Words

Sophie, my Saint Bernard, has apparently been eating the furniture and the dry wall. Dad backed the truck into the front of the car while pulling down the driveway. I slept in a sweatshirt, T-shirt, sweatpants, extra socks, and boot-slippers, all wrapped up in one big blanket because my room was an icebox.

Man, it’s good to be home 🙂

This morning I woke up and I could see my breath in my room. I had forgotten that I needed to leave my door open in order to have heat circulate through it. I slept with my blinds open, because I didn’t feel paranoid about someone walking by and watching me sleep. I felt weird about not having to keep the light off out of respect for a sleeping Lin. My Bible and my journal were sitting on my bed-side table, a luxury that I missed terribly. A pale light, brightened by the presence of snow, drifted in through my blinds and lit up the room. For a moment I didn’t remember where I was, like my time in New York City had been one big dream and I had finally woken back up in my Shire.

While I was talking to God this morning, every passage I looked at was talking about God’s peace. Worries about the future, about money, about life in general have been creeping back into my thought life lately. I just need to stop making things so complicated. I’m like, “Oh my gosh, I’m so insanely worried about all of these things that may or may not ever happen and I’m practically shortening my life span with all of the worrying.” and God is just like, “Hunter, you need to calm down. Seriously. I need you to focus so I can use you. Besides, I’ve got you covered anyway.” Duh.

It’s like, I get a taste of what it’s like to be out on my own, and now I’m suddenly no longer God’s child? What? I don’t think so. Just because I change my location, meet new people, and experience new things, doesn’t mean God has changed. God never changes. He’s always with me and that will always be so. “And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20, ESV) I need to chillax.

Today is Thanksgiving Eve 🙂 traditionally, my immediate family and I have a Thanksgiving dinner today, and then tomorrow, on the actual Thanksgiving, all of the family gets together for one big celebration. After I wake up, I walk downstairs and grab food. It felt weird to not have to leave my house to get breakfast. Mom and I walked up to the post-office and then to Dollar General after I ate. The walk was slushy and cold and I found myself wondering what my city friends were doing, where they were hiking to today, who they were seeing, how they were getting along. I was really grateful, however, for having the opportunity to spend so much time with my mom. I can tell my mom everything, and I can be a total goofball around her and she still loves me 🙂

So we return from our hike and begin constructing the Thanksgiving meal. I’m thinking about all the things God has blessed me with; this past weekend, my new friends, my old friends, my family, my house, food, my life in general, and, above all, Him. I thought about the many jokes my friends have made about the sticks, how upstate is just like New York City, but with more trees. I laugh at this and continue baking a NILLA wafer turtle cream pie.

I realize how much Gracie and Jimmy have grown. Gracie has been cooking and learning new things like there’s no tomorrow. She makes me so proud. She helped cook most of the dinner with mom. I stood in the kitchen and cleaned up after them while doing homework. Thanksgiving break came, so my professors felt the need to layer on as much homework as they possibly could on top of all of my final projects. But I am a nerd. I am intelligent (well, intelligent enough). I am single. I have plenty of time. I will complete all of my assignments…will I have my sanity at the end? Probably not. But I guess I don’t really have much sanity to begin with 😀

So we’re all stuffing our faces and I’m eating a turkey wing with my hands and I feel like myself. I look like a slob, with turkey juice all over my hands and fingers and Stephen is telling all sorts of funny jokes. We’re all laughing and passing food around and cooperating and it’s like some kind of fairytale. 

Eventually, near the end of the meal, Jimmy told a corny joke. Then, Stephen told a corny joke. And I lost it.

Stephen and I both had sweet rolls in our mouths and we were laughing so hard that our faces were sanguine and I was almost falling out of my chair. After clearing the table and putting everything away, I had to sit down and be an adult and dig into my homework. I keep racking my brain to try and revise this one assignment (Critical Thinking & Writing, of course), but I just can’t figure out what my professor wants! She wants me to compare and contrast two books in relation to intertextuality, right? But then, when I got the essay back, she was wondering what I was arguing. Yet she hadn’t clearly communicated that she wanted me to make an argument…I’m just very confused as to what she wants me to write. But I will figure it out…somehow…I’m not quite sure yet, but I got this.

Later we all ate apple pie and the turtle pie I had baked earlier. Then, to end the night, we watched Snoopy Come Home and then we watched The Last Song. While I do have to do homework and still research and study like crazy for the upcoming pre-final week and eventual final week of the semester, God is still providing plenty of time and opportunity for me to hang out with my family 🙂

I’m learning that, even though I am a writer, even though I love words, sometimes words just aren’t enough. “When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.” (Proverbs 10:19, ESV). “Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.” (1 John 3:18, ESV). In the book of 1 John alone, Paul uses the word writing and write about eleven times. I realize how small a number that is, but to me, it’s huge. God uses writing and words as avenues to communicate to man the greatest message ever to enter into the world, but the message itself, while it was written down, was also acted out. No words Jesus could’ve said would’ve paid the price required to save humanity. He proved His love through actions, and communicated it to the nations through words and through the actions of His children.

Yup. I love words. I love writing. I love how God communicates through writing and through the words of others. But in the end, actions, adding movement and loving motivation to the equation of spreading the gospel, is what the world will look at. I can write all the pretty verses I want, all the breathtaking, moving passages my brain could possibly come up with, but my actions are going to reflect what my words do not.

All of the words in all of my life

That could never explain and never describe

All of my love, which is nothing to hide

So I lift up my hands and I worship

I worship You.

All the Words, Kutless

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

