A Box Of Boxes

The first day back was amazing.

When I woke up this morning, it was to my mother patting me on the shoulder at 6:40, telling me we were leaving right at that moment. As I jumped out of bed to throw my belongings together, I felt like I had done this before…

” I reach over to my iPod and start scrolling through all of everything when I come upon a message from my mother:

“Hunter, the weather has changed and the storm is coming to both of us tomorrow. I’m coming to pick you up today. We’ll be there around noon.”

It was eleven.

I jumped out of bed faster than Santa Claus downing 800 gingerbread men at a Christmas cookie-eating contest. I spun about my room in a whirlwind, ripping my suitcase out of my closet, yanking a duffel bag out from under my bed, throwing clothes and jewelry and books every which way. During this chaos I was also brushing my hair, trying to get changed, and, of course, running into things, falling over myself, and making weird noises like “meahhhhaa!” and “gabafugummumum.”

…right.

Anyway, after cleaning and packing up, saying goodbyes, and making myself look less like a zombie and more like a girl, we headed off to the Big Apple. Saying goodbye to my Aunt Joan, my grandma, and my family, was much more difficult than I thought it would be…I miss them already. But I know God can take care of them without my input…it’s just, ya know.

The drive to the City was beautiful. God made the sun shine just for us. Mom and I talked most of the time, about what God is doing, what God has done, and what the future holds. That’s when the skyline came up, and everything stopped.

It’s odd; I thought it wouldn’t phase me, the magnificence of New York City, the tall buildings, the sunlight glinting off of store windows, since I’d been living there for a while. But it was still amazing, and I couldn’t help but smile.

Bringing my bags into my dorm with one side of the room being completely empty was a little daunting, a little scary, a little lonely. Despite this intimidation, I was confident God would keep me company…He always has.

I took Mom and Gracie to the cafeteria for lunch. Afterwards, I packed my ski bag and overnight bag and headed to the church. I wasn’t staying at the dorm. For the weekend, I’m staying with a few wonderful ladies from church. I walked into the church, where Maria, Dina, Jenny, and all of my other friends were going about a normal day.

I brought in my ski bag and said my final goodbye to Mom and Gracie. Then, it was nothing but “hellos” from that moment on. It was nice to catch up with everyone and to see how things had changed. I went out for P.E. with all the girls and with Dina, watching them play soccer. It was so refreshing to walk out onto the field and be greeted by “Hunter!! You’re back!!” And hugged by so many of the girls. I felt very loved 🙂

School ended, I dropped my bag off at the house, and Dina and I ventured out to run some errands. We had to go to a FedEx on 3rd Avenue. What we didn’t realize was just how sketchy that area of Brooklyn was. As we stepped through dark patches and over broken glass, we continually observed the sketchiness of where we were. Despite the circumstances, I knew God was protecting us. Dina told me she had been planning on walking the trek to this FedEx alone. As I looked around, I realized what a God thing it was that she decided to go when I was with her.

We arrived at the FedEx to be given a very large package. Dina decided to open it and then re-tape it to carry it home. As we opened the package, we weren’t quite sure what to expect, but we DEFINITELY did not expect what was actually in the box:

More boxes.

Apparently Dina is part of the online FedEx thing, and they sent her a few free boxes in the mail, because you have to pay for the boxes you use to ship things.

Yep. We had risked our lives, trekking through the darker parts of Brooklyn, to get a box of boxes. Yeah.

Later on, when we had made it home and were getting dinner, we laughed about it. Dina and I had really great conversations; we talked about God, about guys, about the future, about family, and about life in general. It was a total girls’ night. We ended the night watching An Extremely Goofy Movie.

It’s amazing how, despite my nervousness about the second semester and the job interview and skiing and a whole other lot of nonsense, God gave me great Christian friends who encourage me and remind me where my focus is supposed to be. Tomorrow I have to get up ridiculously early and get ready to ski my legs off. Thank You, Jesus, for life 🙂

“He (God) has made everything beautiful in it’s time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.” —Ecclesiastes 3:11, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

