A Girl Thing

“This whole writing thing is stupid. I mean, who writes these days any way? I’m a horrible writer and I’m never going to amount to anything. I can’t even stand the sight of paper or pens right now; they just disgust me, seriously. I’ll never write again. I’m done. It’s just ridiculous.”

All writers know what I’m saying.

I’m going to bring Thomas Mann into the picture, a man who said that “a writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for others.” Yep.

This morning I woke up refreshed, looking out the window to see a sky bluer than I’ve seen in a long time. Sometimes I wonder what God calls the colors in the sky…I know it sounds corny, but I really do wonder. What does God call Himself? We call Him all sorts of things: God, Jehovah, Lord of Hosts, Yahweh, Lord, and so on. But what does God call Himself? When God thinks of me, does He think of my being named “Hunter” or does He call me by a different name? All I know is that, whatever name He calls me, I know His voice, and that’s all that matters. Maybe I’m over thinking these things 😛 I’ll add these questions to my list. I just can’t wait to ask God all of my questions. I’m not sure if that’s part of what happens when we get to Heaven, but I sure hope it is.

Today I was thinking about Heaven, about what happens when I die, and I realized how excited I am about it 🙂 It’s funny, a while back I was really down about life, just because I was being a doofus.

Mom said this, “Hunter, what’s the worst that can happen in life?”

I answered, “…I die.”

Mom: “And what happens then?”

Me: “I go to Heaven.”

The worst thing that can happen to me is I die, which really isn’t even a big deal, because I’m going to Heaven afterwards. It’s like, duh. Another thing I thought about today, specifically this morning, was what I read in the book of Luke. I was in Luke chapter 8 this morning, reading about the woman with a bleeding disorder and a man whose daughter was dying. I want to focus on the man.

This man’s name is Jairus. Similar to Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews, who came and questioned Jesus’ identity as the Messiah, Jairus is a ruler of the synagogues, I’ll set the scene: Jairus is distraught. His heart is fried, his hope is lost. His daughter is twelve-years-old and dying. My little brother, Jimmy, is twelve-years-old, and I can’t even imagine him dying, much less if he was my son.

Jairus runs to Jesus, the only person he thinks can do anything to save her. After the woman with the bleeding disorder is healed (by just touching the fringe…the fringe…of Jesus’ garment), someone comes to Jairus and tells him to stop bothering Jesus, because his daughter is already dead. Can you imagine? Someone tells you your daughter, your child is dead, so there’s no need to bother the miracle worker anymore. Can you fathom how much that must’ve pained Jairus to hear?

But Jesus, though it would make sense to drop the plea, stabilized Jairus and said “Do not fear; only believe, and she will be well” (Luke 8:50). So Jesus does what He said He would and goes to Jairus’ house. The people outside the house, who say she’s dead, laugh as Jesus goes in and says she’s only sleeping (v. 52). Jesus heals Jairus’ daughter, and the scoffers shut their mouths.

The weather was beautiful today…gorgeous. It was hot inside. We ended up having Studio class outside on the library steps. It was amazing 🙂

Afterwards, I changed into springier clothes and went to church.

Okay, I have to talk about relationships…again.

While we were watching the video in Bible Study, I sat, itching to get out so I could see somebody before they left. God must’ve known because He had the Bible Study go an hour longer than usual. It was then that I woke up and remembered how clear God has been about relationships in my life, how very clear He’s been about the kind of man He wants for me. And I sat there, feeling like an idiot.

Sometimes, especially as girls, we can get all wondered up by a flicker of stardust in our eyes when a nice guy comes along. And then there’s times when we’re REALLY silly and we make the guy out to be more than he is, which often causes us to forget their faults.

When I returned home from Bible Study, I watched this show called North & South, based off of Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel. The actor playing John Thornton is the same actor who plays Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit. So every time I see this man, all I can think of is Thorin Oakenshield. Anyway, Thorin (John) is madly in love with Margaret Hale, an ex-parson’s daughter. Though it’s much like Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, it’s a refreshing story of how love, even if one side feels like the other shows no affection and doesn’t return the feelings and commitment, always wins. I took it as a way, as I do whenever two people come together in a pure relationship, of seeing how God will put His plan into action, as in, if two people are meant to be together, it’s going to happen. No distance, no time, no events, and no problems can limit God in His endeavors.

That’s my bit on relationships for the day 🙂 God is the best to go to about relationships. After all, He’s been working through mine and His relationship since before the beginning of time, and He’s still committed, despite me 🙂

“What therefore God has joined together, let no one separate.”   —Mark 10:9, ESV

 

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Girl Thing

  1. haridasgowra says:

    good post…………
    #wordpress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

