hinduism.

“Hunter, you’re still just being judgmental and intolerant.”

Judgmental is defined as “tending to judge or criticize the conduct of other people.”

Intolerant is defined as “refusing to accept people who are different or live differently; not able to endure or tolerate something.”

I’m not criticizing or looking down on the conduct of those who practice Hinduism, but rather comparing their belief system to what I know to be Truth. I’m not refusing to accept those who practice Hinduism; in fact, I’m sure the majority of them are very kind and wonderful human beings 🙂 I find other belief systems very interesting and worth learning about, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to overlook the fact that, when compared with Truth, they’re false. Yeah, I know, bold claim, but I care too much to say anything otherwise.

Oh! We had the Critical Thinking & Writing field trip today. The walk was really nice and the fall weather was beautiful. Taylor played “New York, New York” by Frank Sinatra and the moment was almost too cliche. As we walked, I wanted to talk to my classmates about God and what He’s been doing in my life, but no opportunity seemed to present itself, and I had to wonder if I was missing something. For some reason, it’s becoming more and more difficult to witness to my friends, to put God in our conversations. But I can’t figure out why. Maybe it’s because I want to just blurt out the Truth, the fact that God is real and He loves them and everything they could possibly be afraid of can be vanquished by His hand. I just wish they knew…no, I just wish they believed.

Unnameable Books is a fascinating little store near Vanderbilt Avenue. The dimensions of the store itself are about two and a half times the size of my dorm room; every wall is covered by a tall bookshelf filled with books of all different genres from many different authors. One of my classmates found a book of poetry by J.R.R. Tolkien. The book was about Arthurian legend and had mentionings of Mirkwood and other places referring to the riveting tales of The Lord of the Rings. I sat in the corner of the store and read the book for the duration of our visit.

We had spent a little more time walking than was expected, so instead of stopping at Le Gamin Cafe we just headed back to campus. Two of my classmates and I branched off from the class to go check out a patisserie. I wondered if we weren’t in a predominantly French section of Brooklyn, because nearly every store had French words like ouvert and bonjour in their windows and the store names were also French. When we entered the patisserie, it was rather crowded. I was tempted to speak my rusty French to the employee behind the cash-register. When I ordered, he didn’t understand what I was saying, so I asked in English instead. He explained he was actually from Eastern Europe, a country near Russia. Listening to his accent affirmed this claim.

The three of us left after eating our petite gateaus. As we walked, we found ourselves having to wait on a corner as traffic maneuvered through the streets. There was a very tiny, but very sleek and expensive-looking, car. Not thinking (of course), I gestured to the car, commenting on how I could probably hurdle the vehicle because it was so small. For a moment I continued to gesture to the car and make other comments with my friends. That’s when the owner of the car rolled down the window and smiled at the three of us.

“Hi, is everything okay, ladies?”

I felt like an idiot. We explained we were talking about his car while waiting for the light. He told us that he had just bought it today, still keeping the smile on his face. The moment the light changed, we were off.

I spent the rest of my evening on my term paper, working on it in the quiet stillness of the library. I’m beginning to really appreciate that place. I thank God for libraries, where books are abundant and thoughts even more so. God would know all about books and the power they hold, considering He wrote the greatest most influential book of all time. I think it’s cool that God is the Ultimate Writer. He’s a lot of things, but I really like the fact that He’s a writer. This is just another thing that draws me to Him. He’s the master painter, the ultimate writer, potter, and healer, the greatest friend and most perfect love, and He is more powerful than any hero literature could possibly create. God is stronger than Hercules, more honorable than Hector, and more real than any god humanity can come up with. Cool.

Lately I find myself wishing that everybody could be right. I really wish that everyone was going to Heaven, that all religions were correct and fulfilling like the word of God is correct and fulfilling. But this just isn’t it. I don’t want people to find fulfillment in religion. Religion is a man-made invention constructed to water-down the divinity and the perfection of God’s love for us. Religion is a way for people to feel like they’re important, to feel like life is simpler than they think, to feel like they can just do something easy, like a check-list, to get to heaven, rather than being emotionally dependent, committed, and excited. No, God meant for man to experience something much greater than religion. God meant for man to experience the deepest love ever known in the past, present, and future, before the beginning and past the end of time. The Pharisees were worshipers of religion, embracers of rules and regulations, of traditions and works. Look how Jesus saw them. No matter how good you are, no matter how many loaves of banana bread you bake for your neighbor, no matter how many times you volunteer at homeless shelters, no matter how many mornings you pray the Lord’s prayer, no matter how many doors you hold open for others, no matter how many “hellos” you recite or smiles you hand out, and no matter how happy and fulfilled you look, you will never be good enough to get to heaven. You are destined to go to hell from the moment you’re born. “Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me,” (Psalm 51:5, ESV). Thankfully, for humanity, there’s a loophole. The only thing that can save you is God’s love, His free gift of salvation that was paid for by Jesus’ blood on the cross. He’s not asking too much of you: He’s just asking for everything. And the best part? He’s trustworthy; you can trust Him with the everything you give. God’s got your back. All you have to do is let Him in.

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” —Revelation 3:20, ESV

 

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crave

  1. starwarsfreak117 says:

    Ahh so THAT’S why you needed that confirmation 😀 Now not to be picky, but you COULD have quoted LotR one more time by changing this: “My dreams have gotten dark lately” into: “Dark have been my dreams of late.” Still, you have a stout heart little Hunter 😉 Enjoyed this as always

    Like

Leave a Reply

