All the Single Ladies

Well, couples, singles, people who are sort of somewhere in between, Valentine’s Day has come to an end. It’s odd: I used to be really bitter about Valentine’s Day, but then I realized that I didn’t have to celebrate romantic love on this day, but rather I could celebrate my friendships…and that’s just what I did πŸ™‚

I woke up and did my devotions and thoroughly enjoyed spending my time with God. Beth Moore had us looking into being satisfied through Jesus Christ and our relationship with Him. One question she posed was “Is your soul entirely satisfied by Christ?” I had to sit back for a moment and think. First I had to define what I thought satisfaction meant. I decided it meant, “being fulfilled, completed, or refreshed and relieved by something continuously; not experiencing want to craving.” Then I looked back to see how my life had been playing out for past year or so, and in every situation I thought things were too grim to change, Jesus did satisfy my craving for hope. At first I didn’t want to say ‘yes,’ because there are always times when I seek to find satisfaction somewhere else even though I know I won’t find it, and there’s always progress to be made, but then I decided it was true: Jesus is the only thing that always satisfies me completely, leaving me wanting for nothing. The only time I ever feel wanting, is when I look for satisfaction somewhere else.

The more I study God’s word through the lens of this study, the more I find the Bible lays out God’s will for me right before my eyes. I’m not saying it’s plain and clear what exactly is going to happen, but I know it’s His will for me to grow in Him, to know and understand and believe Him, to be loved by Him, and to be satisfied by Him. It’s so comforting and reassuring to know the God of the universe has this kind of a plan for me.

Charlene and I met for lunch and the weather was beautiful. We walked to Waza under sunshine and warmer (it was still a little chilly) temperature. Charlene ordered I type of veggie roll with spicy mayo and both of us ordered ramen. When we were finished she asked me if I wanted to try some mochi. She explained that it was just Japanese ice-cream. I agreed, totally up for trying anything πŸ™‚

When the waitress brought it out, however, I began to question my decision. On the white plate sat a deep-fried ball of something on fire. It was on fire.

“The ice-cream is on the inside.” Charlene said, breaking open her deep-fried ice-cream ball.

“Charlene, my ice-cream is on fire…..I’m pretty sure this goes against the laws of nature.”

After BLOWING OUT MY ICE-CREAM I broke open the cocoon of deep-friedness and stuck my spoon into the green tea ice-cream inside; it was still cold and hard and tasted exactly like drinking a cup of green tea. It was weird.

When I returned, I gathered all of my things together and went to the library for a while to do homework and experience a change of scenery from the four walls of my dorm room.

Later on I walked back to my dorm, packed my things, and headed to church to meet up with Jenny. When I arrived, her and I went out front and spent a good half hour building a snowman. It was a lot of fun πŸ˜€

We then trekked through soaked-to-the-bone New York City streets to go to a pizza place for dinner. I got a grilled chicken Caesar salad with balsamic vinegar, and it was delicious and filling. A salad was filling for me…I’m pretty sure that also goes against the laws of nature.

It was so refreshing to have my meals with my Christian ladies πŸ™‚ I just love how natural it is to talk about God and what I’m learning and how I’m learning it. I feel very much more like myself πŸ™‚ In fact, I feel more like myself in general. I don’t know what made the difference, but I’ve definitely recovered from my overwhelmed state. God’s brought me back again πŸ™‚ He is the ultimate stabilizer, I have to remember.

Jenny and I went to her house and watched a movie titled Meant to Be. It was all about abortion and how God has a plan for both the mother and the baby and that regardless of the circumstances, that child deserves a chance. It’s still a life, a beating heart, not just a blob of tissue. I would highly recommend it to any girls who’ve had an abortion or are considering having one. I know it’s a touchy subject, but trust me on this one.

After that movie we watched a couple of others and baked chocolate chip cookies at ten at night. Adham said he wanted some so Jenny and I met him on the street while he was walking Athena, Edward’s husky. We had a funny conversation, and thankfully it wasn’t too cold outside.

Jenny and I returned and sat around with mugs of tea, talking about how God has worked in our lives and how He’s going to work and is working in our lives. It was nice πŸ™‚ Sometimes it takes you telling someone about God working in your life for you to see how much He’s done. That’s what tonight was like, and I was reminded of how blessed I am, despite everything.

So Valentine’s Day in one word was sweet πŸ™‚ Tomorrow a bunch of the single church ladies are getting together for a post-Valentine’s Day party. It should be awesome πŸ˜€ hope all of you, whether you have a man or woman or if you’re single, had a wonderful time, and I hope (because I live in the 18th Century) you acted like ladies and gentlemen and that romance was celebrated as pure and innocent as it is, or as it should be. Just remember you don’t have to wait for February 14th to celebrate it again πŸ™‚

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All the Single Ladies

  1. starwarsfreak117 says:

    I was in Wegmans and the Cashier said he called it “Independence Day” and I laughed the whole way home. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. DuVall, Elizabeth says:

    Hunter,

    You’re on a roll.

    Mom

    ________________________________ De : Soft Clay Envoyι : samedi 15 fιvrier 2014 02:38 ΐ : DuVall, Elizabeth Objet : [New post] All the Single Ladies

    newminority16 posted: “Well, couples, singles, people who are sort of somewhere in between, Valentine’s Day has come to an end. It’s odd: I used to be really bitter about Valentine’s Day, but then I realized that I didn’t have to celebrate romantic love on this day, but rather “

    Like

Leave a Reply

