The Nothing and the Something

So, I would like to inform the world that I completed everything I needed to get completed, and I wasn’t overwhelmed through any of it. I completed all of my homework, save some reading that will take a while, and I did well on my quizzes, and I didn’t even feel the need to take a nap today. Hm. It’s amazing what happens when you just ask for help 😛

I only had two classes today, one right after the other. In Writer’s Forum I had a bit of an embarrassing moment, but you shouldn’t be surprised. Let’s just say I’m now down two pairs of jeans within one week due to rips and tears in different places. Ahem. But it’s okay; I should probably just live in sweatpants 😀

After my classes were over, I went and checked my mail and found two letters from Arizona. First of all, it was insanely exciting because I’ve never received (that I can recall) a letter from Arizona. Second of all, the letters were from Emily and Rachel, two of the girl counselors from camp this past summer. I’ve been corresponding with them since before the semester started, and I’m so glad I have them to encourage me. Hannah, Beth, Jacob, Sam and Maria, Charlene, Grandma Pat, and my mother have also been sources of great encouragement for me, especially this past month or so. It’s so reassuring to see that God is using people around me to bring me into Him, to show me that He’s got me covered, and to remind me that, as part of the body of Christ, I’m never alone in what I’m doing or in what I’m struggling with. Those of genuine faith will stand strong, and they will fight for their brothers and sisters, and I’m so glad that I’m so loved and protected, especially when I know of others who have been wounded by people of false faith and weak or nonexistent integrity. What I have is very rare, and its rarity is not lost on me for one moment of the day or night.

I spent my afternoon/night doing homework and plowing through different assignments, eating meals and talking to God and reading scripture. It’s odd, though it really shouldn’t be, how refreshing a single word from the Bible can comfort the exhausted person. I’m not saying when someone’s having a serious problem you should be like “well, you just need to read your Bible more,” even though that might very well be the answer. I am saying, however, that God’s word is meant to refresh and comfort and reassure and rescue…and oh, does it.

A while back (and I’d been wanting to share this with you for some time) I was reading through Genesis (still am). Whenever I think of the Old Testament and the relationships experienced by those in the OT, I, for some odd reason, think of them as being rigid, unemotional, based on tradition and void of romance and flirting and all of those things married couples do. Well, while I was reading Genesis, I read about Isaac and Abimelech. And then I hit this verse: “When he (Isaac) had been there a long time, Abimelech king of the Philistines looked out of a window and saw Isaac laughing with Rebekah his wife” (v. 8).

Isaac laughing with Rebekah.

How wonderful of a picture is that? I never caught that before. Also, the passage goes on to say that Abimelech confronted Isaac (who’d followed in his father’s footsteps and claimed that Rebekah was his sister) and said “Behold, she is your wife. How then could you say, ‘She is my sister’?” (v. 9). It was as if Abimelech saw them interacting and immediately knew they were married…or maybe it was a cultural thing and a man wouldn’t act like that with a woman unless he were married to her. But I’d like to think it was the former rather than the latter 🙂

Also, (and I don’t know why all of these romantic bits of Bible observations are popping up everywhere) I was looking at movie trailers to give myself about five minutes of break time from studying, when I found this movie called The Song. This movie is about a modern-day singer-song writer whose character is based off of king Solomon, taking themes from Ecclesiastes and the Song of Solomon as well as the events of Solomon’s life located in the earlier books of the OT. I thought it was an interesting movie idea, and I think it’ll be worth the watch 🙂

Anyway, what I never realized is that Ecclesiastes is placed before Song of Solomon in the Bible, and these placement makes perfect sense. Depending on the side you take on the perspective from which Song of Solomon is told, it’s either Solomon singing about, writing about, a woman whom he loves, or it’s a song written by Solomon about how God sees the church. Personally, I don’t doubt for a second it’s both. God used the marriage relationship between a man and a woman to reflect His relationship with the church, so it would only make sense that the two be described in like terms. But in Ecclesiastes, Solomon is reflecting on how absolutely meaningless life and how nothing in this world seems to satisfy him…and then, in the next book, he finds something that makes everything worthwhile.

Wow 😀

And isn’t that the basic plot line for every great love story ever written? Someone is wandering, looking for something to fulfill him, and then, all of a sudden, he finds it. But here it’s something stronger than just ordinary human love. It’s God’s fulfilling love for His church, and it’s through the experiencing of that love that a man can love his wife as purely and wonderfully and wholeheartedly as God loves, even if the man’s love is only a reflection of that love. Wow.

That’s really cool 😀

Tomorrow will be a long day and there will be many opportunities for me to panic and be overwhelmed. But God can handle the situations I can’t and He can be tender when I want to be harsh. I’m counting on it. This upcoming Friday will be my first day at my internship, and I’m ridiculously nervous. But it would be outside of God’s character to bring me this far just to drop me off without purpose or plan of growth, so I don’t doubt He’s going to push me way outside of my comfort zone and grow me closer to Him through this experience as well as all others I’ll have before the year is over…and I’m excited to see what He’s going to do 🙂

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in Me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”  —John 15:5

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

