Friday Night Mochi

Okay….it’s probably almost eleven. I think I went to bed at two. Was it two? Lord, I need to get up. I really do. I have homework and things. I need to be in Your word. I need to talk to You, for real, not while I’m half asleep. Ugh. I need to get up.

HONK!

“What in the world?”

KNOCK KNOCK KNOCK “MAINTENANCE!”

“Maintenance? Maintenance!”

Still in my pajamas, I jumped out of bed and ran into the bathroom. There were grown men at my door and I was not decent. Bree thankfully answer the door, and I was wide awake and in the bathroom. I looked up at the ceiling.

“Well, thank You, Jesus.”

This morning I woke up a little later after spending so long last night doing homework and then relaxing. You’d think relaxing would involve sleeping, but it didn’t. It involved what I’ve come to call taking a brain-break, where I scroll through Pinterest or watch an episode or two of Dr. Who or Once Upon A Time or one of those, something that involves minimal thinking after thinking intensely for a long period of time. I still don’t have classes on Fridays, so I was able to take my time getting ready for the day.

I know this is rather random, but a few days ago I was leafing through God’s word (I was overwhelmed and needed to remember He was there) and I decided to read a bit of Ecclesiastes. That’s when I hit chapter eleven. The first four verses are really interesting because interpreters are unsure of the English equivalent to the expression of “Cast your bread upon the water, for you will find it after many days.” Some interpreters think it means maritime commerce (which I thought was an interesting take because we’re learning about that in World Civ.). Others think it means “giving to the poor, in which case finding it again represents others being kind in return.” (ESV Commentary). And then some think it means to invest your money in different areas of life or “spread out your financial resources in multiple directions” (ESV Commentary). But I just thought that was interesting. When I saw “cast your bread,” the first thing I thought of was Matthew 4:4 where it says “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God,” but I’m not sure if there’s any connection. Probably not 😛

But the first four verses weren’t what caught my eye. As I look at it again now I see that verse five says something really cool. “As you do not know the way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child, so you do not know the work of God who makes everything.” Remember how I talked about God knowing everything, how thinking about that was impossible because I can only think about the things that I know? Well, I think thinking about how God makes EVERYTHING is the same way. First look at the first part. “The way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child.” The ‘spirit’ here is spelled with a lower case ‘s’, which means it’s referring to the actual soul, the entity, of a child, more specifically, a child growing and developing within its mother’s womb. In other words, I can’t even understand the miracle of life, how a human being can be born with a savable soul, so how in the world would I ever think I could understand and know the work of God, who makes that human being, who gives it life? That’s kind of amazing to think about 🙂

And then there was verse seven. “Light is sweet, and it is pleasant for the eyes to see the sun.”

🙂

I don’t know why, but this just made me smile, because how many times do we wake up in the morning to light streaming in through our windows and are automatically, before doing anything or even thinking anything else, filled with hope for the day to be one worth remembering? I mean, seeing the sun when you wake up, or even just seeing the sun, especially after being in the dark for a long time, brings such reassurance and, well, sweetness. I think this verse stuck out to me because it’s just a small reflection of how intimately God understands the human heart and its condition. God knows what warms our hearts. He understands the hope that comes from seeing the sun rise and the rest that comes from witnessing a sunset. He knows our hearts, our likes, our dislikes, what things are beautiful to us and what things make us afraid. He has created to be drawn to the light and desire to taste its sweetness. Cool 😀

After spending time with God this morning, I packed up and went to the library and spent two or three hours working on homework. Then I came back to my dorm to work on even more homework. Oh! And while I was working, I got an email from the people at the publishing house. They liked my report and I have an interview next Wednesday afternoon….this is kind of very exciting 🙂 I’ve been praying over it for a while, and I’ve asked God to let everything go smoothly if it’s His will that I should get the internship, and to close every door if it’s not.

It’s interesting. When the publishing house people scheduled the interview, I realized that, had I not dropped the yoga class, I wouldn’t have been able to make the interview. Hm.

After doing homework and reading and reviewing nearly all day (I even practiced my German :D), I went and helped Karly move out of her dorm (she was just moving down a few floors). I spent the next four hours or so carting things and packing them up and laughing and having a great time with her and our friend Emily. After we’d finished moving her out (or moving her most of the way out), she treated us to ice-cream. I got green tea 😀

We sat outside Myrtle Hall and ate our ice-cream with lime sugar cookies and theses things called Mochi. When I first tried to eat the little ball, it felt rubbery in my hands and there was white powder on my finger tips. I ate it and realized it was a ball of green tea ice-cream cocooned in rice dough, the white powder being flour. How odd! I thought. The texture was the weirdest thing, but the green tea ice-cream was yummy. I’m not sure if I liked the combination of ice-cream and then dough, though…maybe not.

Anyway, we sat and talked about different things, and the three of us had a good conversation about God and theology and other things. I enjoyed getting to know Emily better and I enjoyed spending time with Karly 🙂 Afterwards, as we walked back to Karly’s dorm, I noticed how many people were out and about, and that’s when I realized I’ve never really gone out on a Friday night. Normally I would just stay in my dorm. Hm. I walked Karly to her dorm and then, as I stepped into the elevator down (there are lots of floors), I was surrounded by about eight people crammed into the elevator, all of them trying to touch as many corners (deliberately) in the elevator as they could. One young man stood in front of me (I was completely surrounded, kind of like the ice-cream surrounded by the rice dough), wearing only overalls, and while I was certainly blushing, I had to laugh at how much fun they were having with the challenge.

So the day was wonderful. God helped me use my time wisely and I was able to spend time with a Christian sister and have a good time 🙂 Tomorrow is errand day! Karly and I are going to a book store called The Strand, which, according to Karly, has eighteen miles of books….sounds like my kind of place 😀

“You make known to me the path of life; in Your presence there is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”  —Psalm 16:11, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

