A Sunny Day In The Shire

So, I received in the mail my information packet for being a camp counselor…I’m pretty sure I’m going to die.

Just kidding 🙂 basically I just have to spend the next three weeks or so training for a marathon and developing a tolerance for Popsicles and lots of questions, all of which I’m doing already 🙂 The more I understand what this job entails, the less it seems like a job. I’ve decided that this is how I’m going to introduce myself to my campers in my cabin, and how I’m going to lay out how things are going to work:

“Greetings fair princesses, daughters of the Most High King. I am Hunter, God’s love, your sister in Him, and the most obnoxious and enthusiastic morning person you will ever meet. Let’s get one thing straight: we are ladies, princesses, and we will act that way this entire week. Does that mean we have to wear dresses, or put our pinkies up when we sip our drinks, or refrain from getting muddy? Not at all. But it does mean that we will love our fellow campers, we will be honest and true, and we will walk, run, skip, swim, win, and lose with dignity.”

Now, will this expectation for each week be fulfilled? Of course not, but this is what I’m thinking 🙂 The theme for this year at camp is Who Are We? It’s all about being confident in Christ and understanding that we don’t have to wait around until the fear goes away in order to trust God, but rather trusting Him through the fear, trusting Him to make us fearless. How appropriate for a group of teenagers growing up in such a world as this, where knowing your identity and understanding where your strength comes from is of the utmost importance and is vital to your sanity, where self-discovery is the underlying theme of the majority of mass media and literature and everything else.

This isn’t a job: this is a quest. I am so excited I can’t even stand it. Surprisingly, I’m not nervous…I’m so beyond afraid and worry because I just can’t wait to see what God is going to do. It’s an odd feeling, not worrying…but I think I might like it 🙂 It’s easier to love God and pursue a better understanding of His magnificent character, easier to enjoy Him 🙂 though, of course, learning to enjoy Him and understand Him can never really be described as easy, but rather unsafe, dangerous, exciting, and adventurous 🙂

I spent the majority of the day writing letters. I wrote a number of letters to my ladies in The City. I wrote to Grace, to Rebecca, to Maria, to Charlene, to Clara, and to Jenny, all of the ladies I spent the most time with throughout the year, the ladies who had the most impact on my life, the ladies I’m missing the most.

At one point (after writing the letters), I was doing an intense Zumba workout, vacuuming, making up a to-do list, and other cleaning and organizational activities. I’d say my college-multi-tasking skills have officially come in handy 😛

When I went to buy eggs from the grocery down town, I walked down an empty street. I was the only person on the sidewalk, and it was the weirdest feeling ever. There were no people. In The City, there are too many people, so many people, always, all over the place.

It was odd.

I bought eggs, said hi to pretty much everyone I saw (because everyone knows me here and I know everyone), and returned home. When I did return, I grabbed a quick shower (after finishing up cleaning the house and getting ready for everyone to come home) and an even quicker nap. Mom grilled burgers and I baked a cake from scratch. It was wonderful 🙂

The four of us had a conversation about the purpose of the church. By the end of our discussion, I thought that Jimmy was surely questioning my salvation. But overall, the conversation was fruitful.

There was a talent show going on at the school down the road (when I say down the road, I mean about three miles of twists and turns, heading towards the nearest city, but that’s completely beside the point). My mom was announcing, narrating, the first half of the show, and she asked if me and my siblings wouldn’t mind being stage crew.

Growing up with a music teacher as a mom is a wonderful thing. You learn all about sound systems, the behind-the-scenes things, instruments, composers, and such. There’s only one downside, which really isn’t a downside but can be at times: you become a music snob, learning only to appreciate truly beautiful music and cringing at the first key-break or skipped beat. Despite this, however, Gracie, Jimmy, and I found things in each act to appreciate, both music and otherwise.

After the show, I received some encouraging words from some of the adults at the school, who know me from when I used to attend elementary and middle school and even a bout of high school. It was nice to talk to them 🙂

The night ended with my doing the dishes and continuing my reading of the book of Acts, which I’ve never read straight through before, and the more I read the more I see how much I don’t know. How exciting! It’s interesting: it used to be, a few years ago, I would grow frustrated and angry when I encountered something I didn’t understand or realized that I didn’t actually know everything, but now I see it as an adventure…God is good 🙂

Tomorrow is a run around day, where I will be running errands and cleaning the house and doing chores and writing and getting things done and going places, at least in the later part of the day. I kind of like spending the day cleaning the house and preparing it for my family to come home, getting dinner ready and having everything clean and fresh for them 🙂

As I look in the now, and I compare it to the future as well as the past, I’m beginning to see how far God has brought me (kicking and screaming, of course) and just how far He’s willing to take me (without boundaries). I have three more years at Pratt, three more years of expected adventures in The City. I have a summer of counseling at summer camp, an experience I’ve never had before.

This is going to be awesome 🙂

Psalm 92:15 ESV

“To declare that the Lord is upright; he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.”

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sunny Day In The Shire

  1. starwarsfreak117 says:

    I too am preparing my introductory speech 😛 It’s going to involve implementation of mandatory showers, homage to inhabitants past, and of course, silliness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

