Anticipating the Low Points

“I’m not scared…it was just monsters…all around me…big brawly monsters!”

*Obnoxious crash as Bob and Larry fall through the ceiling*

“Ah! Who are you?”

“I’m Bob, and I’m a tomato.”

Watching Veggie Tales makes me wonder why kids dislike vegetables so much. I love vegetables; I even loved vegetables when I was young enough for Veggie Tales. This particular episode I watched was Where’s God When I’m Scared? While I get that there aren’t actually any monsters in my closet (a truth I’ve known for quite some time), there are monsters in my life that scare me very much, just like darkness and Franken-Celery scared the carrots out of Junior Asparagus.

Also, I never realized that the wise men who are under King Darius (Archibald the Asparagus) are shallots…or green onions…or leeks…something like that. All of my cooking savvy people would be ashamed of me.

The monsters in my life, though they’re much more real and much more eminent and much more mature, are still smaller than God is. Today, I was reminded of how weird and twisted Satan is, what he uses to try and trip me up. Today he tried to suggest I start smoking, which he’s used before. I wondered for a moment if he knew how absolutely terrible that would be, not only for my body, but for my finances, and then I decided of course he does, otherwise he wouldn’t want me to do it. Satan uses two things: he uses things that don’t resonate with you at all; they don’t tempt you one bit. For me that’s things like smoking and watching crude movies. But on the other hand he uses things that really, really tempt you, like food and people. The cool thing that comes out of all this? While you can be totally sure Satan will always be there to tempt you, you can be even more sure of God being there to fight him off.

How does this relate to monsters? Well, how often when we feel afraid do we feel vulnerable? How often in times of stress or in places of fear, do we tend to fall into bad habits that we thought we’d kicked forever and a day ago? It’s just too easy, especially since we’re weak, fickle, needy, and overemotional humans. So when our monsters come, when obstacles rear their ugly heads and snap at our heels, Satan is right there waiting to trip us up with our past, but God is right there ready to push us towards our future.

This was the revelation of the day. This morning, since I had no morning classes, I was going to get up early and go work out. 8:00am comes; I shut off my alarm, deciding to sleep for another hour or so. 9:00 am comes around; I shut off my alarm again, figuring I don’t have to get ready for lunch with Charlene until about eleven. I prayed last night for God to help me be healthy and stay active…well, God never does anything half-way. At 10:00am, the fire alarm went off and you can bet I was out of bed quicker than Michael Phelps gliding through water. But the alarm didn’t go off completely; as I pulled my sneakers and jacket on, it stopped ringing. Then, as I began to take my sneakers off, it started again. By the time it really stopped, there was no getting back into bed.

God: 1     Hunter: 0

Needless to say, I went and had a fantastic work out that made me feel really great.

When I came back after the work out and sat down with my Bible, I talked to God about idols. Now, I’m sure most of you have heard of the thing about while idols in the Bible are mostly referred to as gold and silver statues, we all have our “idols” in present day. Well, lately I’ve been feeling like there’s something between me and God and couldn’t figure out what it was until last night as I was trying to fall asleep. This morning during my work out I watched/listened to Andy Stanley’s sermon on appetites and how our inward desires and emotions are always yelling for us to get what we want now and in the greatest quantity possible; we always want more. This just solidified my conclusion: I had replaced God with a person, with a vision for my life.

I’m not going to say who the person or what the plan was, but I am going to say that I felt really stupid when I realized what I was doing. What I read about idols was this:

“We know that ‘an idol has no real existence,’ and that ‘there is no God but one.’ For although there may be so-called gods in heaven or on earth—as indeed there are many “gods” and many “lords”—yet for us there is one God, the Father, from whom are all things and for whom we exist, and one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom are all things and through whom we exist.” 1 Corinthians 8:4-6, ESV.

Oooooohhhhh. I just feel like an idiot for letting myself slip into that. God is the only way I’m going to make it through college and maintain who I am; He’s the only way I’m ever going to experience anything worth experiencing. For me to shirk Him for someone else is kind of pathetic. At this point, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m really cut out for playing the offense in my present environment, if I’m “good” enough to do what God is asking me to do, strong enough to fulfill all four years of college. I mean, this is only freshman year: if I’m messing up like this right now, at the very beginning, I have to wonder if I’ll even make it to the half way point. How can God use me if I’m doing things like this, if I’m awkward and frightened and arrogant?

I’m just such a mess…

But then I remember I’m human. I remember that I mess up, I sin, I fall over myself. I remember that I am a princess, a daughter of the King of Kings. I’m right: I am not strong enough to do this on my own. It seems like I’d forgotten that. I guess I’d thought, since the first semester seemed to fly by so quickly, the second semester would be a piece of cake. But I was so wrong. If anything, the second semester will be even more difficult, because I have to reset everything and start over again. How could I possibly think it’d be any easier, especially when Satan and the world and my own flesh is out to keep me from the love and plan and friendship of God? I have to know how to fight for this, but I also have to know when to just step back and let God fight for me. And right now, that’s what I need to do.

I’m not saying I won’t try and fail miserably to replace God again in the future, or that I’m totally cured of being tempted, of forgetting all of the truth that reminds me that I am loved, but I can say that even if I do fail, even if I completely forsake my savior, my lord, the one being in my life who has always remained the same and always been there to remind me I’m loved beyond all comprehension, the one who I can’t bear to be separated from for fear of falling with no one to catch me, it’s okay. Yes, it will be one of the stupider things I’ve done in my life, but it won’t be the end of the world. I can still find comfort in the fact that no matter what temptations I indulge or what sins I commit or what idols I bow down to, Satan will never win, and God will always reign supreme.

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anticipating the Low Points

  1. DuVall, Elizabeth says:

    Amen to all that girly; have a great day!

    ________________________________ De : Soft Clay Envoy : vendredi 24 janvier 2014 00:18 : DuVall, Elizabeth Objet : [New post] Anticipating the Low Points

    newminority16 posted: “”I’m not scared…it was just monsters…all around me…big brawly monsters!”*Obnoxious crash as Bob and Larry fall through the ceiling*”Ah! Who are you?””I’m Bob, and I’m a tomato.”Watching Veggie Tales makes me wonder why kids dislike vegetables so muc”

    Like

Leave a Reply

