The Ordinary and the Insane

Writing is one of those awesome things that give an imaginative person the power to create any scenario equipped with any kind of characters they wish. The writer wields the power to bring hypothetical situations to life and make the reader want them to be real in the most unhealthy way, and they possess the ability to break someone’s heart with only one sentence.

I guess this is why God chose a book to communicate His Gospel to the world πŸ™‚

I’m learning, as I have been for the past year or so, to very aggressively explain to Writer’s Block that it will have to suffer my poor manners as I work around it, ignoring it’s constant presence in my brain as it attempts to disrupt and distort my train of thought. It might stand with its arms crossed as I pick up the vases it’s shattered, as I replace the furniture it’s destroyed, as I dust off my keyboard and use my neglected coffee machine. It may kick and scream and throw a fit as I be productive, but it will not prevail. God has given me too much determination and passion for writing to allow that to happen.

When I first started writing, I thought I could just sit down, write a book, and get published. Cake. Pie. Whatever fatteningly wonderful dessert makes your stomach reach out in pleasant desperation. This is NOT the case. The goal of writing isn’t even to get published. The goal of writing, I’ve found, is the story, and as cheesy as that may sound, it’s beyond true.

The present novel I’m working on isn’t even work. It’s this emotional rollercoaster where my characters do the exact opposite of what I think they will, where drama happens but so does comedy, where people die but where people are also redeemed. It’s a world of fantasy, a genre I NEVER thought I’d ever jump into ever again, but I’ve found this world where I’m finally comfortable and confident in defining it and bringing it to life πŸ™‚

It’s on days like this, when I spend most of my writing time writing up character sketches, editing the first four chapters that I’ve looked over countless times, and solidifying a world to which I’m still a stranger, that I wish I could write a letter to C.S. Lewis. What would he say if I asked him about his adventures with Lucy and Mr. Tumnus? How would he describe the feeling of the snow and the path by which wardrobe gave way to wonder?

…but I probably sound crazy πŸ˜›

The other day I was speaking to my friend and fellow blogger/writer, Alex, about writing, and I was talking to him about that weird limbo where my mind was stuck primarily in the novel and then partly stuck in reality, so I was kind of lopsided and disoriented. Sound crazy? A bit, I’ll admit, but I also have to admit that when someone begins to speak lawyer jargon to me and about the heated-atmosphere of a court room, I can honestly say it feels a bit like I’m listening to a crazy person too πŸ˜€

Isn’t it neat how God gave everyone different talents, different goals, different desires, different personalities, even different physical appearances? He’s just so creative. But I’ve been rambling for a bit too long.

Today was wonderful πŸ™‚

Granted, it was uneventful, but it was wonderful, nonetheless. I woke up to God’s sunshine and His blessing of weather that was as springy as it’s going to get, reminding me of the many days during second semester, when spring was just waking up from its hibernation and I couldn’t believe how perfectly beautiful the weather was for as many days as it had been.

I accomplished the impossible task of making only one chocolate chip cookie (I know, I’m weird for only wanting ONE chocolate chip cookie, but what can I say :P) and then I baked biscuits. I continued reading the book by Robert Hansen, and I must say I’m incredibly entertained by it. Even though it’s certainly not theological reading, it’s definitely a comic, clean, and pleasant break from reading J.I. Packer and others.

When Gracie and Jimmy came home from school, I sat down and wrote as Gracie baked and Jimmy watched TV. My parents were out doing their things. Eventually, the three of us kids sat around my laptop and listened to Tim Hawkins and laughed until our sides hurt. It was great πŸ™‚

As of late, I realized I’ve become lazy in how I treat, challenge, and try to respect and understand my Christian brothers. I know this might be a weird subject to be studying as part of my devotions, but I see so many things online (Pinterest, Facebook, etc.) that bash men and bash husbands and make light of how women claim they either don’t need men or need them desperately. I think it’s important for young women and even (especially) high school and middle school girls to learn how God wants us to act as His girls. We’re princesses, right? Well, His sons are princes, which means they should be treated as such. I have to admit that this is particularly difficult for me, regardless of the fact that I’m a woman and, because of the Fall, I have an innate rebellion against male authority. This is why God commanded women to submit to their husbands, because He knew that would be what we struggle with most. We have no problem loving people, but submission is our weak point. This is also why God commanded husbands to love their wives, because He knew, despite the emotions He’s given all of us, that men would struggle with expressing their emotions, showing how they feel, and encouraging affection in their marriage.

Anyway, regardless of how my Christian brothers may treat me, whether it’s unwarranted or it’s well-deserved on my side, I want to treat them like princes. While I am most definitely a princess and should be treated like one, I believe men should be treated with respect and admiration, and they should be supported by us ladies. Should I love and respect my Christian sisters? Of course! But it’s much easier for me to love and respect them since I understand them and we speak the same gender language. But between the princes and princesses of the royal court of God, there seems to be a barrier, at least from what I’ve witnessed.

The Brocks are coming in two days (just thought I should let the entire Internet know that) and I’m insanely excited πŸ™‚ I’ve missed them all so much. I finished reading my counselor packet today, and I can honestly say I’m still nowhere near prepared for what’s about to come. I’m trusting, however, that God knows what He’s doing, even if I don’t. After all, He got me through freshman year of college, right? Why can’t He get me through Christian summer camp?

Because I will not be bringing any electronics to camp (save my phone for emergencies and to serve as an alarm clock), I won’t be able to post every day. I will have a 24-hour commitment to my campers and will have no time. So I will be posting about once a week, maybe less, after this coming Saturday. I will, however, at the commencement of Chapter Two: Sophomore Year, begin posting daily once again, which will occur around mid-August. This adventure is a bit more of an adventure than college, I’m discovering, where I’m not only in charge of myself but I’m also in charge of people younger than I am. Oh dear. But again, God is the One who’s ultimately looking after them…I can only hope that I don’t get in the way πŸ™‚

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

