Running Away From the Sleep That’s Trying to Catch up With You

World Literature begins at 11:00am

When I woke up for the fifth time this morning, the clock on the microwave said it was 10:36am.

“Bree! We have to wake up! Class is at eleven!”

Bree and I had stayed up far too late into the early hours of the morning, doing homework and what not. I hadn’t gotten to sleep until about three in the morning, figuring five hours was plenty of time to sleep. But I had once again underestimated and ignored the needs of my body.

So the two of us launched ourselves out of bed in a mad tornado of makeup, body spray, jackets, and scarves until we headed out the door and locked it behind us. As we walked, my brain struggled to wake up and my soul craved my morning time with God…

I knew it was going to be a very long day.

Despite how I felt the day would go, it actually went rather well 🙂 I got a package from Mom in the mail, a box full of two letters, Lindor Truffles, Jesus > Religion by Jefferson Bethke, and a few other things. It was a pleasant surprise. The letters were from my sister and from my friend Jessica, who was recently engaged to my friend Kyle. As I pinned her “save-the-date” picture above my bulletin, I realized how many of my friends have become engaged or gotten married in the past year, and how many of them are close to my age.

The feeling that came from this realization was really uncomfortable, and for a moment I entertained the fear of people wondering when I was going to get engaged or married. But then I remembered it doesn’t matter what other people think, that I’m nineteen, that I’m not ready for ANY of that. And then I was okay 🙂

After Critical Thinking & Writing, I grabbed some pizza and ate it as I walked back to my dorm. I was so tired and couldn’t walk correctly, barely able to keep my eyes open. As I ate the pizza, I didn’t realize I was eating the paper plate it was on as well. I must’ve been quite a sight.

Image

I had about an hour or two before I had to go work out, so I sat down, breathed, and opened my Bible.

Romans 8 was where I turned 🙂

I can’t say how many times I’ve read this particular chapter, but I can say that every time I read it something different catches my attention. Today it was 8:18: “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” The thing that caught my eye was the “are not worth comparing.” Now, I’d always known this verse was saying that everything terrible that happens to us in this life are ridiculously dull in light of what awaits us in Heaven. But I never caught the “are not worth comparing.” In other words, the tribulations and trials that we face here on earth are NOT EVEN WORTH COMPARING to what we’re headed towards. Eternal life is secured for us, and because we know this awaits us, nothing else could possibly be better or deny us this privilege. Anything that happens now just isn’t even worth your time, your energy, your worry, your fear.

The next verse that jumped out at me was verse 33, which says “Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect?”

First of all, God’s elect is referring to all those who have believed and trusted in Jesus Christ as their personal savior, who have been stamped with the secure seal that is the Holy Spirit and are indwelt by this Spirit, who are solid in their future of eternal life. I just have to stop for a moment and revere the fact that I am part of this group, this elect. I have the seal of the Holy Spirit, my future is secure. That’s just so amazing 🙂

The next concept to contemplate is the “who shall bring any charge against?” There will be people in the world who will accuse and condemn God’s children. Satan is sure to try and condemn us for our sins. But the thing is, “there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,” (8:1). In other words, though external and internal forces will try and condemn God’s children, they will never be found guilty, because their sins have been forgiven, their souls redeemed and reconciled. Another way to look at this is “Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect” and find them guilty? No one, because Jesus’ sacrifice wiped away all possibility for His elect to be found guilty in any form or fashion. While Satan may try to convince God we’re guilty and don’t deserve what we have in Christ Jesus, Jesus will be there defending us passionately and winning every single time.

I went and worked out, running and running until it was time for Zumba class. Surprisingly, despite how tired I was, my mind and body became much more awake once I got my blood flowing and my adrenaline pumping through my veins. Exercise is cool like that 🙂 While I was doing Zumba, I realized that I might be getting sick. My head is doing that weird stuffy thing that makes you feel like you’re constantly in some freakish dream state even though you’re awake. Also my nose is doing that funky thing where you always feel like you’re going to sneeze but never actually do until the most inconvenient time possible. I’ll just have to take better care of my body; get plenty of sleep, keep drinking water, keep my stress level down, etc. I refuse to get sick, because then I’ll have to take medicine, and medicine is gross…

But I digress.

The day ended with Bree and I talking about the differences between how men and women think, about life, about God. It was really refreshing. Man, I know I keep saying this, but I am so absolutely grateful that God gave me a roommate who I can just be a girl with. It’s so needed. It’s so nice to just talk to somebody. Thank You, Jesus 🙂

Overall today was very productive, though it was difficult to get through. Regardless, God got me through it and kept me awake and aware 🙂 Tomorrow is Mom’s birthday, and I feel kind of frustrated that I can’t be there. Gracie’s birthday is next week…I’m frustrated I can’t be there either. But ya know what, God can make their birthdays awesome without me, even though it would be nice if I could see them. Hm. Anyway, God’s got it covered, just like He does everything else 🙂 Tomorrow night is Ladies’ Bible Study which I can’t wait for because I’m seriously craving the next week of theological homework. I’m so excited 😀

“But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”     —Isaiah 40:31

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

