Perspective

There are days in life when I remember that, when everything else is swept away from view, it’s just me and God. There are no people, no sisters, no brothers, no friends, no parents, no professors, no motivational speakers, and no leaders that are also part of this relationship. There are no -isms, no movements, no campaigns that can hype up this relationship. There are no forms of etiquette, no traditions, no societal or cultural establishments that can break into the boundaries of this relationship. No matter how many times I try to hide something from God, whether it be something as minute as the temptation to eat an extra piece of chocolate or as earth-shattering as a broken heart, He can see it. He is transparent with me. He has shown me His plan for me. He doesn’t fool around with my feelings or lead me to think something that’s not true. He is who He says He is. And when I remember this, everything else seems rather small…

Today was fascinating, for lack of a better word. Bree left for a couple of days, so I’m by my lonesome, but that’s okay πŸ™‚ Today was not only fascinating, but it was also very long. World Literature from eleven to twelve-twenty (did I mention it’s midterms already? can you believe it?), Writer’s forum from twelve-thirty to one-thirty, Critical Thinking & Writing from two-thirty to four, then the Prattler from five to eight. Whew! Thankfully, it’s the longest day of my week, so every other day is pretty smooth as far as classes are concerned πŸ™‚

Last night was fantastic! Writing about Critical Theory is something I never quite got the hang of last semester. But last night as I was trying to finish my rough draft for Critical Thinking & Writing, the concept FINALLY clicked in my brain and I was able to pull together enough relevant sources and eloquent wording to form a decent argument. It was most-definitely an act of God.

Hey, remember my brother’s friend Peter? The one who’d been diagnosed with Wilson’s disease? Well, after a month or so of praying for and sending money to and supporting him, Peter finally got a liver transplant. He’s in recovery now, but, I mean, who says God doesn’t answer prayer? I mean, wow! I actually gasped and laughed out of sheer joy when my mother emailed me the news. I ended up waking Bree and very excitedly explaining to her what happened.

Today during Writer’s Forum, I finally realized why so many of the people at school write about the negative aspects of life while sacrificing virtue. The reason why writers write about the negative aspects of life, I think—the breakups, the miscarriages, the mistakes, the illnesses, the deaths—is because it’s the negatives of life that remind us we are human, that we’re fragile, breakable, and self-destructive. But the thing, I think, that so many contemporary writers miss is the aspect of redemption, the impossibly merciful idea that humanity has been given the opportunity to be more than broken humanity, to be redeemed. This is why I want to write, because I want to show that not all Tonies have to die thinking that their Marias are dead, that not all warhorses are schemes of defeat, and that not all humans lose a piece of themselves in the whirlwinds of life, but that they finally get the Piece that’s long been missing. Contemporary writers certainly establish that there is something insanely wrong with humanity, with mankind, all of it, but they never allow themselves to take a step further to look for the Solution.

Just a thought.

Before Prattler came up on the schedule, I decided to talk to God about it. This class is especially difficult because of the lack of morality and the content of the majority of the conversations, and also the challenge of my adviser. So I asked God to help me see past all of it to the core, to the broken people behind it. After all, that’s what God did with me. If He’d accepted me based off of how I acted/looked on the outside, I would NOT be who I am today. I would more than likely be in a ditch somewhere too far from home…no, I’m not kidding.

So I went to Prattler.

Our final drafts of our article were due today. I was handed back my rough draft, and everything was good except for one thing. At the end of the article (this is the one about Creation v. Evolution, mind you) says, “There are some students who see things in black and white and there are others who see things in shades of gray. No one knows for certain what happened all those years ago, whether it’s millions or thousands. Despite if you’re an evolutionist or a creationist, each belief takes a whole lot of faith.”

Disregard the horrible grammar for a moment. I’ll get to that πŸ™‚

What caught my eye and mind was this: my adviser had changed the last sentence to “Some people have faith in science, while others just have faith.”

At first I had to sit back and check myself. The change of the sentence definitely bothered me, but I had to ask myself why. Was it just because it was this adviser? No. Was it because he changed something I had been proud of? No, not really. So then, what was it?

