Just Beneath the Surface

I’m pretty sure I am responsible for my dorm’s present mouse problem.

Last night, I heard something rummaging around in the top of Bree’s closet while she was out of the room. I cautiously opened her closet door and hit the shelf a few times, but nothing happened. I decided to wait until she came back.

When she did return, I told her about what I’d heard and we went ahead and investigated. Turns out Cedric somehow got to the top shelf of her closet and had eaten some of her food and gone to the bathroom all over the place, including on her sheets. When I went and checked my food stash, I saw that a bag of rice had a couple of suspicious holes in it and I discovered some feces, but nothing else was damaged. I know what you’re all thinking: “Hunter, you should’ve just left the traps and let the mouse die,” “Hunter, mice are pests if they’re not in a cage,” “Hunter, what were you thinking?”

Yeah, yeah, yeah.

Anyway, something is going to have to be done. There is more than one mouse now, possibly a litter of babies running about.

Lesson learned.

Today was really nice. Though I was tired, God got me up to spend a lot of time in His word. I finished reading the book of Mark today. Mark is a fascinating book…I don’t know if I can say this, but I think my favorite gospel so far is the book of John. Mark, while it is assumed infallible by its share of the sovereignty of the Bible, doesn’t contain as many specific details about Jesus life on earth as the other gospels. Also (and I feel rather sheepish about not knowing this before hand) Mark was not a disciple, but rather Peter’s scribe, a writer who documented Peter’s time with Christ. I love learning new things about the Bible 🙂 the best thing is that I’m ALWAYS learning new things about God’s word and through application of His word to my life. Studying the Bible is an adventure in itself. The best thing is that it’s all true and it’s so much fun! 😀

I dressed comfortably and went to World Literature. Today we talked about Rousseau. It’s amazing how paranoid he became and how much he pushed for self-discovery and self-worship, claiming that the individual is God. The moral theories introduced through his work include the concept of humans being innately good only to be corrupted by societal factors, morality becoming part of political theory, and the destruction of hierarchy. I guess my deal is first of all, all men are innately sinful. Because of Adam’s sin, all of humanity conceived after him were/are conceived in sin, not that the conception itself is sinful, but rather that the child is born into sin, whether it’s born into a wealthy upper class family or an impoverished family. Second of all, humans are the ones who create the systems of society in the first place, so the systems of society can’t be seen as corrupt without looking at their creators as corrupt. Mmmmmmmmhm.

I spent a lot of today in the library. I had a meeting with my Critical Thinking & Writing professor today where I had to present an argument via written proposal off of which to base my upcoming paper. My basic idea is that language, as discussed and analyzed by Judith Butler and embraced by Martin Luther King Jr., exhibits a certain level of power. Where does that power come from? Also, is there morality behind interpellation? If so (which I believe there is) how is it different or similar in different contexts? It’s all a big mess of big words and small concepts, and I have to wonder if discussing language and its effect on humanity takes away the mystery of it all.

This is why I will never be a critical theorist.

At the Prattler, Priscilla and I talked some more about what we believe and such. We’re both pretty old-fashioned; her father is a pastor. She was really glad she met me and I couldn’t begin to express how encouraged I was to know there was another Christian on staff. I had to express the progress of my Creation v. Evolution article to the editors and advisers. I knew Shawn didn’t particularly care for what I had to say, but I said it anyway. Most people when I ask them what they believe and why, answer that for practical and realistic purposes, they believe in evolution, most of them saying “there’s evidence” and not really expounding on what they mean by that, but then saying that personally they would like to think the Creation account in Genesis is real. When I explained that to the Prattler people, a few of them scoffed and some of them raised their eyebrows. I explained how I’d defined my terms and let the interviewees know exactly what I was asking.

It’s interesting that, even though most of these students have been drilled with the theory of evolution, being taught, despite it only being a theory, that it is the most acceptable theory of creation present, most of them desire something much more. When I ask people what they believe, I can see that they want to hope, I can see that they crave something more than what society is feeding them.

Prattler ended; I grabbed dinner and then headed back to my dorm to start in on my homework…which seems to be an infinite amount. At one point, I stopped and watched Bree’s Italian Cinema assignment with her, because my brain had decided to check out for about fifteen minutes or so. God arranged it so I don’t have any classes tomorrow, which means I can get all my homework done tomorrow and on Friday, so that I can visit Leah on Saturday. Yes! I’m visiting Leah! 😀 Her college sends a group of students to Astoria, Queens, as part of a community outreach (or that’s what it sounds like) and I’m going to head up there to help out during the day 🙂 I can’t wait!

I guess today’s thing was that there are false teachers in the world and it’s important that I know how to locate them and separate what they’re teaching from the truth of God’s word. I know that sounds totally medieval, but don’t forget the spiritual battle going on beneath the surface of day-to-day life. It’s real, and it’s happening.

Even during World Literature, especially so, I’ve been trying to see what I can accept and what I need to reject. I picked up Saving Leonardo again, and reading that, exercising my brain, made me more aware of what the underlying doctrine of society actually is. It’s important that I understand just how deep falsity and corruption take root in the world around me, in order that I can react and act upon what teachings arise before me. God has done a more than efficient job of making sure I have everything I need to differentiate between what’s true and what’s false, to protect my thoughts and my heart from things that aren’t part of His plan. All I have to do, is put on the armor 🙂

“Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.” —Ephesians 6:13, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

