Unchanging

I’ve just felt like a doofus for the past couple of days.

Do you ever have spells when you feel like you never do anything right, like you’re always messing up or rubbing people the wrong way? That’s what I’ve felt like. Of course, despite the fact that this feeling can be very disheartening, I’m still God’s doofus, and nothing can change that. The thing that never changes still hasn’t changed. God still loves me. I’m still His. He’s still unchanging and absolutely true. Life is good ๐Ÿ™‚

I read some really interesting things today. First of all, I continued my difficult trek through The Abolition of Man by C.S. Lewis. While it’s much easier to read now that I’m reading it just to learn instead of to look smart, it’s still a hard read. I like how Lewis is writing through a the evaluation of a condition present in today’s society, even though he wrote this work in the 1940s. He continues to discuss man’s rather absurd struggle to create a brand new judgement of value, a new set of Traditional Values, a new Moral Law. The thing is, man can’t create a brand spankin’ new set of values without using things from the “old” or original set of values. This applies to how people in today’s society are trying to redefine what qualifies as moral or appropriate or right. They’re destroying the lines between black and white and choosing to live in a world of grey. But this is self-destructive. Living in the grey areas of life, adopting the mind set of there being no absolute truth, will cause people to feel numb, to lack a sense of orientation, to forget what is reality and what is fantasy, and that is a very dangerous place to be.

“Hunter, I think you might be taking this a little too seriously.”

Am I? Think about it. If people are so caught up in being unconventional, in creating a new sense of value and a new definition of morality, what’s to say that won’t affect those in positions of power? What if our political leaders, which I realize are not in the best standing right now with the American people, decided to reinvent the Army Creed, because it was outdated and too conventional? What if, instead of soldiers being ‘disciplined, physically and mentally tough, trained and proficient in warrior tasks and drills,’ the government instead required our military men to be transient, to do whatever they felt was right, to just do what they could do to get by in the area of requirements and qualifications? I realize this seems extreme, but if this reinvention is pursued, it will result in self-destruction. Not because C.S. Lewis said so, but because Jesus Christ says so in God’s word; God, the One who created the axioms of humanity, the moral premisses of life (John 1:1-4). Without seeing the Truth of God, without seeing it as absolute (which it is), we ultimately are setting ourselves up for destruction and denying ourselves the one opportunity we’ve been given for salvation. Being without God, living without Him, regardless of how happy you feel, is self-destructive.

I’m still trying to understand God’s word, the hard things it teaches, the things I wish I knew more about and the questions I wish I could ask. I’ll never know everything, and I’m certainly a long way away from it, but that’s all part of the adventure I suppose ๐Ÿ™‚

I also read an interesting article concerning Pope Francis. Now, I’m not a scholar of Catholicism or of the dynamics of the Roman Catholic Church, but I do know this: Catholicism is a works based religion, which means you can get to heaven by your good works, by living a good life. This religion also believes in Purgatory, the place between Heaven and hell, where one waits to be prayed into Heaven by those who are still living. There’s also a veneration of the Virgin Mary, where she reigns as equal with God. First of all, Catholicism is not Christianity; I want to make that clear. While society does put Catholicism under the “umbrella” of Christianity, Christianity, while technically undefinable, is based off of salvation by grace and faith alone; good works are the fruits of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22), the proof that God can change anyone and has changed you (John 13:35). Purgatory, while Abraham’s Bosom or Sheol (which are similar though not identical to the idea of Purgatory) was talked about in the Old Testament, does not exist, because it would imply that man would have to rely on other men to get into Heaven, which is not the case (2 Corinthians 5:1-5). Considering how often humans mess up, I’m really really really glad I don’t have to rely on others to pray me into Heaven. As far as the Virgin Mary is concerned, though she certainly played an important part in Jesus’ earthly ministry and God’s plan for humanity, she is not equal with God; no human except Jesus Christ when He was mortal is/was equal with God (Isaiah 45:5, Philippians 2:5).

I read an article about Pope Francis, about the changes coming about in the Catholic Church. Now, when I first read this article, I was shocked, nervous, and I’m pretty sure I went a little Revelation crazy for a second or two. But then my Pastor pointed me to it’s source. After some digging around and pastoral guidance, I discovered that, while much of it is relatively accurate, the article itself is greatly biased and over-exaggerated. I haven’t been following the Pope, not closely, that is, but considering his reputation and how he sometimes appears to say one thing but mean another makes me wonder if I shouldn’t keep an eye on his movement through the world, his influence exerted on the Catholic system. We’ll see.

So, there’s a thing in my life that requires a miracle to happen. I’ve prayed and prayed and prayed and I can’t help but get impatient and frustrated about the results not happening immediately. It makes me wonder if I’m the exception as far as miracles are concerned; I just don’t deserve a miracle. But then it’s like, “Hunter, stop being a stooge-face; you’re basically saying you’re too much for God to handle.” Wow; that’s thinking pretty highly of myself if I’m saying I’m too much for God. But I’m not; God is a pro at working miracles, the only pro in His field. What about when Abraham and Sarah were supposed to have a child when they were insanely elderly? What about when Moses was trying to cross the Red Sea while being chased by the entire Egyptian army?

“But those were in the Old Testament.”

But God hasn’t changed. God is still a God of miracles. God is still a God of love, of understanding, of growth, of justice. God has got this under control, even if I can’t see it and even if I don’t totally believe it right now. I have a lot of doubt concerning this thing…I have a lot of discouragement sitting on my shoulders. But that doesn’t mean God is any less reliable; that doesn’t mean God can’t work a miracle.

“How quickly we forget God’s great deliverances in our lives. How easily we take for granted the miracles He performed in our past.”

—David Wilkerson

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

