When You Can’t Feel Your Legs, You’ve Had A Great Workout

Ow…ow….ow….ow….

 

Day 2 of Spartan Training and it’s only the conditioning, which is mostly running, building up muscle everywhere (arms, legs, back, etc.), core, and changing eating habits. But there is so much pain everywhere in my everything and I feel like it’s the first day of wrestling season.

 

This morning’s Bible Study was refreshing…I mean, it always is, but it was especially so today. King Hezekiah is one of my favorite people in the Bible, because he did the unexpected. His father before him, Ahaz, the King of Judah, totally ignored every desire, every will, every word of God, sacrificing his children to false gods and building altars in the temple of the Lord. God even offered him help when Ahaz found himself surrounded by enemies, but Ahaz still denied Him, and his end was bitter. 

 

You would think, considering how his father acted and ruled, Hezekiah would do the same. But he did the exact opposite. He tore down the altars and the statues and restored God’s temple and called all of his people to worship God. He brought Judah back around to where it should be. 

 

But this isn’t why Hezekiah is so cool. The reason why he’s so cool, is because, when the king of Assyria was at his front door, dissing his God and undermining his faith and threatening him with all his military forces, Hezekiah cried out to God. He didn’t call for help from a neighboring country; he didn’t curl up in a ball. He prayed. And God delivered. 

 

It’s amazing how in such a pressurized situation where the fate and freedom of Judah and Hezekiah’s very life is at stake, and he still turned to God, whereas in our daily lives we so often let mundane things rock our faith, as if they were the king of Assyria. 

 

I do that a lot, hyperbolize things in life. Today I realized my financial aid return wasn’t as big as I had hoped, which put me really short for the rest of the semester. But I applied to other jobs and I have another interview…for the school phonathon. Nope, it’s not the most glamorous job, but I’m going to count it as a blessing, because it is 🙂 The interview will be taking place over the phone, which I think is funny since it’s a phonathon job, get it, phone…hehe…

 

Ahem, anyway, yesterday I tried yoga. Now, for the longest time I never wanted to even think of doing yoga for three reasons: 1) I have no coordination and look graceful doing nothing 2) yoga is what city people do 3) yoga used to be and partially still is a way of worship for the religion of Hinduism. So with all that being said, why did I do it? Because I wanted to at least try it, and decided I wasn’t using it to worship the Hindu gods, but rather as a workout.

 

It was a workout. 

 

Image

 

Some of the moves the instructor asked us to put our bodies into made me laugh at myself as I twisted my legs and arms and whatever else every which way. Once or twice I fell over. Even more than that my body felt like it was being snapped in half, even though all I was doing was stretching it. During the times of meditation, I didn’t meditate, but rather I kept my eyes open and talked to God. 

 

This morning I woke up and my hips, shoulders, and lower back were incredibly sore and it was difficult to lift myself up. I spent most of the day doing homework, talking to people, and drinking tea. At six I went to go work out again. Afterwards I felt like I was sleep walking. My body was so absolutely drained of energy and I couldn’t hold my own head up. 

 

This usually means I had a really great workout. 

 

I was able to work on my book today, and I realized that, even though I’m going to school for writing, I don’t have much time to do my own thing, so I was extremely grateful for this time. I’m having so much fun writing it, at least for now; next week I’ll be saying I can’t stand it, that every page is an absolute abomination, that I’m an incompetent writer and can’t possibly write a novel like this. And then in the next week I’ll love it again. 

 

Ah the life of a writer.

 

It’s odd: while I’ve been mulling over what God will do with my future, what will happen, how things will work out, I never once stopped to wonder if and how He’s going to use my writing. I guess I just assumed He would. And then I have to wonder why writing? Why Pratt? But as I look back over the last couple of days especially, and even the last couple of months, I realize that God is already using my experience at Pratt, my writing, my story. Which is weird, because sometimes I get so caught up in how He’s going to use things in the future that I forget He’s active now, right now.  

 

God is using me and my actions along with the actions of others to orchestrate His grand plan of glorification, of liberty, of love. He’s placing people and brining about events and writing each page of this book of life one day at a time. And to think I’m a part of it.

 

Cool 🙂

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When You Can’t Feel Your Legs, You’ve Had A Great Workout

  1. Hannah says:

    I /love/ the passage about Hezekiah and that other king! And I hadn’t thought of applying it the way you did, so thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

