Free Coffee

I have absolutely no idea how to write this Creation v. Evolution article. No clue. I have all of the research done, all the interviews and opinions needed, all the means and the time…but I just don’t know how to put it all together. This is a bummer.

But today when I was talking to Leah, she reminded me of when I had to write my valedictorian speech. I had begun to write it, wasn’t happy with it, and decided to let God write it through me, since my vocabulary and writing skills were failing me and proved to be unfit for the task. I needed something much more balanced and attractive, and that was God’s influence. Surely enough, a few days before the speech needed to be turned in to the B.O.E. for editing and approval, I had been listening to music and working on my novel, when God nudged me to stop what I was doing and work on my speech. What I wrote then was what I recited and delivered at my graduation, and it was phenomenal. The best part? I didn’t have anything to do with it; it was all God. So I will be waiting, and until God does what God does best, which is blow me away with everything He is, I’ll be working on everything else.

“those who wait for Me shall not be put to shame.” Isaiah 49:23c, ESV

Last night was miserable. For some reason, the heat in the dorm had been turned up to max and I was drenched in sweat and couldn’t fall asleep. At one point, Bree and I were both wide awake.

“Is it just me or is it like an oven in here?”

“It’s so warm in here….you wanna open the window?”

“Yes please!”

So we opened the window wide and let the cool air in. Can I just say how grateful I am that God gave me a roommate who I can get along with? It’s such a blessing. While we don’t believe the same things, our minds are very alike and we’re really friends instead of just dealing with the fact that we’re roommates. A lot of people in the dorms feel like they’re just dealing with each other. I’m so blessed.

Eventually I went to sleep and woke up at seven to get ready to go meet up with Leah. This morning I read Isaiah 49. I love the description of Jesus being a polished arrow (v. 2). It reminded me of Matthew 10:34-39, about how Jesus brought not peace to the earth, but a sword.

“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

Wow. That’s a really hard passage.

Now, I want to clear something up before anything else goes down. Jesus’ aim is not to destroy the family system. Ultimately, He wants to bring people closer to Him, which enables people to love others, which brings people closer to each other. Jesus’ coming, however, did cause a lot of unrest in familial and other relational settings, because while many people are saved, many people are not. Jesus stated the greatest commandments as being 1) “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind” (Matt. 22:37) and 2) “You shall love your neighbor as yourself” (22:39).

The reason why your relationship with God is meant to be above every other relationship is because God is love and He knows (believe me, He KNOWS) how relationships and how life and how love is supposed to, well, work, for lack of a better word. As I said before; the only way we can truly be united with other people in meaningful lasting relationships is by allowing God to take precedence over our lives. Believe me, I would not be able to love ANYONE or be kind to ANYONE if I didn’t have a growing relationship with God. Unkindness, apathy, and lack of self-control grow in the world every day, so it’s important to be in touch with the One who’s given you a spirit of peace, love, and self-control.

So Jesus didn’t come to the world to bring peace. The world in its present state will never be able to achieve peace (at least not world wide) because peace is trying to be achieved by eliminating all individuality, all religion, all absolutes. The goal of peace is being pursued in the wrong direction on a one-way street. Until every single person trusts Christ and trusts Him fully and has a growing relationship with Him, there will never be peace in the world.

Am I saying Jesus is the answer? Yes I am. Am I saying world peace is unachievable? Mmmmhm. But individual peace is not. Having a relationship with Jesus can give peace to the individual when peace seems all but impossible. “These things I have spoken to you that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world” (John 16:33). In this verse, Jesus observes that we WILL have tribulation during life on this earth, BUT (and that’s a big but) Jesus has already overcome all of those tribulations, so those that believe in Him and understand His inevitable victory over all the nastiness of rejection, pride, and selfishness can have peace in a world still full of those things.