It was because he was inferring that evolution is more scientific than creation, and that creation is based completely on faith rather than being based also on science.

In the Ken Ham and Bill Nye debate, Ken Ham used the example of the Grand Canyon to illustrate a fantastic observation. If Bill Nye (evolutionist) and Ken Ham (creationist) were both to look at the Grand Canyon, as scientists making observations about their surroundings, both men would state observations about the types of rocks seen, what kinds of sediments existed in the layers of rock, what kinds of vegetation and animals inhabited the space, and so on. The only difference between them, is their belief in how the Grand Canyon got there.

My adviser’s change made me annoyed.

I politely asked him why the change? He, with equal politeness, told me that he was saying the same things as I was, but that he’d just re-worded it. So I asked him, based on his answer, why he’d seen it necessary to change the sentence at all?

After a series of comments and questions the discussion of Creation v. Evolution came into play. I knew I wasn’t a scientist, at least not a schooled one. I knew I couldn’t prove the existence of God along with the truth of Creation. I knew that my resources were limited and that I wasn’t capable of enduring a full-fledged argument. But I was ready.

I explained to him that I had worded my original sentence the way I did because I was trying to be all-inclusive, establishing both Creation and Evolution as beliefs, since no one was actually there at the time of the birth of the earth and the universe. I was trying to be diplomatic. I explained that there’s a scientific element of creationism and that there’s a faith element of evolution.

“Where does faith fit into evolution?” the co-editor asked, observing our conversation.

This was where I began to remember that public schools teach evolution as fact, even though it’s only a theory, that evolution is seen as pure science, even though this theory is not repeatable or provable. You have to have faith, you have to believe that the theory of evolution is true. But this, of course, is never brought up in school discussions, because faith can’t be taught in public schools…

ahem, America…

EVOLUTION IS A SET OF BELIEFS TAUGHT IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Okay, moving on.

So that’s when things got a little sticky. I answered her question by saying that creationists have faith that God created the world and the universe whereas evolutionists have faith that the world and the universe came randomly from nothing. My adviser then proceeded to go slightly off topic and explain that whenever a creationist brought God into the debate/argument, there was nowhere to go with the argument, because you can’t prove or disprove the existence of God. He explained that evolution is true because “we’ve” seen the flu virus evolve (of course he didn’t clarify that it changes via mutation, which is part of creationism as well as the theory of evolution). But there’s no real evidence for creationism…

He then went onto describe creationists as incapable of being scientists by saying, “When someone is creating a flu vaccine, and there’s one guy who says, ‘Oh, it’s all from God!’ and then there’s another guy who says ‘based on these facts of the virus, this is how I’m going to make a vaccine.’ I would much rather have the guy with facts than the guy who depends on God.”

The funny thing? I wasn’t offended or threatened at all, because I had done my research, because I knew both sides. I know there are doctors who are creationists, who create vaccines and prescribe medicine to patients. I know there are surgeons who are creationists who have conducted many successful operations based on their knowledge of anatomy, the study (or science) of the human body. Science, defined in the most elementary terms, is knowledge gained from observing and studying one’s surroundings. In less elementary terms, knowledge gained by systematic study. Both creationists and evolutionists are scientists…I guess not everyone gets that.

The conversation slowly came full circle to stop at the original question. I asked again, if, because he was “saying the same thing I was,” I could just leave the sentence the way it was. He then, ignoring my question, pointed out that “despite if you’re” just isn’t even proper English. I then asked, “But is that the only thing wrong with the sentence? And if so, can I leave it?”

He said “yeah.”

πŸ™‚

Next week is mid-terms and final projects and everything else. Next week is also the beginning of Spring Break. I just can’t believe the semester is already half over. Once March is over, I’ll have a little over a month left of my freshman year of college.

A month.

I can’t believe chapter one of this four-year adventure is already almost over. I feel like I’ve been here for years, but not in a bad way. It’s just fantastic. God is just…He’s just doing things. That’s a horrible explanation of what’s going on in my heart right now, but that’s the only thing that comes to mind: God is doing things, great things.

Yeah πŸ™‚

“Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of His glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.”Β Β Β  —Jude 24,25, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

