The Greatest Story Ever Unwritten

You know what I realized today? I am able, because of the people God has placed in my life, the hope He has given me, the love with which He adorns my every breath, the creativity and imagination with which He’s decorated and characterized my mind, to live the greatest story ever to go unwritten.

The best stories, I’m realizing, are never written down. The best experiences can never be fully communicated through writing, but rather by reliving or by experiencing them firsthand. The infallible, God-inspired word of the Bible is no good to you if it’s not experienced. If you read the Bible and treat it as less than a life-altering experience, a written way of understanding the unwritten adventure of being in a relationship with Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, then you will miss out on the only thing that makes life worth living.

God has placed me in a world where the magnificent beauty of His creation calls out His praises and His love for me most passionately. Today the weather was absolutely breath-taking. The sun was so bright and beautiful that I could almost see God smiling. The wind was so terrifyingly powerful that I realized how easy but meticulous a task it is to give me breath to breathe every day. And all of it was yelling God’s love, God’s existence, God’s power.

Every day I live in this story, a tale of valiant heroes and sinister villains, of strong pure-hearted men and gracious tender-hearted women, of love and forgiveness, of conflict and miraculous resolve, of earth-shattering heartache and life-saving comfort, of great battles and fantastic celebrations, of devastating defeat and amazing victory, and of a climax so cosmic that its repercussions will bring future generations crumbling to their knees as past generations bring their faces to the ground, I am able to see the ending, to see where the plot is going.

I don’t know all of the characters. I don’t even know every setting of every scene. But I do know this: God has given me the greatest gift a writer could possibly be given, which is the chance to live the Greatest Story Ever Unwritten.

I am so privileged, so blessed to be part of this adventurous tale. I’m not even sure what character I am yet. Maybe I’m the word of wisdom. Maybe I’m the comic relief. Maybe I’m the sidekick. Maybe I’m the idiot who always messes everything up but is loved to pieces anyway. Maybe I’m a hero. I do know who the ultimate hero is though, one who redefines the meaning of “hero” and exists powerfully outside the fickleness of humanity, and that is Jesus Christ, my Lord, my King. I know the villain is, the Great Deceiver, the Enemy, Satan. But I know who wins in the end 🙂

As I document my life in countless journals, on this blog, and in the myriad novels and novellas and short stories I am writing and will write, the greatest story I will ever come across will never be put down on paper, never captured in the prison of ink and graphite, never hidden between two covers. It will be lived.

Despite all of my heartache, regardless of the worry and anxiety, I am so inexplicably blessed to be living this life, to be able to have a relationship with the most wonderful being I have ever encountered, One who loves without fail, One who delivers without question, One who defends and protects with such passion that it can drive one mad, One who comforts and consoles with the touch of His mighty hand. I am blessed to be saved, to be the object of God’s Grace and adoration and love and protection and comfort. I am blessed to be guided and taught by Him, to see His influence in the lives of others and to feel His love through every hug and prayer, and even through every poor decision, every moral and spiritual challenge, every imprisonment, every difficulty, every wound.

I am living the Greatest Story Ever Unwritten.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

