Moldy-Cookie-Phobia

Well, today was just swell 😀 It was just fine and dandy! Wow.

Yeah.

This morning I slept thirty-minutes past my alarm, which was a pleasant surprise, because rather than being ripped from sleep by a buzzing noise, I just woke up 🙂 I spent time with God, nervous about being late for class, but trusting that He’d take care of the time.

For devotions, I’ve been reading a chapter of The Master Plan of Evangelism each day. As I continue to read, I realize that the disciples weren’t really worried about college, or about offending people, or even about what might happen should they so explicitly and openly talk about the Gospel. Their lives were consumed by the Gospel, and it’s all they lived for. Christ taught them to live that way while He lived with them those three years of ministry, ending with His physical crucifixion, physical death, and physical resurrection.

This book, written on a scriptural basis, talks about how Jesus lived out everything He asked the disciples to do, from healing the sick to loving each other and Himself, to casting out demons, to spreading the Gospel throughout the world. The latter, He set them up to do this by showing them how to love others, how to heal others, even how to pray to God, His Father. And thus, when He left, they were ready to be sent out into the world.

I guess I’m just sitting here with lots of questions. Am I doing that in my life? I mean, I’m not going around casting out demons, healing the sick (unless you count buying tissues and Sudafed for a friend struck with the flu…I’m actually not even sure if Sudafed helps with the flu), but I am striving to, before I say for someone else to do something, live out the Gospel in my life and be sure to spend ample time with God, because you spend time with the people you most want to be like, and I most want to be like Him. If Christ wanted the disciples to be so passionate, does this mean I should do the same?

In a way, I think yes. I mean, it’s what the Bible says, what God’s word says, so it must be true. When Christ said, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem (small) and in all Judea (big) and Samaria (bigger), and to the end of the earth (obviously much much bigger),” I believe He was totally serious, that He meant it (Acts 1:8-9, parenthetical comments added). So what does that mean for me?

Well, Pratt is considered part of the earth, right? And Christ intended for this mission, this war, this cause, to continue on until He returned, as indicated by His telling us He’s “with [us] always, to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:20), considering this ministry and the salvation of the world can’t be completed or achieved without Him and His Holy Spirit. So what He said then about His plan for the world is as true now as it was in Bible times. Obviously I am not a Jewish fisherman, but I am a daughter of the one true King, and I am indwelt by His Holy Spirit because I believe Christ was the Son of God and that God’s grace is final, true, and unchangeable and that it was imparted to me, should I choose to receive such a gift of perfect love, when Christ was crucified and then resurrected from the dead. Therefore, knowing this, that charge applies to my life just as much as it applied to Peter’s.

Lately I’ve been entertaining thoughts about whether or not I’m really supposed to be here, at Pratt, in The City, not based off of homesickness or emotions, but a genuine wonderment of God’s purpose for my life. Someone I knew once said that Christians worry too much about God’s specific purpose for their lives, and I agree, to an extent. Christians certainly worry about what’s going to happen, who’s going to be there, how it’s all going to work out, and Christ specifically instructed Christians to not worry and trust that His plans for them are good and that He’ll provide for them as they live so far away from Home (Jeremiah 29:11, Matthew 6:25-34). But, He also tells them many times to seek out and strive to discern His will for their lives, to trust His leading instead of diving headfirst into what they think will make them happy or successful or even what will please Him. God knows God’s will; this information is not accessible to mortal man outside of fellowship with his Maker.

But as I spend time with God and meditate on what His word says, as I read The Master Plan of Evangelism, and as I talk to Him and strive to grow in Him and be more like Him, I’m beginning to be reminded that I’m exactly where He wants me to be. It’s not easy, but there are much harder things, I’m sure, to be faced in the future, should I continue following Him. And that’s exciting to me, especially because I know that He’s worth it.

After spending time with God, I rushed to get ready for class and sprinted out the door with Bree and we made our way to French class. Once French class ended, which it ended rather quickly, I thought, I was blessed with the rest of the afternoon off.

I went and talked to Karly for a little while, then heading back to the dorm and sat down to dig into a massive pile (call it a mountain, though I’m sure it was bigger) of homework. I completed a few queries for my internship, made up a new To Do list, did a few other things. I found out then that Jacob’s care package got to him just fine and he seemed to really like it 🙂 For some weird reason, I kept having dreams of the cookies and the brownies and everything being covered in mold, which is kind of impossible, but still, it was a fear, however irrational. But it made me happy to know that it’d made him happy 🙂

Ahem.

I changed and headed to the gym, ready for a good long workout. And work out I did. I ran and lifted and biked, and though it was hard, it felt wonderful. I thanked God for my legs and my working lungs and for strength and energy to even be able to do all the stuff. When I got back to the dorm, I procrastinated a little bit and did laundry and skyped with my mom. It was nice, all of it 🙂 Somewhere in there I grabbed dinner, though I don’t quite remember.

I heard somewhere a statement saying, “You must be a special kind of stupid if you forget to eat.” But honestly, it does happen. To remember to eat is kind of a problem for me, not because I don’t absolutely LOVE food, but because there are so many other things to do! I’m getting better at it though, especially after seeing what happens when I don’t eat right for a long period of time. Let’s just say I’m taking “your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit” to heart. God’s given me this temporary vessel to use and take care of during this life, however short compared to eternity with Him, and I should therefore strive to take care of it, feed it the right things, strengthen it, etc. And college life has really shown me why He asks me to be so disciplined in my body, because my physical state affects my spiritual state, my emotional state, everything, and, especially while I’m in this position, that’s just not okay.

While I was folding laundry, I was talking to Hannah. This was by far the coolest thing that happened today. Hannah asked if I’d like to go on a road trip to Ft. Campbell, Kentucky, with her, Beth, and a few others during Thanksgiving Break. After I did a little dance (a few large dances with many leaps and twirls, singing “I’m Walking On Sunshine” and “I’m So Excited”), I talked to Mom about it, figured a few other things out, and solidified my going with them. THIS IS SO EXCITING.

But yes. If everything works out, that will be quite the adventure 😀 I’m very much excited to spend time with Hannah and Beth and the other people going with us, and I feel so blessed that they’d invite me to go with them.

Tomorrow will be a bit of a long day, but it’s okay. The revision of my previously (probably still) controversial short story is going to be critiqued, and I may have to present “The Wemmick Story” to the class and why I consider it “good writing,” though I know it’s not a question of whether or not I think it’s “good writing,” but rather whether it meets the standards of “good writing” given to me by my professors and my classmates. I don’t like it, of course not, but I’ll have to figure out a way to satisfy both, without sacrificing an opportunity to glorify God and live out the Gospel.

But yeah, today was kind of amazing 🙂

Thank You, Jesus.

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

