Sleep, Social Life, Good Grades: Pick Two

Every time I leave German class, I find myself experiencing the need to watch the Sound of Music. Every time my professor says “Frau,” all I can think of is when Frauline Maria meets the house keeper and she’s like “And I’m Frau Schmidt, the house keeper.”

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Last night, I had my first frappuccino of the school year…already. I had to stay up and finish loads of homework, but I completed all of it. God helped me be productive with my time and determined to complete my assignments. I’ve never really been in a position where I didn’t actually have time to sleep, so last night was a little new for me. But nevertheless, I got a whole five hours in, which was enough to get me up and energized to spend time with God before classes.

Considering how little I actually have, especially considering how, well, college-student-y I am, it’s tempting for me to excuse myself from being generous with the resources God’s given me. Anyway, this morning while I did my devotions, I was reminded that giving to others and trying to be a blessing to others is not meant to be difficult or uncomfortable, but rather a blessing. Giving to other people and helping them is a way for me to see God work not just in their lives but in my life as well. I didn’t really get what this meant until later in the day.

I grabbed yet another frappuccino to stay awake through a three hour World Civilizations class. Now, I’m not a history buff…at all, though I really enjoy history and enjoy historical trivia. But in class we’re learning about a branch of history called Maritime History, which, from what I’ve gathered, is basically history in movement, or the study of the movement of people groups throughout time via the oceans and other bodies of water. I’m excited to learn πŸ™‚

Today in class, however, the recurring mindset that’s adopted across campus came up. “We want to be skeptical of what we think we know.” Now, I understand the intentions behind this, but history is a bit important. If we defamiliarize history and claim that the history we’ve learned is incorrect (which is not the same as saying that it’s just told from one perspective and the one perspective isn’t enough to go on), then what else in life is incorrect?

Anyway, God blessed me with enough energy and brain power to think clearly and ask questions. After World Civ., I grabbed lunch and continued to work on the manuscript for my internship, or possible internship. While I was sitting there, my emotions were going haywire and things seemed way bigger than they actually were. I had to sit back for a moment and talk to God and remember how great difficult circumstances are, because they posit the perfect conditions for God to do insanely awesome things. When it would be easy to worry, when you don’t have enough money or don’t have enough food or anything like that, when you don’t have a lot to give, when where your circumstances seem to be pushing you overwhelms you with a sense of helplessness, it’s then when God works, when He shows you that you don’t need anything but Him.

I’m excited to see what He’s going to do πŸ™‚

I went to Studio and then to German. When I finished up my classes for the day, I went and sat at my desk, looking at the incredibly long To Do list and thinking about how little energy I had left. But then I talked to God for a bit, and I plowed through my work until I finished the manuscript, and wrote the writer’s report (actually called a reader’s report, I found out).

Whew.

Lately, when I read through God’s word, I come across things like “God knows everything,” “God knows all things.” When I think about “all things,” I really only think about all of the things that I know. I can’t think about the things I’ve never thought about. EVERYTHING. God knows EVERYTHING. That’s kind of impossible to think about. Maybe that’s one of those questions I’ll have to ask God someday πŸ™‚

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. He determines the number of the stars; He gives to all of them their names. Great is our Lord, and abundant in power; His understanding is beyond measure.”Β  —Psalm 147:3-5, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

