Worrying About The Refridgerator Melting When Springtime Comes

Based off of recent studies and in-depth experimentation based off of repetition, I would like to release this news to the public:

Sleep. Solves. Everything.

Ever since I came home, I haven’t been myself. My brain has been so inundated with so many stupid things it’s kind of embarrassing, even for me…the person who almost ran into the automatic doors at Wal Mart today. Things like worrying about money (which is totally dumb because not only am I totally set for the next semester and even into the beginning of summer, but I’m also a daughter of the King…I’m pretty sure kings have everything at the tips of their fingers…yeah, ridiculous), worrying about the future (which is also totally dumb because the future is in the future and I’m in the present…last I checked, someone in fashion doesn’t normally think about car parts and machinery, therefore someone in the present (that would be moi) shouldn’t worry about the future…also, God’s already there, in the future; He knows what’s going on. My job is to just appreciate Him in the present and let Him worry about the future…I think I can deal with that :)), and tons of other absolutely ridiculous things. I’ve also been sleeping incorrectly. It’s almost like I’ve forgotten what home is supposed to feel like. Home, my home, is usually pretty laid back. I mean, yeah, we have our problems, we’ve gotten ticked off at each other on more than a few occasions, but we love each other and we know that our home is a place where we can relax and just be. Dorm life and city life have totally flipped my brain around. The other day I wanted to go somewhere and got out my metro card, only to remember this was the Sticks and subways don’t exist here. Talk about a slap in the face.

Anyway, I spent the day Christmas shopping, and I didn’t even enjoy it! Why? Because I was being a doofus and forgetting about God’s plan for me and the fact that He’s the CEO of the miracle/plan/peace/take-care-of-people department. On top of sleeping incorrectly, I haven’t been eating right or taking care of my body. I’ve been eating a lot of sweet things including a lot of sweet tea (it’s just so good!), which is very bad because, well, sugar just isn’t good for me…ever…which is a problem, because I’m pretty sure I have more sugar than blood running through my veins. Forget sweet tooth; try sweet teeth with a few pairs of dentures to boot.

This morning, before I went shopping, I tried to do my devotions, but I couldn’t even understand what I was reading because my brain was spinning so fast. So I spent the hour drive to Utica talking to God and venting about my worries. Looking back on the day I can picture God looking at me like, “Really, Hunter? How many times have I plainly given you reassurance that I’ve got this covered? I mean, seriously; you need to chill or something.” Not that God ever tires of anything, but I don’t doubt He sometimes becomes disappointed in His children. He loves them, but just as a parent loves his children, he sometimes becomes disappointed in their decisions, even if he saw them coming.

During the day I didn’t eat anything. Another stupid idea. I ate a bagel this morning when I was getting ready to take Mom to school, but that’s it. I just felt gross again and, instead of actually doing something about it, I just let myself be a spaz and complain about it.

Yes, because complaining and worrying always fixes everything.

Despite my pathetic complaints, stupid worries, and overall ridiculousness, I did get my Christmas shopping done, and now that I finally feel like myself and can actually enjoy things instead of worrying about everything, I’m really excited to give people their gifts 🙂 I think that’s the best part about Christmas. While I know the things I give people will never be as cosmically life-changing as the gift God gave the world, I love seeing their faces when they open them. I love when I feel like I’ve gotten them something they really wanted or something I knew they’d appreciate, and then when they tear back the wrapping paper their face lights up with refreshing genuineness. Or when you give someone something they really needed and had been praying about for a long time. That’s even better, because you know that you’d been used by God, even though you were totally oblivious to it. Cool 🙂

When I came home, hungry, tired, and stressed, I went right to school and picked up my mom. The moment we got home, she told me to go take a nap. At first, I was caught off guard; I hadn’t had someone tell me to take a nap or to do something to take care of myself for a handful of months. I wasn’t sure if it was a suggestion or an actual order. I ended up sitting on the couch with my sister, confused and dazed. That’s when my mother came to me and asked me why I wasn’t upstairs, sleeping, or taking a shower and then sleeping. That time I got it. I took a shower and went upstairs to sleep. The moment my head hit the pillow, I was out.

I woke up four hours later, feeling like myself again.

Thank You, Jesus, for sleep and for moms.

The rest of the day went great, even though there weren’t that many hours left. I wasn’t irritable; I smiled; I could be quiet and not be obnoxious or loud like I have been since my homecoming; I could sit down and relax without having to think about it. So, sleep still reigns as my panacea…running and ice water are tied for second.

“Then as he lay and slept under a broom tree, suddenly an angel touched him, and said to him, “Arise and eat.” Then he looked, and there by his head was a cake baked on coals, and a jar of water. So he ate and drank, and lay down again. And the angel of the Lord came back the second time, and touched him, and said, “Arise and eat, because the journey is too great for you.” So he arose, and ate and drank; and he went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights as far as Horeb, the mountain of God.” 

1 Kings 19:5-8

 

 

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

