Snow Day?

It rained all day today, and the wind was enough to knock someone over. But I didn’t mind it šŸ™‚ I love the rain. It reminds me of countless football games where I was soaked to the bone but still cheering on our team and enduring with a Styrofoam cup of hot chocolate. It reminds me of sitting out on the back porch in the middle of the summer with Mom and Gracie, watching a thunderstorm roll into my little town. It reminds me of when I was last at the Brock’s when we were having a snowball fight in the middle of the church parking lot and I slipped on soaked ground a fell flat on my rear-end. The rain is amazing šŸ™‚

The gym was closed today, so I couldn’t work out. The library was also closed. And of course the weather kept everyone indoors. It was almost like God was forcing me to relax. I tried and partially succeeded šŸ™‚

I got some homework done and I was able to do my Bible Study and take my time with it. Today we learned about God’s glory. 2 Corinthians 3:17-18 says, “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”

Isn’t that so great? I’m so glad that God is transforming me into something far better than I am. It’s a constant reminder that even when I mess up or say something incredibly stupid or fall over (all three of which I do very often), He’s changing me. In Addison Road’s song “Change in the Making,” she sings, “there’s a better version of me, that I can’t quite see, but things are gonna change. Right now I’m a total mess and right now I’m completely incomplete, but things are gonna change, because You’re not through with me yet.” Can I getta amen? God who has begun a good work in me is going to go through with it until the very end of time, so I can be confident that He will always be changing me, always benefiting me in every action, always showing me how strong and mighty and loving He is, always exposing me to His glory.

I watched the third version of Pride and Prejudice I’ve seen so far, and there was this one scene where Colin Firth (playing Mr. Darcy) was shooting pool…Mr. Darcy, was playing pool. For some reason, his ruffly undershirt and paisley vest in combination with the green surface of a pool table…it was just weird. But, he was still Darcy, which took out the weirdness šŸ™‚

A bunch of my classmates from Studio last semester were having a party tonight and asked me to come. There would be alcohol there, and even though I knew not a lot of the group would be drinking, I decided not to go. It’s not that I don’t enjoy spending time with my writing people, but I just didn’t want to be around alcohol. Now, alcohol, as a rule, like most things, isn’t bad in moderation. In fact, a glass of wine every now and again has some fine health benefits. But I don’t want to put myself in the position where I would push past moderation, only because I know my own tendencies and it’s one area of life I don’t particularly want to explore. I’ll stick to Writing Major IHOP trips šŸ™‚ there’s blueberry pancakes there šŸ˜€

Shannon, one of Bree’s friends and my previous neighbor, knocked on our door saying she had lost her glasses lens outside…in the rain…and the snow. So, Bree and I slipped on our boots and our jackets and went outside to search for her lens. Bree eventually found it near one of the dumpsters behind the dormitory, and by that time our feet and toes were soaked and our jackets dripping with rain. When we got inside, we peeled off our wet clothing and hung it up to dry; I gave Bree some hot chocolate and I grabbed some tea and we sat and talked for a good two hours about Disney movies, Doctor Who, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and pretty much every other fandom out there. It was just girl talk, and it was really refreshing šŸ™‚ We even talked about God, which was REALLY refreshing šŸ™‚

I’m so thankful that God gave me Bree as a roommate. I’m so glad I have someone else in the room, someone to talk to.

Tomorrow, for Valentine’s Day, Charlene and I are going to Waza, because we are single, and we can šŸ˜€ Then, because I don’t want to be in the dorms during Valentine’s Day weekend for obvious reasons, I’m going to spend the weekend with Jenny and go to a Valentine’s Day Party with a bunch of the ladies. It’s going to be awesome! šŸ˜€

Wow, I really needed today off. I love how God knows exactly what I need when I need it. I love how He knows me šŸ™‚

“What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love Him.” —1 Corinthians 2:9, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

