Sunburn

Ow…ow…ow…

My arms are burned to a crisp, my face is red, and my lips are chapped. My nails are chipped and my body is sore. But that’s what happens when you play soccer and run around like a crazy person 😛

This morning, I slept in. I did not wake up early. I did not be a morning person. And it felt wonderful. Sometimes you need to sleep in. Sleeping is good. When I woke up, I opened the window and saw sunshine, the movement of the trees in response to a breeze, and while you’d think I’d get tired of beautiful days, it’s hard to take beauty for granted when you’ve lived in miserable (though also beautiful) winter. That’s how I think God works with trials and tribulations. You experience times of darkness, of suffering and confusion, so when you come out on the other side (which, because God is God and never leaves His kids hanging, you WILL come out on the other side) and all there is is beauty, peace, and clarity, you can truly appreciate how magnificent the world really is, even under the influence of the Curse, even through suffering the effect of the Fall.

So I enjoy sunny days 🙂

I packed by duffel bag, said goodbye to Shannon, and headed out to play soccer. I just couldn’t get over how absolutely gorgeous the day was, and I was impossibly aware of the fact that it had snowed earlier this week, that we really shouldn’t have had this kind of a day, but we did. Thank You, Jesus 🙂

I met up with Edward and headed to the soccer fields. He pressed me about wearing sunscreen, but I dismissed it. I have never gotten sunburned while playing soccer…ever. So I didn’t think anything of it.

We got a goal and passed around, sprinting all over the place, juggling, heading, challenging, eventually being joined by a few other guys on the field. I ended up in the goal, and I got hit hard so many times, dove and slid so many times, that my ribs were aching by the time we left.

I shot a lot as well, eventually straining my hamstring and having to kick with my left foot…it was rather embarrassing. But I had a great time 😀 it was sunny and windy and just plain amazing.

At one point, while I was standing and waiting for a ball, I saw something on the ground, only to discover it was a bird claw. Excited, I picked it up and began examining it. After showing Edward, I laid on the turf and began to dissect it. It was really cool 😀

We left about two and a half hours later. I was supposed to head to Jenny’s house, but she wasn’t there yet. So the two of us headed to Edward’s house and ate lunch while watching a soccer game. The game was dirty and the players were dropping like flies. Edward’s entire family was there, speaking Spanish and discussing myriad things. I really enjoy listening not only to Spanish but really to any foreign language. They just all sound really interesting and intricate.

20140420-004119.jpg

…anyway.

Edward walked me to Jenny’s house and I discovered she had totally taken care of me and made it so I could get into the house even if she wasn’t there. I let myself in, jumped in the shower, and when she got home the two of us headed to Manhattan. We went to Burlington Coat Factory (which was obnoxiously spacious with way too many fabulously awesome dresses) and I helped Jenny look for a banquet dress (the school is having a banquet and she’s going). It was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed being able to shop with her 🙂

Afterwards, we went to Starbucks and then headed back to Church Ave. Grace met up with us and we all went to the Terrace Coffee Shop for food. We had a great conversation and I learned more about Grace’s story. We talked about dating, about the world, about news, and later, when we went back to the house and were baking cookies, about politics.

After baking cookies, and after Rebecca came home, we had some hilarious moments that I’ll cherish forever. I know I say this ALL the time, but I really am insanely blessed by these girls, all the time, every time I’m with them.

We watched The Princess Bride (well, Rebecca and I listened and quoted, Grace and Jenny watched), which is the best movie ever. When I went to change into sweatpants and a T-shirt, I saw that a large section of both my arms was completely red with a clear line showing where the sleeves of my T-shirt had been. And when I looked in the mirror, my face was the same way….

So I guess I do get sunburnt 😛

Overall, the day was amazing, fun, superb, ridiculous.

…and to think, tomorrow is even crazier.

I’ve never spent Easter away from home, never spent it without my family. And while I’m not sure how I feel about it, I know how I feel about Easter, though, in reality, it doesn’t matter how I feel…it matters what happened, what it means, understanding that if its connotations are true (which it is) if Jesus was actually resurrected within His own power and because He fulfilled the law, fulfilled the prophecies, what that means for the world.

If what happened on that morning, if Jesus was actually resurrected, what does Easter really mean? If you believed that Jesus was not contained by death, if you believed that He was the son of God , what does that mean? It means that everything you think you know to be true, pales in comparison to what real Truth is.

“And you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.” —John 8:32
>

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

