Set Up To Win

Skiing makes you sore…or soar, depending on your perspective.

This morning was wonderful. I woke up and God had blessed me with the air mattress I had slept on remaining inflated throughout the night, Dina’s hospitality in giving me warm blankets, and comfortable clothes to sleep in. When I was talking to Him, I took a moment to thank Him for things I love: I thanked Him for orange juice, for hot showers, for sunshine, for the little things. It was then I remembered how much God cares for me, how He shows me He loves me in all the little things I don’t actually need but He wants to give me anyway. Yeah πŸ™‚

Church was refreshing. I saw everyone I’d missed for a month and learned much. After the morning service, I was talking to Dina when I heard someone screaming my name repeatedly. I looked up and saw Charlene hopping up and down. I proceeded to freak out and we had a dramatic movie moment where it was run-super-excitedly-while-jumping-up-and-down-and-hug-very-gracefully.

I really missed her πŸ™‚

This morning’s service was really cool. Pastor talked about what it means to be in a covenant relationship, reminding us that God has already fulfilled His part of the contract and then some; He’s fulfilling it every day, whether we’re bringing up our end or not. That’s what it means to be in a covenant relationship. It doesn’t depend on what the other person is doing, but rather that each person is willing to keep their side of the contract regardless of the faithfulness of the other person. Wow.

This concept reminded me of the commitment God shows in my relationship with Him and the frivolousness exercised on my part. But even though I act this way, whether it be my thought life or my physical life, God is in it for the long haul. Knowing this is something I can lean on, and embracing this makes loving Him sacrificially and wholeheartedly not only easy but also very fun, inspiring, adventurous, and beautiful. And people say being a Christian is boring.

Between services, Rebecca, Grace, Debbie (a girl from church who, like Emily, is slowly becoming a good friend of mine), and I all went to a cafe called Lark. This cute little hole-in-the-wall place (though I suppose every place in the City that’s not part of a chain restaurant is technically considered a hole-in-the-wall place, but that’s completely beside the point) is a writer’s cafe that serves things like vanilla chai, chamomile, pesto grilled cheese, and blueberry muffins with pecans and streusel tops. We sat there with our tea and our snacks, telling stories and discussing weddings, Pinterest, and other silly things. It was nice πŸ™‚

After the afternoon service, I was invited to go out to dinner with Rebecca, Jenny, and Grace to a restaurant called the Brooklyn Commune. We were meeting Rebecca at the restaurant around six so we had some time to kill. Jenny, Grace, and I went to Grace’s apartment and watched half of A Roman Holiday with Audrey Hepburn. I personally love Audrey Hepburn and very much appreciate black and white movies, so I was super excited.

Around 6:15 we head out. Rebecca had texted us to say she’d be a little late. We arrived at the restaurant and I noted that, like Lark, it was also a hole-in-the-wall place. The table we sat at was an old sewing table with a pump and everything; plaques of past menus and recognitions hung from the Tuscan gold walls; white cloth napkins and candles set the mood.

Rebecca came as we were munching on some of the tastiest bread I’ve yet had in the City. One look at the menu and I suddenly wondered why dishes had to be so complicated. I ended up ordering a Greek salad, roast duck linguine, and milk and cookies for dessert. I know it sounds expensive (which, if I hadn’t taken the 3-course combination, it really would’ve been) but it really wasn’t. The Greek salad was amazing. The colors and strips of cucumber were what caught my attention. The figs, however, turned me off. Though I am not necessarily a picky eater, figs (which I’ve had before) are one of the few things that I just can’t stand the taste of. The main course, the roast duck linguine, tasted…well, it just didn’t taste like I thought it would. I guess I need to expand my palate in baby steps instead of launching myself into these kinds of situation. The milk and cookies fixed everything though; they were comfortable, familiar, and delicious.

Tonight I was planning on having dinner and then heading back to my dorm. At this point, however, I was getting nervous. It was growing late and it had already become very dark outside. I would have to go back alone, carrying leftovers and my obnoxious duffel bag, but I didn’t want to ask if I could stay another night because I felt like I was becoming a burden.

When I asked Grace what time it was, I asked if we could leave, since I needed to go back to the dorm (not needed, but had planned to). Rebecca asked why I couldn’t just sleepover again but with them this time. I told her how I had felt like a burden. She gave me a look that said, “Really, Hunter? Really?” Needless to say, I was invited to stay over one more night.

God: 2 Hunter: 0

That’s when we were brought what’s called a French Press. This contraption is a coffee pot of sorts that separates the grounds from the water after you let the coffee steep and grow strong. Did I drink from the French Press? Yes, I did. Did I enjoy my cup of coffee?

Yes. I did.

This was the first cup of coffee I’ve ever drank that I’ve actually enjoyed. The weird thing? It made me tired. From what I’ve heard, that’s not supposed to happen when you drink coffee, at least not normally. Anyway, I really liked it πŸ™‚ not saying I’m now a coffee fanatic or that I’ll drink coffee on a regular basis, but it was enjoyable.

We ended the night walking back to Dina’s shared house with Rebecca, Jenny, and a number of other ladies from church. The three of us (Jenny, Rebecca, and I) talked about society, about God, about guys, and about sin and how Christians can destroy the stereotypes that surround them by knowing God’s word and communicating it accurately.

The entire day, from early in the morning to late at night until present time, my neck and shoulders have ached and burned, especially behind my ears. I can’t believe skiing would make my upper body be in so much pain. Despite my pain, it was totally worth it. I love skiing πŸ™‚

Tuesday I have an interview for an on-campus job. I’m getting kind of nervous; I’ve never had a job interview. I’ve only ever done volunteer work, never a real job where I had to have an interview and file tax returns, and clock in, etc. This is all very new to me. Whether or not I get the job, however, is entirely up to God. If this is His will for me, it’s going to happen; if not, then it won’t. I know getting a job during college may seem like no big deal, but even if it seems that way, it’s still part of God’s plan for me; He’ll still use it. Just pray for the interview, that it goes well.

Melinda, Pastor’s wife, is starting a women’s Bible study, and guess who’s written the curriculum? Beth Moore! This is her Breaking Free study, and I can’t wait to begin it. It’s as if, through this study, the job interview, the further establishment of relationships, God is setting me up for this next semester. He’s placing people, studies, things in my way so I have the opportunity to grow in Him, to continue my pursuit of improving my defense so my offense will be stronger.

He’s setting me up to win.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Set Up To Win

  1. bexbella says:

    Your friend Rebecca is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

    Like

  2. DuVall, Elizabeth says:

    Hunter,

    Already prayed for your interview…

    You are going to love this study. This is the one that on the first night, I gave up soda (Coke to be specific). I believe that was 2009. I hope it is helpful to you in a huge way as well.

    Love you and have a great first day of classes.

    Mom

    ________________________________ De : Soft Clay Envoyι : lundi 20 janvier 2014 00:26 ΐ : DuVall, Elizabeth Objet : [New post] Set Up To Win

    newminority16 posted: “Skiing makes you sore…or soar, depending on your perspective. This morning was wonderful. I woke up and God had blessed me with the air mattress I had slept on remaining inflated throughout the night, Dina’s hospitality in giving me warm blankets, and”

    Like

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

