My Brain is Frying in the Frying Pan, But it’s Okay Because God Has a Spatula

Guys! I finished my term paper! Yes, I did it! It’s really long and nerdy-sounding and the ink reeks of over-achievement, but it’s done. Now I have to put a dent in all of my other final projects that I’ve been neglecting.Β 

I want to say that God did something really interesting today by reminding me of how much He loves me, but He does this every day, whether or not I think it’s interesting or even notice it; He does it anyway. He gave me the determination to finish my paper, the courage to finish it and just trust that I did my best and there’s literally nothing more I can do except hand it in, and the understanding that, when all is said and done, it’s just a term paper. I really get worked up over big assignments; like writing a novel, I never know when I’m just done with it, in fact I don’t think I ever really am. But I think term papers might be different. Regardless of how much anguish this fourteen page monstrosity put me through, I really enjoyed researching for it and then finally writing and editing it…I think I just made an academic term paper sound like a novel.

I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

For some reason, I feel like I’ve been reading the 3rd chapter of Colossians over and over again. Certain verses pop out to me more than others, and this morning I was convicted about something. “Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator.” (Colossians 3:9,10, ESV) So, lying is just a bad idea. Blatantly telling someone something other than the truth is probably one of the stupidest things you could probably do. Believe me, I know.

A lot of people at church and at school ask me “What do you think about this?” “Have you ever heard of this person?” “Have you ever read this book?” and sometimes I’ll answer ‘yes’ without actually knowing what they’re talking about or I’ll offer a positive opinion on something when I’m not actually sure how I feel about it. Example: Adham and Edward referenced Dragon Ball Z. The moment I heard that title, I thought of all the fun times I had with my cousins watching that show when we were little. I thought of Goku and Gohan and how cool it was that Gohan became all awesome and defeated Cell and it was all just good memories. Then, when I remembered how little I actually remembered about the show, I went ahead and watched some of the episodes to refresh my memory. That’s when I realized how much I really can’t stand Dragon Ball Z.

Lord of the Rings. Yes.

Star Wars. Yes.

Narnia. Yes.

Pokemon. Yes.

Dragon Ball Z. No.

I felt like a total idiot for saying something that wasn’t entirely true. Adham attempted to restore my faith in Dragon Ball Z, but it just didn’t click. He proceeded to explain how inhuman I was for not liking Dragon Ball Z and that he needed to gather all of the dragon balls so he could make me human again.Β 

At least my friends have good senses of humor πŸ˜€

The other verse in Colossians that caught my attention was, “And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.” (3:14) This verse doesn’t require much interpretation to understand what it’s saying. It’s one of those verses that’s all “This is what this means: do it.” But when you do think about it further, go to 1 Corinthians 13:4-8. Right there it explains what love is and, when you read it, you understand why love is the one thing that binds everything together in harmony. 1 John 4:18 reads “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.” (ESV) This verse would also explain why love is that one thing, because if people are constantly afraid, nothing will ever get done, no adventures will ever be had, no relationships ever formed.

I wonder if the harmony talked about in Colossians is referring to not only societal harmony and relational harmony but also natural harmony, as in how the dynamics of the physical earth operate. Is this harmony referring to how the seasons change? Is this harmony referring to how the sun wakes up in the morning and then goes to sleep at night? Is this harmony referring to how animals mate in the spring time and how they know when to migrate? Hm. If it was, which it very well might be, then that would mean that love really does make the world go ’round πŸ™‚

After spending all day working on my term paper, my brain was fried, but I managed to get a few things crossed off on my To Do list. Meanwhile I’m eagerly anticipating Tuesday so I can get home and see all of my people πŸ™‚ I really appreciate being away from home for that reason; it makes going home so much nicer, so much more exciting. You know what I’ve missed the most? Being hugged (I know, cheesy, but it’s true). You know those really warm and wide hugs that envelop you in comfort? Those big, fat, bear hugs? πŸ˜€

Sometimes I feel like God is hugging me, not physically, but definitely spiritually, when I’m tired or just in need of His touch. Like when I’m freaking out and being totally over-dramatic and I’m making things so much more complicated than they actually are, He’s just like, “Hunter, calm down. It’s okay. The world isn’t ending. Trust Me, you’d know if it really was.” He totally knows me too, how I react to certain things, how my brain works, how my heart works, how much I can handle. He understands me completely. I never have to update Him on things that are happening in my life, but He likes to listen to me tell Him. He likes hearing about my life, what I think, how I feel, even if I don’t think He cares. He’s awesome πŸ™‚

“But even the hairs of your head are all numbered.” –Matthew 10:30, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

