The Flip Side

I find it wonderfully crazy that I actually have more homework coming from people in my church family than I do coming from school. Because most of my assignments were due in the beginning of the week, I’ve had virtually no homework save studying for finals and a simple assignment here and there. So I’ve been tackling the myriad articles, books, studies, and sermons my Christian friends and pastors have sent me. I went from studying science told from a biblical perspective to listening to a sermon from the East Coast Fellowship conference held a year or so before (it’s an event the church hosts, which will happen in a couple of weeks, before I leave).

But yeah. I’m learning a lot and growing even more 🙂

Thankfully, God is helping me be very aware of getting too caught up in studious practices and totally forgetting the devotional, relational aspect (which, I think is the most important one) of my relationship with God. Being studious and pursuing the acquisition of knowledge is always beneficial, but it becomes a problem, at least for me, when I idolize knowledge over quiet, hang out time with my God.

After devotions this morning, I noticed that it wasn’t really sunny today. It was actually rather gloomy for most of the morning until we came out of World Literature and it was sunny finally.

During World Literature, my professor was talking about Nietzsche. He brought up college campus shootings and how the shooters, according to Nietzsche, were victims of circumstance and were simply psychologically defective because of genetic or contextual problems.

“So you’re saying they couldn’t be held accountable.” I ventured.

He explained that accountability wasn’t part of the argument. He brought up the point that because humanity is not based off of moral decisions or moral responsibility, claiming that a devil is prompting them to do something isn’t part of the argument either. But I didn’t bring up the devil. Regardless, Satan could’ve had nothing to do with the shootings. Honestly, the sinful nature of humanity could’ve done that all on its own. I just find it interesting that he didn’t mention sin nature but he mentioned Satan, further exhibiting humans as the victims….

Hm.

After World Literature, I went and had lunch (a totally delish lunch of eggplant Parmesan, macaroni and cheese, and broccoli) with Shaun, Kat, and Taylor. We all had a really good conversation and I was really encouraged by them 🙂

We had Forum today, and listened to a homosexual writer describe his intimate relationships with men. I read out of this small book of poetry that Rebecca gave me, only lending my ears when a different person, a woman, stepped up to the podium and began to talk about Emily Dickinson. I really enjoyed listening to her 🙂

I went and got ice-cream after that, just because I really really wanted ice-cream. I pulled out Jesus>Religion and began marking it up and studying it while I finished my chocolate-chip mint ice-cream cone, sitting on the library patio in the sunshine. It was refreshing 🙂

Critical Thinking & Writing came and went. We’re writing research papers and mine is on Samuel Beckett and his use of biblical jargon in his play “Not I.” Through studying his biographies as well as his other plays, I’m beginning to put some of the pieces together. It’s just a lot of work.

I went and studied more of my church homework (which is totally way more fun in every way than it sounds) before going to my Prattler class. Because the semester is almost over, things in the small area of my life that is journalism are winding down. We watched the movie Shattered Glass, in which Anakin Skywalker (or, the actor who plays him in Star Wars) is a pathological liar in the position of co-editor and all star reporter of a major magazine. It’s based off a true story, and the movie itself, though intense, was very good.

I went and ran a few miles and biked a few miles after class, trying to blow off any steam I was harboring. I had been thinking about the discussion of the different kinds of humor along with the argument of thought life that Edward and I had pursued last night. I kept turning it over and over in my head but I wasn’t getting anywhere.

After showering and getting comfortable and finishing up some homework, I had a really good talk with my dad. We’re not really mushy, our relationship was never really that way, but we have those moments when we encourage each other, or at least God uses him to encourage me and give me perspective. This was one of those moments.

Tomorrow is Studio and then Bible Study, and I can’t wait 😀 Oh! You will be happy (or at least I hope you will) to know that my lobster arms are almost completely gone, my sunburn nearly transformed into a tan.

This weekend I get to see Leah! I’m so excited 😀 Remember when I went and served free coffee with her and a bunch of people from her college? That’s what I’ll be doing this time, or at least it’ll be some form of outreach. Oh I can’t wait! 😀

So…next week is May. Kind of crazy, huh? It’s weird how I had seriously thought I would not survive the year and now everything is coming to a close. Actually, that’s a lie. I knew I would survive, but not because of myself. I knew if God is who He says He is, then there’s no reason I shouldn’t survive, because it’s all on Him. Yes, there were times when I tried depending on myself and I fell flat on my face, but during the times I remembered God is in control, I was able to find peace in the eye of the storm, even if the storm was only internal and not external.

Summer, however, will be an entirely new adventure…

I can’t wait :).

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