Just a thought šŸ™‚

So I grabbed breakfast and bundled up and headed to Queens. The entire time I was really worried about whether I’d get there on time or if I’d go to the right place or if I’d be warm enough or cold enough or if I was wearing the right stuff…it was ridiculous. On the subway I pulled out The Grace of God and listened to Jeremy Camp, which made me calm down, remembering God has everything under control, and that He brought the sun out today šŸ™‚

I stepped off the subway in Astoria, set on finding the meeting place I was informed of. As I went through the exit turnstile and headed towards the stairs that led to the street, a random person grabbed my hand and began pulling me. I turned to see who it was…it was Leah! Her group was headed to their designated place to begin handing out free coffee, a symbol of how free God’s gift of salvation is to us. I just couldn’t believe God had timed it so perfectly! Of course, His timing is ALWAYS perfect…silly me šŸ™‚

We walked down the steps until we were standing under the subway bridge, because this subway station I’d come to was above ground. I met all of Leah’s people and we set up the everything, starting to give out free Dunkin’ Donuts coffee to anyone who wanted some. We walked up and down the street, asking people if they wanted some, letting people know as they walked off the train that there was free coffee at the bottom of the steps.

Obviously, because we were giving away free coffee in New York City, of all places, people were wondering what the catch was. It was great to say that there was no catch, just like there’s no catch with salvation: it really is as wonderful as it sounds. Some people ignored us. Others were so insanely giddy that there was free coffee and stood and talked with us for a long time.

At one point, while we were standing there, a deafening crunch and pop split the air and we turned around to see a head-on collision happen right next to us. It had been a man running into a woman. The man had hit his head and the steering wheel had hurt his chest, but he was alright. The woman was fine as well. They came over after some time and we gave them coffee and talked to them about God and about what we were doing and why we were doing it. The moment the accident happened, a few of our group went and directed traffic, helping in any way they could. It was amazing.

I quickly became friends with everyone and I really enjoyed every moment of today. I especially enjoyed seeing Leah. She was my little bit of home, and I felt like my complete self, comfortable and unworried. While it was cold under the bridge, we still made the best of it by talking to people, laughing, doing silly things, and, of course, making coffee šŸ™‚

Before we knew it, three hours had gone by and we were finished. We packed up and put everything into the van they’d driven and headed over to Burger King for lunch. I got to eat lunch with Leah! šŸ˜€ I also met even more people, since there were actually two groups giving out coffee.

We sat and discussed what we’d been struggling with and how God had brought us through those struggles time and time again. We talked about rock climbing and about karate. We talked about Leah’s family and about college. She ate some of my fries and drank some of my sweet tea while I ate her apple. It was refreshing šŸ™‚

After lunch I said goodbye to everyone and then headed ‘home.’ I took the subway to Target to do some shopping, but once I saw how many people were there, I decided against it and went window shopping. I went to Burlington Coat Factory and bought some Godiva chocolate for Bree and a clearance scarf that looked like something a Ravenclaw would wear. I felt pretty nerdy šŸ™‚ There I also ran into Clara and her boyfriend’s mom. I told them about how I’d spent my day and we chatted some more before I left to go back to the dorms.

By the time I arrived, my hips and lower back were aching and I was exhausted. I folded laundry, gave Bree her chocolate (which she really appreciated), and then slept for an hour and a half. When I woke up, it was dinner and then homework. While doing my homework I had a great conversation with Beth, and was refreshed even further, even though I’d thought it to be impossible considering how wonderfully my day had gone.

God is just so cool. I mean, He took complete care of me when I went to Queens; I didn’t even have to look. Leah literally reached out and grabbed me as she was walking by. So I was once again worried about nothing. I was also able to experience Queens, which is beautiful and was especially beautiful today because of how brightly the sun was shining. Oh it was gorgeous. AND I got to spend time with Leah, one of my adopted sisters of the Brock family, AND I got to talk to Beth, another one of my sisters. It was just so good. God is just so good…yeah.

He’s good šŸ™‚

“Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!” —Psalm 107:1, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

