The Truth and the Lies

“See that no one leads you astray. For many will come in my name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and they will lead many astray…And then many will fall away and betray one another and hate one another. And many false prophets will arise and lead many astray. And because lawlessness will be increased, the love of many will grow cold.” —Matt. 24:4,5,10-12

Coming to Pratt and listening to my professors talk about the self and self-creation and self-preservation, discuss the idea that there are no absolutes and acting as if any truth deemed true by the individual is true for them and there is no underlying truth has really messed up how I see things.

I’m not blaming my professors, no, I’m not blaming anybody. But for a while I wasn’t sure how to fight, or if there was anything to fight to begin with. You see, when professors and peers and advisors act like anything could be true, you stumble upon the question of “When they say anything can be true, are they proposing a challenge or avoiding a challenge?” Subtlety and political correctness is the way of the world now, and I’m not gonna lie, it drives me insane.

My World Literature professor often discusses religion and philosophy and how they play into the course of literature throughout history. The thing is, he treats all religions the same and makes fun of all of them equally. Now, I’m not sure if I should sit back and let myself and my God be swept up with the rest of the world religions or if I should challenge his outlook…I certainly challenge it internally, but is external challenge a good idea? And in what context would it be appropriate? This goes along with my Critical Thinking & Writing professors and their discussions of feminism and discovery of self-worth.

Many of you might be thinking, “why do you have to challenge anything at all?” Well, to be quite honest, because it’s wrong. Feminism, despite its supposed goal of female empowerment, actually demoralizes women and puts good men in a terrible position. Feminism takes away the tenderness of women, their precious and calm demeanor that separates them from men (not that men aren’t precious and calm, but it’s a different kind). Feminism makes stay-at-home moms feel like they’re weak, when they’re actually some of the most amazing women in existence. It makes tender-hearted ladies feel like they have to be tough, cold-hearted professionals. “How dare a man open that door for me!” says Feminism. I feel like more men would become gentlemen if more women acted like ladies and expected men to be gentlemen. Just a thought.

Searching for self-worth anywhere other than in God’s word and in the warmth of His arms is a lost cause. Self-worth will never come from your career, your spouse/significant other, your family, your hobbies, your body, or your possessions. You want to know how much you’re worth? Stop looking in the mirror and at the world and take a look at the cross.

Sweeping Christianity under the rug with the rest of the world religions, I think, is really silly, which is interesting because some people might think it’s silly for me to believe my faith is any different from any other faith. Christianity, legitimate Christianity, where Jesus died to show us grace and reconcile us to God, to pursue a relationship with us not only after this life but during, where the Bible is infallible and when God said “in six days He created them” He meant six days, from sunrise to sunset, where faith is outside of you and cannot be created but rather given by the Holy Spirit, which is your seal that says “Child of God,” and where the only (ONLY) path to eternal life is through Jesus—it’s too real and too cosmic and too absolute to be grouped together with false faiths. Yes, I’m saying that anything that doesn’t teach the Bible as infallible and doesn’t proclaim that Jesus is the only way to salvation is false. Yes, I’m saying that being good isn’t enough and that tradition and generational faith isn’t enough. You need God’s word and His Holy Spirit to be part of Truth, to be part of something so much bigger and better and more fulfilling than feminism, self-discovery and self-creation, and neutrality.

My thing was how to decide how to challenge, because nobody wants to hear that what they believe is wrong, that their path to salvation leads to a dead end, pun intended. But at the same time, the Truth is almost always something people don’t want to hear. An addict doesn’t want to hear that the object of their addiction is bad for them. A girlfriend doesn’t want to hear that her boyfriend isn’t perfect. But this Truth once told has life-changing effects like no other, because it’s legitimate, the only legitimate truth.

God loves you. He’s not distant, He’s not hateful, but He is just and He is real. He does not tolerate sin, which is why He gave humanity an opportunity to be free from sin and to be free to experience what it’s like to be the object of God’s adoration and love.

Ladies, God has already pursued you like a gentleman. His pursuit began before time, but I’ll mark it in human time as when He sent His son to die for you. Will you accept His proposal to be His bride, to be loved and adored and cherished no matter what?

Gentleman, God has already given you the challenge to be the best you can be. He’s already invited you to see what it’s like to be truly empowered by the Holy Spirit, to be loved unconditionally like a brother, like a son, in a royal family. Will you accept the challenge despite what’s warring against you?

I don’t understand how people can think there are no absolutes, that there are no pivot points of life. Much less can I imagine my pivot point being anything other than the One who never moves, never changes, but is very active in my life and in the lives of many and in the movement of the world. There is absolutely an absolute, and He happens to have my heart πŸ™‚

You know how my break really wasn’t a break? Well I’m staying with Rebecca and Jenny tonight and neither of them are home just yet, so I was able to actually relax, just savor the quiet, study my Bible, stress about nothing, and do all the stuff I should’ve been doing all week. So God, in His amazing grace, gave me the opportunity to enjoy Spring Break πŸ™‚ what a God πŸ™‚

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

