Many Treasures

I had a dream in which I learned how to play acoustic guitar. When I woke up this morning and tried to play, it didn’t work.

Bummer.

My time with God this morning was really cool 🙂 In Matthew chapter 22, verses 23-28, the Sadducees, in one last attempt to trip up the Son of God, ask Jesus a question concerning resurrection. This passage, like many others comes with a bit of history. The Sadducees are referring to a levirate law located in Deuteronomy 25:1-5. The law states that if a man should die before he has any children with his wife, then his brother shall take the deceased man’s wife as his own, so that the family name will live on and ‘preserve’ the dead man on earth, in a weird form of immortality.

The thing is, the Sadducees don’t actually believe in resurrection, so asking a question concerning resurrection is their way of making fun of it. Their question is this: if a man dies and widows his wife, but all of his seven brothers after each taking his wife also die until finally the woman dies, who in their resurrection will have her as his wife, since all of them were married to her at one point in time? This question, I think, is similar to pointless questions (as in, the asker isn’t really looking to be proven wrong, or to be answered really, but rather they’re straying from the most important subject: salvation) that so many unbelievers baffle Christians with in religious arguments. The problem Christians get caught up in when trying to win someone over to Christ is trying to answer all of these side questions rather than focusing on the ‘blood’ issues like salvation, prayer, and establishing and maintaining a growing relationship with God. If you’re talking to someone about God and they bring up this kind of a question, even if you know the answer to it, stay on topic. If you’re talking about salvation and the person you’re talking to brings up a question about evolution, bring them back to the original subject. I’m not saying questions about other things aren’t important, but they’re significantly less important than the one thing that reconciles humanity with God.

Just a thought.

Isaiah chapter 22 was a whole different story. The people of Jerusalem are exhibiting the biblical form of YOLO: “Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die” (Isaiah 22:13). The authority that is placed over Jerusalem will fall..actually, God will “hurl you (Shebna, the authority) away violently, O you strong man. He will seize firm hold on you and whirl you around and around, and throw you like a ball into a wide land” (17,18).

“Wait a minute; how can you describe God as this wonderful, kind, friendly, and loving deity when He’s done stuff like this?”

You know what, I honestly don’t know. I have yet to form a clear conclusion about the Old Testament God vs. the New Testament God. All I know is that they’re the same, and God hasn’t changed since before the beginning of time. I know that might not be a good enough answer for you, but I won’t lie, I don’t have all the answers and I never will. Hey, I’m still technically a kid, so I have even fewer answers than most people reading this. I know that God has answers though, and that a lot of the answers are either found in His word, in spending time with Him, or they’re kept from humanity, just because we can’t handle them.

Concerning the Old Testament God vs. the New Testament God, I would say, loosely, because I’m still studying and forming my own thoughts on this, that it’s similar to a father disciplining his child compared to the same father talking to his child when the child is no longer in infancy, but rather in adulthood. My mother and father disciplined me like crazy when I was little, mostly because I was a brat and needed to be disciplined. Looking back, I’m so glad they disciplined me as much as they did, because I’ve learned to respect people, to control my mouth as best I can, to try to be selfless and to exercise self-discipline, since I’m too old to be disciplined by them. I think that’s what God was doing during the entire Old Testament. Adam and Eve had fallen, therefore all of humanity fell with them, since they were the first man and woman. God spent the entire rest of the Old Testament disciplining His children, though not without blessings as all childhoods should hold, in hopes that when we were reconciled to Him in the New Testament, when we were finally adults, we would understand why He did what He did, just like we should live every day of our lives. We don’t know why God does what He does, or even how, but we know it’s for a good reason and that someday we’ll know.

I’m not sure if that’s the right analysis, but like I said, I’m stilling forming thoughts, still learning, still studying.

After completing my devotions and writing in my journal, I got dressed for the day, traveled down to the kitchen and washed the dishes, started the laundry, and a bunch of other random things. I gave Zorro and Happy (Pomeranian) baths and packed lunches and snacks for tonight: we were going to Deposit to watch Jimmy’s wrestling match.

Gracie, Mom, and I headed over to Deposit, following my father, who was driving the school van with Jimmy and the other wrestlers. At the beginning of the tournament, Gracie and I butted heads. I’m not entirely sure why, but lately I’ve been a tad bit overemotional…about pretty much everything. So Gracie and I have been tense a lot more than usual. I still love my sister, of course, I think we’re just, at this point, too much alike.

Jimmy won his first match but lost the next two. I was yelling and screaming from the stands and when I sat down (since I had stood up out of excitement) Grace and Mom gave me some weird looks and smiled at me. I can’t help it: wrestling is exciting 🙂 I learned that a wrestling tournament is not the place to read The Abolition of Man, but I got through part of it and understood that part regardless. On the way home, after getting in from the cold air of the night, the three of us stopped at McDonalds and I treated everyone to food.

Oh, I would like to inform the internet that I have an interview for a job. Yep, that’s right. It’s like when I just let go of everything and I decided to let God provide for me and applied for the job just to have experience, everything worked out…go figure. Anyway, hopefully it’ll go well and I’ll become a Campus Tour Guide…but that’ll be an entirely different adventure, now won’t it? 🙂

The night ended without a climax. But that’s okay; after all the crazy things that my family has been through, it’s nice when we have normal nights 🙂 nights when all of us are together. Despite all of everything, all of the butting of heads, the problems, the battles, even the blessings, I love my family. God has seriously blessed me in that area along with many others. Because of God and His giving me my family, my home, my community, I’m able to go out into the world, knowing that I have a place to come back to.

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”    —Matthew 6:21, NIV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

